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Committee of Conference Report on HB 2-FN-A-LOCAL, an act relative to state fees, funds,1

revenues, and expenditures.2

3

Recommendation:4

That the House recede from its position of nonconcurrence with the Senate amendment, and5

concur with the Senate amendment, and6

That the Senate and House adopt the following new amendment to the bill as amended by the7

Senate, and pass the bill as so amended:8

9

1 New Hampshire Medical Malpractice Joint Underwriting Association; Transfer of Excess10

Surplus to General Fund.11

I. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the New Hampshire Medical Malpractice12

Joint Underwriting Association (NHMMJUA), by and through its board of directors, and any person13

having responsibility and authority for the custody or investment of the assets of the NHMMJUA are14

hereby authorized and directed to transfer no later than July 31, 2009 for the fiscal year ending15

June 30, 2009 the sum of $65,000,000, and by June 30, 2010 the additional sum of $22,500,000, and16

by June 30, 2011 the additional sum of $22,500,000 from the Post-1985 Account to the general fund.17

This sum shall be used for the purpose of supporting programs that promote access to needed health18

care for underserved persons.19

II. The general court hereby finds that the funds held in surplus by the NHMMJUA in the20

Post-1985 Account are significantly in excess of the amount reasonably required to support its21

obligations as determined by the insurance commissioner. The general court further finds that the22

purpose of promoting access to needed health care would be better served through a transfer of the23

excess surplus of the Post-1985 Account to the general fund.24

III. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no state officer, nor any person with25

responsibility and authority for the custody or investment of the assets of the NHMMJUA, nor any26

member of the board of directors of the NHMMJUA, nor any attorney, accountant, advisor,27

consultant, or actuary who shall have been employed or retained by or shall have advised such28

persons shall incur or suffer any liability by reason of actions taken pursuant to this section, except29

for fraudulent acts, acts taken in bad faith, or wanton or reckless misconduct.30

IV. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the state shall hold harmless, defend, and31

indemnify any state officer, any person with responsibility and authority for the custody or32
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investment of the assets of the NHMMJUA, any member of the board of directors of the NHMMJUA,1

and any attorney, accountant, advisor, consultant, or actuary who shall have been employed or2

retained by or shall have advised such persons against any claim, demand, suit, action, proceeding,3

or judgment arising out of or in connection with any transaction pursuant to this section; provided4

that such person or entity shall, within 7 days after the date on which such person or entity is served5

with or receives actual notice of any writ, complaint, petition, process, notice, demand, claim, or6

pleading, give notice thereof in writing to the attorney general. Upon such notice the attorney7

general shall determine whether the acts complained of were committed within the scope of official8

duty for the state, and that such acts were not fraudulent, taken in bad faith, wanton, or reckless;9

and if so determined, the attorney general shall represent and defend such person or entity with10

respect to such claim or throughout such action, or shall retain outside counsel to represent or defend11

such person; and the state shall defray all costs of such representation or defense, to be paid from12

funds not otherwise appropriated. In such case the state shall also protect, indemnify, and hold13

harmless such person from any costs, damages, awards, judgments, or settlements arising therefrom,14

provided such person or entity cooperates fully with such representation or defense.15

2 Tobacco Tax; Rate Increased. Amend RSA 78:7 to read as follows:16

78:7 Tax Imposed. A tax upon the retail consumer is hereby imposed at the rate of [$1.33] $1.7817

for each package containing 20 cigarettes or at a rate proportional to such rate for packages18

containing more or less than 20 cigarettes, on all cigarettes sold at retail in this state. The payment19

of the tax shall be evidenced by affixing stamps to the smallest packages containing the cigarettes in20

which such products usually are sold at retail.  The word “package” as used in this section shall not 21

include individual cigarettes. No tax is imposed on any transactions, the taxation of which by this22

state is prohibited by the Constitution of the United States.23

3 Tobacco Tax; Applicability. Section 2 of this act shall apply to all persons licensed under24

RSA 78:2. Such persons shall inventory all taxable tobacco products in their possession and file a25

report of such inventory with the department of revenue administration on a form prescribed by the26

commissioner within 20 days after the effective date of this act. The tax rate effective July 1, 200927

shall apply to such inventory. The inventory form shall be treated as a tax return for the purpose of28

computing penalties under RSA 21-J.29

4 Meals and Rooms Tax; Rate Increased. Amend RSA 78-A:6 to read as follows:30

78-A:6 Imposition of Tax.31

I. A tax of [8] 9 percent of the rent is imposed upon each occupancy.32

II. A tax is imposed on taxable meals based upon the charge therefor as follows:33

(a) [Three] Four cents for a charge between $.36 and $.37 inclusive;34

(b) [ Four] Five cents for a charge between $.38 and $.50 inclusive;35

(c) [Five] Six cents for a charge between $.51 and $.62 inclusive;36

(d) [Six] Seven cents for a charge between $.63 and $.75 inclusive;37
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(e) [Seven] Eight cents for a charge between $.76 and $.87 inclusive;1

(f) [Eight] Nine cents for a charge between $.88 and $1.00 inclusive;2

(g) [Eight] Nine percent of the charge for taxable meals over $1.00, provided that3

fractions of cents shall be rounded up to the next whole cent.4

II-a. A tax of [8] 9 percent is imposed upon the gross rental receipts of each rental.5

III. The operator shall collect the taxes imposed by this section and shall pay them over to6

the state as provided in this chapter.7

5 Meals and Rooms Tax; Definition of Hotel; Campsites. Amend the introductory paragraph of8

RSA 78-A:3, III to read as follows:9

III.  “Hotel”means an establishment which holds itself out to the public by offering sleeping10

accommodations for rent, whether or not the major portion of its operating receipts is derived from11

sleeping accommodations. The term includes, but is not limited to, inns, motels, tourist homes and12

cabins, ski dormitories, ski lodges, lodging homes, rooming houses, furnished room houses, boarding13

houses, private clubs, hostels, cottages, camps, campsites, chalets, barracks, dormitories, and14

apartments. The term does not include the following:15

6 Tax on Meals and Rooms; Disposition of Revenue. Amend RSA 78-A:26, I(a) to read as follows:16

(a) Sixty percent to the general fund, less:17

(1) The amount necessary to provide payments of principal and interest on18

the bonds and notes authorized under RSA 198:15-a, II for the fiscal years ending June 30,19

2009, June 30, 2010, and June 30, 2011; and20

(2) An amount equal to 3.15 percent of net income distributed under this21

subparagraph which shall be credited to the department of resources and development,22

division of travel and tourism development.23

7 Special Fund. Amend RSA 6:12, I(b)(21) to read as follows:24

(21) The money received under RSA 78-A:26, I(a) and RSA 230:52, II, which shall25

be credited to the division of travel and tourism development, department of resources and economic26

development.27

8 Meals and Rooms Tax; Distributions to Cities and Towns. Notwithstanding any provision of28

law, for each fiscal year of the biennium ending June 30, 2011, the state treasurer shall fund the29

distribution of revenue to cities and towns pursuant to the formula for determining the amount of30

revenue returnable to cities and towns under RSA 78-A:26, I and II at no more than the fiscal year31

2009 level of distribution.32

9 State Treasurer and State Accounts; Suspension of Revenue Sharing. Notwithstanding any33

provision of law, for the biennium ending June 30, 2011, the state treasurer shall suspend the34

distribution of revenue to cities and towns pursuant to the formula for determining the amount of35

revenue returnable to cities and towns under RSA 31-A.36

10 Contingent School Building Aid Transfer; Fiscal Year 2009. Amend 2008S, 1:8 to read as37
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follows:1

1:8 Contingent School Building Aid Transfer; Fiscal Year 2009.2

I. [In the event of a general fund unreserved, undesignated deficit at the close of fiscal year3

2009 as determined by the official audit performed pursuant to RSA 21-I:8, I(h),] The commissioner4

of administrative services shall transfer appropriation authority and expenditures from the general5

fund to the capital fund related to the school building aid program pursuant to 2007, 262, PAU 06-6

03-02-02-02, in an amount equal to [the lesser of:7

(a)] $40,000,000[; or8

(b) The unreserved, undesignated deficit in the general fund on June 30, 2009].9

II. The state treasurer is hereby authorized to borrow upon the credit of the state and may10

issue bonds and notes in the name of and on behalf of the state of New Hampshire in accordance11

with RSA 6-A, in the amount transferred from the general fund to the capital fund for the school12

building aid program as provided in paragraph I. Payments of principal and interest on the bonds13

and notes shall be made from [the general fund] funds designated under RSA 78-A:26, I(a).14

III. The bond authorization provided by paragraph II is intended to provide funds for a15

portion of the expenditure made in fiscal year 2009 pursuant to 2007, 262, PAU 06-03-02-02-02, for16

school building aid.17

11 School Building Aid; Fiscal Years 2010 and 2011. The sum of $44,943,448 for the fiscal year18

ending June 30, 2010, and the sum of $46,260,234 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2011 are19

hereby appropriated to the department of education for payment of grants under the school building20

aid program pursuant to RSA 198:15-a. The state treasurer is hereby authorized to borrow such21

amounts upon the credit of the state and may issue bonds and notes in the name of and on behalf of22

the state of New Hampshire in accordance with RSA 6-A. Payments of principal and interest on the23

bonds and notes shall be made when due from funds designated under RSA 78-A:26, I(a).24

12 School Building Aid; Bonding of Appropriation. Amend RSA 198:15-a to read as follows:25

198:15-a Annual Grant for the Payment of Debt Service for School Construction.26

I. To aid local school districts in meeting the costs of the payment of debt for school buildings27

and educational administration buildings, including office facilities for school administrative units,28

and to meet the costs of leasing permanent space in a building which is used for the operation of a29

high school vocational technical education program, the department of education shall, from funds30

appropriated by the general court to carry out the provisions of this subdivision, pay annually to the31

school districts of the state, sums in accordance with the provisions of this subdivision or the32

alternative school building aid provisions under RSA 198:15-u through RSA 198:15-w, depending on33

which option a school district elects. The annual grant to school districts shall be made in 234

approximately equal payments, one in October and one in April of each fiscal year. No payment35

shall be made to a school district prior to the district’s first payment on the amount of principal36

borrowed.37
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II. To provide funds for appropriations made to the department of education1

relative to paragraph I for the fiscal years ending June 30, 2009, June 30, 2010, and June2

30, 2011, the state treasurer is hereby authorized to borrow upon the credit of the state the3

sums necessary for payment of such grants and for said purpose may issue bonds and notes4

in the name of and on behalf of the state of New Hampshire in accordance with RSA 6-A.5

Payments of principal and interest on the bonds and notes shall be made when due by the6

state treasurer from funds designated under RSA 78-A:26, I(a).7

13 Committee Established. There is established a committee to study the school building aid8

grant program.9

I. The members of the committee shall be as follows:10

(a) Two members of the senate, appointed by the president of the senate.11

(b) Three members of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the12

house of representatives.13

II. Members of the committee shall receive mileage at the legislative rate when attending to14

the duties of the committee.15

III. The committee shall study:16

(a) The goals, procedures, and operations of the school building aid program established17

in RSA 198:15-a through RSA 198:15-hh, and the alternative school building aid program18

established in RSA 198:15-u through RSA 198:15-w.19

(b) The sources of funding used to pay school building aid grants.20

(c) The amounts of state funding of the school building aid program.21

(d) The eligibility criteria used to approve school building aid grants and whether such22

criteria need to be revised.23

(e) Adopting criteria for the approval of select components of a school building proposal.24

(f) Any other issue which the committee deems related to its objective.25

IV. The committee may solicit and receive testimony from any person or organization with26

information or expertise relevant to the committee’s objective.27

V. The members of the study committee shall elect a chairperson from among the members.28

The first meeting of the committee shall be called by the first-named senate member. The first29

meeting of the committee shall be held within 45 days of the effective date of this section. Three30

members of the committee shall constitute a quorum.31

VI. The committee shall submit an interim report on or before December 15, 2009 and a32

final report on or before November 1, 2010, containing its findings and any recommendations for33

proposed legislation to the president of the senate, the speaker of the house of representatives, the34

senate clerk, the house clerk, the governor, and the state library.35

14 Copies of Motor Vehicle Records; Fees. Amend RSA 260:15, II to read as follows:36

II. The department may issue a copy of any motor vehicle record upon the request of an37
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insurance company or any other authorized agent, and notwithstanding RSA 91-A shall require1

payment by the insurance company or authorized agent of a fee of [$8] $12 for email or other2

computer-generated requests where payment is debited against an account established3

with the department, or $15 for all other requests, which shall be deposited in the fire standards4

and training and emergency medical services fund established in RSA 21-P:12-d.5

15 Motor Vehicle Record Fees. The provisions of section 14 of this act, relative to fees charged to6

insurance companies and authorized agents for copies of motor vehicle records, shall not affect fees7

charged by the department of safety under RSA 260:14, XIII or XV(b).8

16 Fees Collected from Drivers. Amend RSA 263:42, II to read as follows:9

II. For every certified copy of a registration, license, or driving record, [$10] $15, except that10

the commissioner shall waive the fee for local, state, and federal law enforcement and criminal11

justice agencies requesting such information for investigative purposes and may, for good cause,12

waive the fee in cases involving other government agencies or the public defender if the13

commissioner determines that such a waiver is in the public interest.14

17 Department of Safety; Personnel Reallocations Authorized. For the biennium ending15

June 30, 2011, the commissioner of safety, whenever he or she deems it will improve the efficiency16

and effectiveness of the delivery of service within the department, may, with approval of the fiscal17

committee of the general court and governor and council and further subject to approval of the18

position classifications by the director of personnel, eliminate certain personnel positions that may19

become vacant during the biennium and establish in their place other personnel positions from the20

same funding source, provided the cost of the new positions does not exceed the amounts budgeted21

for the positions being eliminated. The commissioner of safety shall submit reports on or before22

December 1, 2009, June 30, 2010, and December 1, 2010 to the chairmen of the house and senate23

executive departments and administration committees on any actions taken as a result of this24

authorization.25

18 Division of State Police; Transfers Authorized. Notwithstanding the provisions of RSA 9:16-26

a, RSA 9:17, RSA 9:17-a, and RSA 9:17-c, the commissioner of administrative services, upon the27

request of the commissioner of safety, is authorized to transfer within and among any and all28

components and class codes of the budget of the division of state police for the biennium ending June29

30, 2011, regardless of funding source or mix, sufficient funds to cover overtime obligations for state30

police activities within the traffic bureau and detective bureau, witness fees, and the accompanying31

benefits. The total amount transferred shall not exceed $300,000. When making the transfers, every32

effort shall be made to maintain the original funding sources for the amounts transferred.33

19 Department of Health and Human Services; Authority to Fill Unfunded Positions.34

Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, the commissioner of the department of health35

and human services may fill unfunded positions during the biennium ending June 30, 2011, provided36

that the total expenditure for such positions shall not exceed the amount appropriated for personal37
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services, permanent, and personal services, unclassified.1

20 Department of Health and Human Services; Department of Revenue Administration; Medical2

Assistance; Memorandum of Understanding.3

I. For the purpose of determining and reviewing eligibility for medical assistance pursuant4

to Titles XIX and XXI of the Social Security Act and eligibility for Temporary Assistance to Needy5

Families (TANF), the commissioner of the department of health and human services (DHHS) and the6

commissioner of the department of revenue administration (DRA) shall renew the existing7

memorandum of understanding for the period of July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2011 under which:8

(a) DHHS may supply DRA with financial information of applicants for and recipients of9

Titles XIX or XXI medical assistance, or TANF.10

(b) DRA shall verify the accuracy of such financial information to the applicant or11

recipient and not to DHHS.12

(c) DRA shall notify DHHS that the verification has been provided to the applicant or13

recipient.14

(d) DHHS shall request the DRA verification be furnished to the DHHS by the applicant15

or recipient.16

(e) DHHS shall comply with all applicable laws for timely case processing.17

II. Nothing in this arrangement shall be construed to change the protections of18

confidentiality provided to individuals and information relating to them under applicable laws, and19

DRA and DHHS each shall at all times maintain the confidential nature of the records in its20

possession.21

III. DHHS and DRA shall report annually to the fiscal committee of the general court on the22

benefits and costs of this program.23

21 Department of Health and Human Services; Bureau of Behavioral Health; Mental Health24

Low Utilizers and Prior Authorization. For the biennium ending June 30, 2011, the department of25

health and human services shall maintain a limit on benefits of $4,000 per person per year for adults26

with low service utilization of community mental health services, as identified in He-M 401.07;27

provided, that the department also shall establish, by rule under RSA 541-A, a procedure for such28

persons or community mental health providers to request a waiver of the $4,000 limit based on29

legitimate treatment considerations.30

22 Department of Health and Human Services; Bureau of Elderly and Adult Services; County31

Payment of Funds for Persons Eligible to Receive Nursing Home Services; Limitation on County32

Payments. Amend RSA 167:18-a, II to read as follows:33

II.(a) The total billings to all counties made pursuant to this section shall not exceed the34

amounts set forth below for state fiscal years 2009-[2010] 2012:35

(1) State fiscal year 2009, $103,000,000.36

(2) State fiscal year 2010, $105,000,000.37
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(3) State fiscal year 2011, $105,000,000.1

(4) State fiscal year 2012, $105,000,000.2

(b) The caps on total billings for fiscal years after fiscal year [2010] 2012 shall be3

established by the legislature at least on a biennial basis.4

23 Liquor Commission; Liquor Revenues to Alcohol Abuse Prevention and Treatment Fund5

Suspended. Notwithstanding RSA 176:16, II, for the biennium ending June 30, 2011, all gross6

revenue derived by the liquor commission from the sale of liquor and related products, or from7

license fees, shall be deposited into the liquor commission fund.8

24 Department of Health and Human Services; Direct Graduate Medical Education. The9

commissioner of the department of health and human services shall submit a Title XIX Medicaid10

state plan amendment to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to suspend the11

provision of direct graduate medical education payments to hospitals as contemplated at 42 U.S.C.12

section 1396a(a)(30)(A) to be effective July 1, 2009. Upon approval of the state plan amendment, and13

as of the effective date of the state plan amendment, any obligations for payment of direct graduate14

medical education are suspended until June 30, 2011.15

25 New Paragraph; Department of Health and Human Services; State Children’s Health16

Insurance Program. Amend RSA 126-A:3 by inserting after paragraph VII the following new17

paragraph:18

VIII. The commissioner shall submit a Title XXI state plan amendment and adopt19

administrative rules pursuant to RSA 541-A for the purposes of increasing the State Children’s20

Health Insurance (SCHIP) premiums. For SCHIP recipients with income 185-249 percent of federal21

poverty limits the premium increase shall be $7 per month. For SCHIP recipients with income of22

250-300 percent of current federal poverty limits the premium increase shall be $9 per month. Such23

Title XXI state plan amendment and administrative rules may be done in conjunction with any24

premium related state plan amendment and rules necessary to implement changes occasioned by25

SCHIP contract reprocurement.26

26 Department of Health and Human Services; Medicaid State Plan Amendment; Medicaid27

Provider Classification for Certain Critical Access Hospitals. The department of health and human28

services shall submit a state plan amendment for approval by the federal Centers of Medicare and29

Medicaid Services creating a Medicaid provider classification for critical access hospitals located in30

Coos county to allow for differentiated reimbursement for maternity-related labor and delivery31

services to assure uninterrupted access to such services consistent with 42 C.F.R. section32

447.253(b)(1)(ii)(C).33

27 Department of Health and Human Services; Medical Home Pilot Program. The department34

of health and human services shall develop a medical home pilot program utilizing disease35

management funds available when the disease management contract ends and other such grant36

funds as may become available for this purpose. The department shall report to the health and37
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human services oversight committee every 6 months commencing in October 2009 until the pilot1

concludes.2

28 Repeal. RSA 126-A:4-d, relative to a Medicaid waiver to support the extension of Medicaid-3

allowable HIV/AIDS services, is repealed.4

29 Department of Health and Human Services; Lead Poisoning Prevention Fund; Application of5

Receipts. Amend RSA 6:12, I(b)(51) to read as follows:6

(51) The [fees] moneys collected under RSA 130-A, which shall be credited to the7

lead poisoning prevention fund established in RSA 130-A:15.8

30 Department of Health and Human Services; Unclassified Positions Established.9

I. The following positions are hereby established in the department of health and human10

services.11

Department of health and human services chief pharmacist12

Department of health and human services pharmacist (1)13

Department of health and human services pharmacist (2)14

Department of health and human services pharmacist (3)15

Department of health and human services pharmacist (4)16

Department of health and human services pharmacist (5)17

Department of health and human services pharmacist (6)18

II. The salary of these positions shall be determined after assessment and review of the19

appropriate temporary letter grade allocation in RSA 94:1-a, I(b) for the position which shall be20

conducted pursuant to RSA 94:1-d and RSA 14:14-c.21

III. The following classified positions are abolished no later than December 31, 2009 to allow22

for transition of these classified positions into the unclassified positions established by paragraph I:23

chief pharmacist #1571924

pharmacist #1570425

pharmacist #1570626

pharmacist #1574127

pharmacist #1581028

pharmacist #1583129

pharmacist #1636030

IV. The incumbents in the classified positions abolished by paragraph III shall be offered the31

opportunity to transfer into the unclassified positions established by paragraph I.32

31 Department of Health and Human Services; Services for Children, Youth and Families;33

Incentive Funds. Amend RSA 170-G:4, XVI to read as follows:34

XVI. Encourage cities, towns and counties to develop and maintain prevention programs,35

court diversion programs and alternative dispositions for juveniles other than placements outside of36

the home through the use of a formula which shall allow for the transfer of funds to cities, towns and37
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counties which have, or are developing, prevention programs or alternatives for juvenile care. The1

amount to be distributed for this program shall be not less than [5 percent of the amount2

appropriated in fiscal year 1994 and not less than 6 percent in each fiscal year thereafter,] 4.53

percent of the annual amount appropriated to the department of health and human services for4

placement costs. The method of distribution shall be based upon rules adopted under RSA 541-A by5

the commissioner. For purposes of this paragraph, prevention programs shall include programs or6

activities for the prevention of child abuse and neglect.7

32 Department of Health and Human Services; Suspension of Residential Rate Setting Rule.8

Notwithstanding any provision of the law or rule to the contrary, for the biennium ending9

June 30, 2011, He-C 6422 relative to the residential child care facilities rate setting is suspended.10

The base rate for residential providers for the biennium ending June 30, 2011 shall be the rate in11

effect on June 30, 2009.12

33 Department of Health and Human Services; Delinquent Children; Accompanied13

Transportation. Amend RSA 169-B:40, I(b) to read as follows:14

(b) Subparagraph (a) shall not apply to expenses incurred for special education and15

related services, or to expenses incurred for evaluation, care, and treatment of the minor at the16

Philbrook center or to expenses incurred for the cost of accompanied transportation.17

34 Department of Health and Human Services; Child Protection Act; Accompanied18

Transportation. Amend RSA 169-C:27, I(b) to read as follows:19

(b) Subparagraph (a) shall not apply to expenses incurred for special education and20

related services, or to expenses incurred for evaluation, care, and treatment of the child at the21

Philbrook center or to expenses incurred for the cost of accompanied transportation.22

35 Department of Health and Human Services; Children in Need of Services; Accompanied23

Transportation. Amend RSA 169-D:29, I(b) to read as follows:24

(b) Subparagraph (a) shall not apply to expenses incurred for special education and25

related services, or to expenses incurred for evaluation, care, and treatment of the child at the26

Philbrook center or to expenses incurred for the cost of accompanied transportation.27

36 New Subparagraph; Delinquent Children; Liability of Expenses and Hearing on Liability.28

Amend RSA 169-B:40, I by inserting after subparagraph (e) the following new subparagraph:29

(f) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, the department of health and30

human services shall have no responsibility for the payment of the cost of assigned counsel for any31

party under this chapter.32

37 New Subparagraph; Child Protection Act; Liability of Expenses and Hearing on Liability.33

Amend RSA 169-C:27, I by inserting after subparagraph (e) the following new subparagraph:34

(f) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, the department shall have no35

responsibility for the payment of the cost of assigned counsel for any party under this chapter.36

38 Suspension. The following are suspended for each fiscal year of the biennium ending37
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June 30, 2011:1

I. RSA 167:3-c, III, relative to rulemaking for funeral expenses.2

II. RSA 167:11, relative to funeral expenses to recipients of public assistance.3

III. RSA 165:20, relative to reimbursement for aid to assisted persons.4

39 Department of Health and Human Services; Program Eligibility; Additional Revenues;5

Transfer Among Accounts.6

I. For the biennium ending June 30, 2011, the department of health and human services7

shall not authorize, without prior approval of the fiscal committee of the general court and governor8

and council, any change to program eligibility standards or benefit levels that might be expected to9

increase or decrease enrollment in the program or increase expenditures from any source of funds;10

provided, however, that no such prior approval shall be required if a change to a federal program in11

which the state is participating as of the effective date of this section is required by federal law.12

II. Notwithstanding any provision of the law to the contrary, for the biennium ending13

June 30, 2011, the fiscal committee of the general court and the governor and council may authorize14

the commissioner of the department of health and human services to accept and expend additional15

revenues in excess of $50,000, that are in addition to the budgeted amounts, from any source, which16

become available to the department. Such additional revenues shall be available to the department17

of health and human services to supplement funds in the following programs and services: provider18

payments, provider rate increases, and any other program or service that requires deficit reduction19

or for which revenue has been specifically obtained to improve program operations; provided, that20

such improvements do not increase eligibility standards or benefit levels.21

III. Notwithstanding the provisions of RSA 9:17-a or any other provision of law to the22

contrary except RSA 9:17-c, and subject to the approval of the fiscal committee of the general court23

and governor and council, for the biennium ending June 30, 2011, the commissioner of the24

department of health and human services is hereby authorized to transfer funds within and among25

all PAUs within the department, as the commissioner deems necessary and appropriate to address26

present or projected budget deficits, or to respond to changes in federal laws, regulations, or27

programs, and otherwise as necessary for the efficient management of the department, with the28

exception of class 60 transfers.29

40 New Paragraph; Powers and Duties of Commissioners; Advertising. Amend RSA 21-G:9 by30

inserting after paragraph V the following new paragraph:31

VI. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, administrative rule, or administrative32

process to the contrary, the commissioner may advertise requests for proposals and recruitment of33

personnel by using the Internet rather than traditional newspaper print media. The department34

shall regularly publish a notice in traditional print media referring prospective service providers and35

persons seeking state employment to the state’s website for detailed information about36

opportunities.37
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41 Repeal. RSA 126-A:5, XVI, relative to advertising by the department of health and human1

services, is repealed.2

42 Department of Environmental Services; State Revolving Loan Fund; Administrative Fee3

Increase. Amend RSA 486:14(b) to read as follows:4

(b) A sum equal to [one] 2 percent of all loan principal balances outstanding each year,5

which shall be an administrative charge, shall be set aside to be used by the department of6

environmental services to pay the costs of administering the state water pollution control and7

drinking water revolving loan funds. The funds set aside shall be deposited in nonlapsing water8

pollution control and drinking water loan administration funds and shall be continually9

appropriated to the department exclusively for the purposes of this section. If the sum of the10

administrative charge plus interest charge as established by rules of the department of11

environmental services based on market rates is less than 2 percent for a loan, then the12

administrative charge shall be equal to this sum and no interest charge shall be assessed13

on the loan.14

43 Department of Environmental Services; Fees; Subsurface Systems Fund and Septage15

Management Fund. Amend RSA 485-A:30, I and I-a to read as follows:16

I. Any person submitting plans and specifications for a subdivision of land shall pay to the17

department a fee of [$150] $300 per lot. Said fee shall be for reviewing such plans and specifications18

and making site inspections. Any person submitting plans and specifications for sewage or waste19

disposal systems shall pay to the department a fee of [$140] $290 for each system. Said fee shall be20

for reviewing such plans and specifications, making site inspections, the administration of sludge21

and septage management programs, and for establishing a system for electronic permitting for waste22

disposal systems, subdivision plans, and for permits and approvals under the department’s land23

regulation authority. The fees required by this paragraph shall be paid at the time said plans and24

specifications are submitted and shall be deposited [with the treasurer as unrestricted revenue] in25

the subsurface systems fund established in paragraph I-b. For the purposes of this paragraph,26

the term “lot”shall not include tent sites or travel trailer sites in recreational parks which are27

operated on a seasonal basis for not more than 9 months per year.28

I-a. In addition to fees required under paragraph I, any person submitting plans and29

specifications for sewage or waste disposal systems shall pay to the department a fee of $10 for each30

system[. Said fee shall be for supporting a general-funded position at the department to advocate for31

and implement long-term septage disposal solutions in partnership with New Hampshire32

municipalities. In the event and to the extent the department is able to use funds from sources other33

than the general fund to support the position, it shall receive from the general fund an amount34

equivalent to the fees collected under this paragraph, in addition to any other appropriations,] for35

use in the septage handling and treatment facilities grant program to municipalities under36

RSA 486:3, III. Until July 1, 2010, the fees required by this paragraph shall be paid at the time37
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said plans and specifications are submitted and shall be deposited [with the state treasurer as1

unrestricted revenue] in the subsurface systems fund established in paragraph I-b. After2

July 1, 2010, the fees required by this paragraph shall be paid at the time said plans and3

specifications are submitted and shall be deposited in the septage management fund4

established in paragraph I-c.5

I-b. There is hereby established the subsurface systems fund into which the fees6

collected under paragraph I shall be deposited. The fund shall be a separate, nonlapsing7

fund, continually appropriated to the department for the purpose of paying all costs and8

salaries associated with the subsurface systems program.9

I-c. There is hereby established the septage management fund into which the fees10

collected under paragraph I-a shall be deposited. The fund shall be a separate,11

nonlapsing fund, continually appropriated to the department for the purpose of paying12

costs associated with the septage handling and treatment facilities grant program or for13

research, engineering analysis, or septage sampling and analysis by the department to14

advance septage management in the state of New Hampshire.15

44 Permit Eligibility; Exemption. Amend RSA 485-A:35 to read as follows:16

485-A:35 Permit Eligibility; Exemption.17

I.(a) All applications, plans, and specifications submitted in accordance with this chapter for18

subsurface sewage or waste disposal systems shall be prepared and signed by the person who is19

directly responsible for them and who has a permit issued by the department to perform the work.20

The department shall issue a permit to any person who applies to the department, and pays a fee of21

$80 and who has demonstrated a sound working knowledge of the procedures and practices required22

in the site evaluation, design, and operation of subsurface sewage or waste disposal systems. The23

department shall require an oral or written examination or both to determine who may qualify for a24

permit. Permits shall be issued from January 1 and shall expire December 31 of every other year.25

Permits shall be renewable upon proper application, payment of a biennial fee of $80, and26

documentation of compliance with the continuing education requirement of subparagraph (b). A27

permit issued to any person may be suspended, revoked or not renewed only for just cause and after28

the permit holder has had a full opportunity to be heard by the department. An appeal from a29

decision to revoke, suspend or not renew a permit may be taken pursuant to RSA 541. All fees30

shall be deposited in the subsurface systems fund established in RSA 485-A:30, I-b.31

(b) Permitted designers shall complete a minimum of 3 hours annually of continuing32

education approved by the department.33

II. Any person who desires to submit plans and specifications for a sewage or waste disposal34

system for the person’s own domicile shall not be required to obtain a permit under this paragraph35

provided that the person attests to eligibility for this exemption in the application for construction36

approval. The commissioner shall adopt rules, prepared under the supervision of a professional37
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engineer licensed to practice engineering in the state of New Hampshire, pursuant to RSA 541-A,1

relative to requiring a permit holder to be a licensed professional engineer with a civil or sanitary2

designation in order to submit applications for construction approval in certain complex situations.3

All fees collected pursuant to this [paragraph] section shall be deposited [with the state treasurer as4

unrestricted revenue] in the subsurface systems fund established in RSA 485-A:30, I-b.5

45 System Installer Permit. Amend RSA 485-A:36, I(a) to read as follows:6

I.(a) No person shall engage in the business of installing subsurface sewage or waste7

disposal systems under this subdivision without first obtaining an installer’s permit from the8

department. The permit holder shall be responsible for installing the subsurface sewage or waste9

disposal system in accordance with the intent of the approved plan. The department shall issue an10

installer’s permit to any person who submits an application provided by the department, pays a fee11

of $80 and demonstrates a sound working knowledge of RSA 485-A:29-35 and the ability to read12

approved waste disposal plans. The department shall require an oral or written examination or both13

to determine who may qualify for an installer’s permit. Individuals who have been actively engaged14

in the business of installing systems for at least 12 months prior to January 1, 1980, shall not be15

required to submit to such examination, but shall be issued a permit upon filing an application and16

paying the initial fee, if application is made before June 30, 1980. Permits shall be issued from17

January 1 and shall expire December 31 of every other year. Permits shall be renewable upon18

proper application, payment of a biennial fee of $80, and documentation of compliance with the19

continuing education requirement of subparagraph (b). The installer’s permit may be suspended,20

revoked or not renewed for just cause, including, but not limited to, the installation of waste disposal21

systems in violation of this subdivision or the refusal by a permit holder to correct defective work.22

The department shall not suspend, revoke or refuse to renew a permit except for just cause until the23

permit holder has had an opportunity to be heard by the department. An appeal from such decision24

to revoke, suspend or not renew a permit may be taken pursuant to RSA 21-O:14. All fees shall be25

deposited [with the state treasurer as unrestricted revenue] in the subsurface systems fund26

established in RSA 485-A:30, I-b.27

46 New Subparagraphs; Dedicated Funds; Subsurface Systems Fund and Septage Management28

Fund Added. Amend RSA 6:12, I(b) by inserting after subparagraph (276) the following new29

subparagraphs:30

(277) Moneys deposited in the subsurface systems fund, under RSA 485-A:30, I-b.31

(278) Moneys deposited in the septage management fund, under RSA 485-A:30, I-c.32

47 New Subparagraph; General Revenue Exemptions; Motor Vehicle Air Pollution Abatement33

Fund. Amend RSA 6:12, I(b) by inserting after subparagraph (276) the following new subparagraph:34

(277) Funds deposited in the motor vehicle air pollution abatement fund established35

in RSA 125-S:3.36

48 New Chapter; Motor Vehicle Air Pollution Abatement Fund. Amend RSA by inserting after37
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chapter 125-R the following new chapter:1

CHAPTER 125-S2

MOTOR VEHICLE AIR POLLUTION ABATEMENT FUND3

125-S:1 Purpose. The general court finds that emissions of air contaminants from motor4

vehicles represent a potential serious health problem to the citizens of New Hampshire and a threat5

to the air quality of the state. The purpose of this chapter is to establish a fund to be used for costs6

incurred by the department of environmental services in the prevention and abatement of emissions7

of air contaminants from motor vehicles registered for on-road use in the state of New Hampshire.8

125-S:2 Definitions. In this chapter:9

I.  “Department” means the department of environmental services.10

II.  “Motor vehicle inspection fee” means the fee collected by the department of safety 11

pursuant to RSA 266:2.12

III.  “Mobile source” means, for the purposes of this chapter, any motor vehicle registered for13

on-road use by the department of safety, division of motor vehicles.14

125-S:3 Fund Established. There is established a motor vehicle air pollution abatement fund,15

which shall be administered by the department of environmental services. This fund shall be used16

for costs incurred by the department in the course of carrying out activities that are designed to17

reduce air pollution in the state from the mobile source sector. All fees and monetary grants, gifts,18

donations, or interest generated by these funds shall be deposited with the state treasurer in a19

special nonlapsing fund to be known as the motor vehicle air pollution abatement fund and shall be20

continually appropriated to the department for the administration of this chapter.21

125-S:4 Fund Established; Collection. Funding for the motor vehicle air pollution abatement22

fund shall be from the portion of the motor vehicle inspection fee established by RSA 266:2.23

49 Inspection Sticker Fees. Amend RSA 266:2 to read as follows:24

266:2 Fees. The fee for inspection stickers shall be [$2.50] $3.25 for each sticker furnished an25

approved inspection station. The division shall transfer $.25 of each fee collected under this26

section to the motor vehicle air pollution abatement fund established by RSA 125-S:3 and27

$.25 of each fee collected under this section to the general fund. All unused stickers returned28

by the approved inspection station to the division shall be refundable at the rate of [$2.50] $3.2529

each, except that unused stickers purchased from the division for a fee of $2.50 shall be refundable30

at the rate of $2.50 each.31

50 New Hampshire Retirement System; Member Contribution Rates. Amend RSA 100-A:16,32

I(a) to read as follows:33

I. MEMBER ANNUITY SAVINGS FUND.34

(a) The member annuity savings fund shall be a fund in which shall be accumulated the35

contributions deducted from the compensation of members to provide for their member annuities36

together with any amounts transferred thereto from a similar fund under one or more of the37
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predecessor systems. Such contribution shall be, for each member, dependent upon the member’s1

employment classification at the rate determined in accordance with the following table:2

Employees of employers other than the state 5.003

Employees of the state hired on or before June 30, 2009 5.004

Employees of the state hired after June 30, 2009 7.005

Teachers 5.006

Permanent Policemen 9.307

Permanent Firemen 9.308

The board of trustees shall certify to the proper authority or officer responsible for making up the9

payroll of each employer, and such authority or officer shall cause to be deducted from the10

compensation of each member, except group II members with creditable service in excess of 40 years11

as provided in RSA 100-A:5, II(b) and RSA 100-A:6, II(b), on each and every payroll of such employer12

for each and every payroll period, the percentage of earnable compensation applicable to such13

member. No deduction from earnable compensation under this paragraph shall apply to any group14

II member with creditable service in excess of 40 years, as provided in RSA 100-A:5, II(b) and15

RSA 100-A:6, II(b), and this provision for such members shall not affect the method of determining16

average final compensation as provided in RSA 100-A:1, XVIII. In determining the amount earnable17

by a member in a payroll period, the board may consider the rate of compensation payable to such18

member on the first day of a payroll period as continuing throughout the payroll period and it may19

omit deduction from compensation for any period less than a full payroll period if such person was20

not a member on the first day of the payroll period, and to facilitate the making of deductions it may21

modify the deduction required of any member by such an amount as shall not exceed 1/10 of one22

percent of the annual earnable compensation upon the basis of which such deduction is made. The23

amounts deducted shall be reported to the board of trustees. Each of such amounts, when deducted,24

shall be paid to the retirement system at such times as may be designated by the board of trustees25

and credited to the individual account, in the member annuity savings fund, of the member from26

whose compensation the deduction was made.27

51 New Paragraph; Retirement System; Definitions. Amend RSA 100-A:1 by inserting after28

paragraph XXXI the following new paragraph:29

XXXII.  “Extra or special duty” means member work activities or details for which the 30

employer bills or charges another entity, in whole or in part, for the work activities or details31

provided.32

52 Employer Contributions; State Payment; Group II Extra or Special Duty. Amend RSA 100-33

A:16, II(b)-(c) to read as follows:34

(b) The contributions of each employer for benefits under the retirement system on35

account of group II members shall consist of a percentage of the earnable compensation of its36

members to be known as the “normal contribution,” and an additional amount to be known as the 37
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“accrued liability contribution;” provided that any employer, other than the state, shall pay [65] 701

percent of such total contributions for state fiscal year 2010, and [35] 30 percent thereof shall be2

paid by the state for state fiscal year 2010, and that beginning with state fiscal year 2011 any3

employer, other than the state, shall pay 75 percent of such total contributions, and 254

percent thereof shall be paid by the state, and that beginning with state fiscal year 2012,5

and every state fiscal year thereafter, any employer, other than the state, shall pay 656

percent of such total contributions, and 35 percent thereof shall be paid by the state; and7

provided that, in the case of compensation attributable to extra or special duty, the8

employer shall pay the full amount of such total contributions; and provided further that, in9

case of group II members employed by the state, the state shall pay both normal and accrued10

liability contributions. The rate percent of such normal contribution, including contributions on11

behalf of group II members whose group II creditable service is in excess of 40 years, in each12

instance shall be fixed on the basis of the liabilities of the system with respect to the particular13

members of the various member classifications as shown by actuarial valuations, except as provided14

in subparagraphs (h) and (i).15

(c) The contributions of each employer for benefits under the retirement system on16

account of group I members shall consist of a percentage of the earnable compensation of its17

members to be known as the “normal contribution,” and an additional amount to be known as the18

“accrued liability contribution;” provided that, in the case of teachers, any employer, other than the 19

state, shall pay [65] 70 percent of such total contributions for state fiscal year 2010, and [35] 3020

percent thereof shall be paid by the state for state fiscal year 2010, and that beginning with21

state fiscal year 2011 any employer, other than the state, shall pay 75 percent of such total22

contributions, and 25 percent thereof shall be paid by the state, and that beginning with23

state fiscal year 2012, and every state fiscal year thereafter, any employer, other than the24

state, shall pay 65 percent of such total contributions, and 35 percent thereof shall be paid25

by the state; and provided further that in case of teacher members employed by the state the state26

shall pay both normal and accrued liability contributions. The rate percent of such normal27

contribution in each instance shall be fixed on the basis of the liabilities of the system with respect to28

the particular members of the various member classifications as shown by actuarial valuation,29

except as provided in subparagraphs (h) and (i).30

53 New Paragraph; Employer Report; Extra or Special Duty. Amend RSA 100-A:16 by inserting31

after paragraph V the following new paragraph:32

VI. Every employer shall report monthly to the retirement system all compensation of group33

II members that is attributable to extra or special duty. When an employer provides extra or special34

duty services, the employer shall include in its billing or charge to the entity for whom the extra or35

special duty is being provided the full amount of contributions required under RSA 100-A16, II(b)36

attributable to the extra or special duty. Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary, the37
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employer shall be responsible for the full amount of employer contributions required under RSA 100-1

A16, II(b) attributable to extra or special duty.2

54 New Paragraph; Retirement System; Retiree Health Insurance Premium Contribution.3

Amend RSA 100-A:54 by inserting after paragraph II the following new paragraph:4

III. The retirement system shall deduct from the monthly retirement allowance of retired5

state employees under the age of 65 years receiving medical and surgical benefits provided pursuant6

to RSA 21-I:30, the premium contribution amounts of $65 per month for each such retiree and $657

per month for each applicable spouse; provided that the charge to each household shall not exceed8

$130 per month. Deducted amounts, which shall be in addition to and notwithstanding any amounts9

payable by the retirement system pursuant to RSA 100-A:52, RSA 100-A:52-a, and RSA 100-A:52-b,10

shall be deposited in the employee and retiree benefit risk management fund. In the event the11

retiree’s monthly allowance is insufficient to cover the certified contribution amount, the retirement12

system shall so notify the department of administrative services, which shall invoice and collect from13

the retiree the remaining contribution amount.14

55 New Subparagraph; Retirement System; Certification of State Employer Contributions;15

Medical Subsidy Payment. Amend RSA 100-A:16, III by inserting after subparagraph (c) the16

following new subparagraph:17

(d) Notwithstanding RSA 100-A:16, III(a), the New Hampshire retirement system board18

of trustees shall, within a reasonable period of time not to exceed 30 days from the effective date of19

this subparagraph, certify to the commissioner of administrative services the amounts that will20

become due and payable by the state during the biennium beginning July 1, 2009 based upon a state21

employee group other post-employment benefit (OPEB) plan balance as of July 1, 2009 for the state22

medical plan subtrust of $0.00. Such certification shall in all other respects be based upon the data23

and assumptions used to calculate the state employer rate as certified in September 2008. In no24

event shall the board of trustees certify a rate in any subsequent year based upon payments made25

from the medical plan subtrust to the state prior to July 1, 2009.26

56 Retirement System; Recalculation of Employer Rates; Recertification. Notwithstanding the27

notice requirements of RSA 100-A:16, III, the board of trustees of the retirement system shall28

recalculate employer contribution rates for the state fiscal years 2010 and 2011 to reflect the29

requirements of RSA 100-A:16, II(b) and (c) as amended by this act. Notwithstanding the notice30

requirements of RSA 100-A:16, III, such employer contribution rates shall be effective for the31

biennium beginning July 1, 2009, and the recertification of employer contribution percentages,32

applicable beginning July 1, 2009, shall be provided to each employer within a reasonable period of33

time not to exceed 30 days from the effective date of this section. The exception to the notice34

requirements of RSA 100-A:16, III in this section shall be limited to the applicable employer35

contribution rates for the biennium beginning July 1, 2009.36

57 District Courts; Judicial District Consolidation. Amend RSA 502-A:1 to read as follows:37
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502-A:1 Judicial Districts. A comprehensive system of judicial districts, each with a district1

court, is hereby organized, constituted and established as follows:2

Rockingham County3

I. PORTSMOUTH DISTRICT. The Portsmouth district shall consist of the city of4

Portsmouth and the towns of Newington, Greenland, Rye, and New Castle. The district court for the5

district shall be located in Portsmouth, holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the6

district as justice may require. The name of the court shall be Portsmouth District Court.7

II. HAMPTON-EXETER DISTRICT. The Hampton-Exeter district shall consist of the towns8

of Hampton, Hampton Falls, North Hampton, South Hampton, Seabrook, Exeter, Newmarket,9

Stratham, Newfields, Fremont, East Kingston, Kensington, Epping, and Brentwood. The court shall10

be located in a city or town within the judicial district in a location and facility designated pursuant11

to RSA 490-B:3, having regard for the convenience of the communities within the district, provided,12

however, that the court shall not be located in any building which does not meet the minimum13

standard prescribed by the New Hampshire court accreditation commission pursuant to RSA 490:5-c.14

The court shall bear the name of the city or town in which it is located.15

II-a. [Repealed.]16

III. DERRY DISTRICT. The Derry district shall consist of the towns of Derry, Londonderry,17

Chester, and Sandown. The district court for the district shall be located in Derry, holding sessions18

regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of the court shall be19

Derry District Court.20

IV. AUBURN-CANDIA-RAYMOND DISTRICT. The Auburn-Candia-Raymond district shall21

consist of the towns of Auburn, Candia, Deerfield, Nottingham, Raymond, and Northwood. The22

court shall be located in Auburn, Candia, or Raymond. The court shall hold sessions regularly at the23

principal court location and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The court shall bear the24

name of the town in which it is located.25

V. SALEM DISTRICT. The Salem district shall consist of the towns of Salem and Windham26

in Rockingham county and the town of Pelham in Hillsborough county. The district court for the27

district shall be located in Salem, holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as28

justice may require. The name of the court shall be Salem District Court.29

VI. PLAISTOW DISTRICT. The Plaistow district shall consist of the towns of Plaistow,30

Hampstead, Kingston, Newton, Atkinson, and Danville. The district court for the district shall be31

located in Plaistow, holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may32

require. The name of the court shall be Plaistow District Court.33

Strafford County34

VII. DOVER-SOMERSWORTH-DURHAM DISTRICT. The Dover-Somersworth-Durham35

district shall consist of the cities of Dover and Somersworth and the towns of Rollinsford, Durham,36

Lee, and Madbury. The court shall be located in a city or town within the judicial district in a37
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location and facility designated pursuant to RSA 490-B:3, having regard for the convenience of the1

communities within the district, provided, however, that the court shall not be located in any2

building which does not meet the minimum standard prescribed by the New Hampshire court3

accreditation commission pursuant to RSA 490:5-c. The court shall hold sessions regularly at the4

principal court location and elsewhere in the district as justice may require.5

VIII. ROCHESTER DISTRICT. The Rochester district court shall consist of the city of6

Rochester and the towns of Barrington, Milton, New Durham, Farmington, Strafford, and Middleton.7

The district court for the district shall be located in Rochester, holding sessions regularly therein and8

elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of the court shall be Rochester District9

Court.10

Belknap County11

IX. LACONIA DISTRICT. The Laconia district shall consist of the city of Laconia and the12

towns of Meredith, New Hampton, Gilford, Belmont, Alton, Gilmanton, Center Harbor, and13

Barnstead. The district court for the district shall be located in Laconia, holding sessions regularly14

therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of the court shall be Laconia15

District Court.16

Carroll County17

X. DISTRICT COURT FOR NORTHERN CARROLL COUNTY. The district for northern18

Carroll county shall consist of the towns of Conway, Bartlett, Jackson, Eaton, Chatham, Hart’s19

Location, Albany, Madison and the unincorporated places of Hale’s Location, Cutt’s Grant, Hadley’s20

Purchase, and those portions of the towns of Waterville and Livermore within the watershed of the21

Saco River and its tributaries. The district court for the district shall be located in Conway, holding22

sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of the23

court shall be the District Court for Northern Carroll County.24

XI. DISTRICT COURT FOR SOUTHERN CARROLL COUNTY. The district for southern25

Carroll county shall consist of the towns of Ossipee, Tamworth, Freedom, Effingham, Wakefield,26

Wolfeboro, Brookfield, Tuftonboro, Moultonborough, and Sandwich. The court shall be located either27

in Ossipee or in Wolfeboro in a location and facility designated pursuant to RSA 490-B:3, having28

regard for the convenience of the communities within the district, provided, however, that the court29

shall not be located in any building which does not meet the minimum standard prescribed by the30

New Hampshire court accreditation commission pursuant to RSA 490:5-c. The name of the court31

shall be the District Court for Southern Carroll County.32

Merrimack County33

XII. CONCORD DISTRICT. The Concord district shall consist of the city of Concord, and34

the towns of Loudon, Canterbury, Dunbarton, Bow, Hopkinton, Pittsfield, Chichester, and Epsom.35

The district court for the district shall be located in Concord, holding sessions regularly there and36

elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of the court shall be Concord District37
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Court.1

XIII. HOOKSETT DISTRICT. The Hooksett district shall consist of the towns of2

Allenstown, Pembroke, and Hooksett. The district court for the district shall be located in Hooksett,3

holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of4

the court shall be the Hooksett District Court.5

XIV. FRANKLIN DISTRICT. The Franklin district shall consist of the city of Franklin and6

the towns of Northfield, Danbury, Andover, Boscawen, Salisbury, Hill, and Webster in Merrimack7

county and the towns of Sanbornton and Tilton in Belknap county. The district court for the district8

shall be located in Franklin, holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as9

justice may require. The name of the court shall be Franklin District Court.10

XV. HENNIKER-HILLSBOROUGH DISTRICT. The Henniker-Hillsborough district shall11

consist of the towns of Henniker, Warner, Sutton, and Bradford in Merrimack county and the towns12

of Hillsborough, Deering, Windsor, Antrim, and Bennington in Hillsborough county. The court shall13

be located in a city or town within the judicial district in a location and facility designated pursuant14

to RSA 490-B:3, having regard for the convenience of the communities within the district, provided,15

however, that the court shall not be located in any building which does not meet the minimum16

standard prescribed by the New Hampshire court accreditation commission pursuant to RSA 490:5-c.17

The court shall hold sessions regularly at the principal court location and elsewhere in the district as18

justice may require. The court shall bear the name of the city or town in which it is located.19

[XVI. NEW LONDON DISTRICT. The New London district shall consist of the towns of20

New London, Wilmot, Newbury, and Sutton. The district court for the district shall be located in21

New London, holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may require.22

The name of the court shall be New London District Court.23

XVII. [Repealed.] ]24

Hillsborough County25

[XVIII.] XVI. MANCHESTER DISTRICT. The Manchester district shall consist of the city26

of Manchester. The district court for the district shall be located in Manchester, holding sessions27

regularly therein as justice may require. The name of the court shall be Manchester District Court.28

[XIX.] XVII. NASHUA DISTRICT. The Nashua district shall consist of the city of Nashua29

and the towns of Hudson and Hollis. The district court for the district shall be located in Nashua,30

holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of31

the court shall be Nashua District Court.32

[XX.] XVIII. MERRIMACK DISTRICT. The Merrimack district shall consist of the towns of33

Merrimack, Litchfield, and Bedford. The district court for the district shall be located in Merrimack,34

holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of35

the court shall be the Merrimack District Court.36

[XXI.] XIX. MILFORD DISTRICT. The Milford district shall consist of the towns of Milford,37
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Brookline, Amherst, Mason, Wilton, Lyndeborough, and Mont Vernon. The district court for the1

district shall be located in Milford, holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as2

justice may require. The name of the court shall be Milford District Court.3

[XXII.] XX. JAFFREY-PETERBOROUGH DISTRICT. The Jaffrey-Peterborough district4

shall consist of the towns of Peterborough, Hancock, Greenville, Greenfield, New Ipswich, Temple,5

and Sharon in Hillsborough county and the towns of Jaffrey, Dublin, Fitzwilliam, and Rindge in6

Cheshire county. The district court for the district shall be located in Jaffrey or Peterborough,7

holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of8

the court shall be Jaffrey-Peterborough District Court.9

[XXIII.] XXI. HENNIKER-HILLSBOROUGH DISTRICT. The Henniker-Hillsborough10

district shall consist of the towns of Henniker, Warner, Sutton, and Bradford in Merrimack county11

and the towns of Hillsborough, Deering, Windsor, Antrim, and Bennington in Hillsborough county.12

The court shall be located in a city or town within the judicial district in a location and facility13

designated pursuant to RSA 490-B:3, having regard for the convenience of the communities within14

the district, provided, however, that the court shall not be located in any building which does not15

meet the minimum standard prescribed by the New Hampshire court accreditation commission16

pursuant to RSA 490:5-c. The court shall hold sessions regularly at the principal court17

location and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The court shall bear the name of18

the city or town in which it is located.19

[XXIV.] XXII. GOFFSTOWN DISTRICT. The Goffstown district shall consist of the towns20

of Goffstown, Weare, New Boston, and Francestown. The district court for the district shall be21

located in Goffstown, holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may22

require. The name of the court shall be Goffstown District Court.23

Cheshire County24

[XXV.] XXIII. KEENE DISTRICT. The Keene district shall consist of the city of Keene and25

the towns of Stoddard, Westmoreland, Surry, Gilsum, Sullivan, Nelson, Roxbury, Marlow, Swanzey,26

Marlborough, Winchester, Richmond, Hinsdale, Harrisville, Walpole, Alstead, Troy, and27

Chesterfield. The district court for the district shall be located in Keene, holding sessions regularly28

therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of the court shall be Keene29

District Court.30

[XXVI.] XXIV. JAFFREY-PETERBOROUGH DISTRICT. The Jaffrey-Peterborough district31

shall consist of the towns of Jaffrey, Dublin, Fitzwilliam, [Troy] and Rindge in Cheshire county and32

the towns of Peterborough, Hancock, Greenville, Greenfield, New Ipswich, Temple, and Sharon in33

Hillsborough county. The district court for the district shall be located in Jaffrey or Peterborough,34

holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of35

the court shall be Jaffrey-Peterborough District Court.36

Sullivan County37
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[XXVII.] XXV. CLAREMONT-NEWPORT DISTRICT. The Claremont-Newport district1

shall consist of the city of Claremont and the towns of Cornish, Unity, Charlestown, Acworth,2

Langdon, Plainfield, Newport, Grantham, Croydon, Springfield, Sunapee, Goshen, Lempster, and3

Washington in Sullivan county and the towns of New London, Newbury, and Wilmot in4

Merrimack county. The court shall be located in a city or town within the judicial district in a5

location and facility designated pursuant to RSA 490-B:3, having regard for the convenience of the6

communities within the district, provided, however, that the court shall not be located in any7

building which does not meet the minimum standard prescribed by the New Hampshire court8

accreditation commission pursuant to RSA 490:5-c. The court shall bear the name of the city or town9

in which it is located.10

[XXVII-a. [Repealed.]]11

Grafton County12

[XXVIII.] XXVI. HANOVER-LEBANON DISTRICT. The Hanover-Lebanon district shall13

consist of the towns of Hanover, Orford, Lyme, Lebanon, Enfield, Canaan, Grafton, Dorchester, and14

Orange. The court shall be located in a city or town within the judicial district in a location and15

facility designated pursuant to RSA 490-B:3, having regard for the convenience of the communities16

within the district, provided, however, that the court shall not be located in any building which does17

not meet the minimum standard prescribed by the New Hampshire court accreditation commission18

pursuant to RSA 490:5-c. The court shall bear the name of the city or town in which it is located.19

[XXIX.] XXVII. HAVERHILL DISTRICT. The Haverhill district shall consist of the towns20

of Haverhill, Bath, Landaff, Benton, Piermont, and Warren. The district court for the district shall21

be located in Haverhill, holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice22

may require. The name of the court shall be Haverhill District Court.23

[XXX.] XXVIII. LITTLETON DISTRICT. The Littleton district shall consist of the towns of24

Littleton, Monroe, Lyman, Lisbon, Franconia, Bethlehem, Sugar Hill, and Easton. The district court25

for the district shall be located in Littleton, holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the26

district as justice may require. The name of the court shall be Littleton District Court.27

[XXXI.] XXIX. PLYMOUTH-LINCOLN DISTRICT. The Plymouth-Lincoln district shall28

consist of the towns of Plymouth, Bristol, Groton, Wentworth, Rumney, Ellsworth, Thornton,29

Campton, Ashland, Hebron, Holderness, Bridgewater, Alexandria, Lincoln, Woodstock and those30

portions of the towns of Livermore and Waterville not within the watershed of the Saco River and its31

tributaries. The district court for the district shall be located in Plymouth, holding sessions32

regularly therein and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of the court shall be33

Plymouth District Court.34

Coos County35

[XXXII.] XXX. BERLIN-GORHAM DISTRICT. The Berlin-Gorham district shall consist of36

the city of Berlin and the towns of Gorham, Milan, Dummer, Shelburne, and Randolph and the37
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unincorporated places of Cambridge, Success, Bean’s Purchase, Martin’s Location, Green’s Grant,1

Pinkham’s Grant, Sargent’s Purchase, Thompson and Meserve’s Purchase and Low and Burbank’s 2

Grant. The court shall be located in a city or town within the judicial district in a location and3

facility designated pursuant to RSA 490-B:3, having regard for the convenience of the communities4

within the district, provided, however, that the court shall not be located in any building which does5

not meet the minimum standard prescribed by the New Hampshire court accreditation commission6

pursuant to RSA 490:5-c. The court shall bear the name of the city or town in which it is located.7

[XXXIII.] XXXI. COLEBROOK DISTRICT. The Colebrook district shall consist of the towns8

of Colebrook, Pittsburg, Clarksville, Wentworth’s Location, Errol, Millsfield, Columbia, 9

Stewartstown, and Stratford and the unincorporated places of Dix’s Grant, Atkinson and Gilmanton 10

Academy Grant, Second College Grant, Dixville, Erving’s Location, and Odell.  The district court for 11

the district shall be located in Colebrook, holding sessions regularly therein and elsewhere in the12

district as justice may require. The name of the court shall be Colebrook District Court.13

[XXXIV.] XXXII. LANCASTER DISTRICT. The Lancaster district shall consist of the towns14

of Lancaster, Stark, Northumberland, Carroll, Whitefield, Dalton and Jefferson, and the15

unincorporated places of Kilkenny, Bean’s Grant, Chandler’s Purchase, and Crawford’s Purchase.  16

The district court for the district shall be located in Lancaster, holding sessions regularly therein17

and elsewhere in the district as justice may require. The name of the court shall be Lancaster18

District Court.19

58 Committee Established. There is established a committee to evaluate the physical20

consolidation of the Claremont and Newport district courts and family division sites and the closing21

of the Colebrook and Milford district courts.22

59 Membership and Compensation.23

I. The members of the committee shall be as follows:24

(a) Three members of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the25

house of representatives.26

(b) Two members of the senate, appointed by the president of the senate.27

II. Members of the committee shall receive mileage at the legislative rate when attending to28

the duties of the committee.29

60 Duties. The committee shall evaluate the physical consolidation of the Claremont and30

Newport district courts and family division sites and the closing of the Colebrook and Milford district31

courts.32

61 Chairperson; Quorum. The members of the committee shall elect a chairperson from among33

the members. The first meeting of the committee shall be called by the first-named house member.34

The first meeting of the committee shall be held within 45 days of the effective date of this section.35

Three members of the committee shall constitute a quorum.36

62 Report. The committee shall report its findings and any recommendations for proposed37
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legislation regarding the physical consolidation of the Claremont and Newport district courts and1

family division sites and the closing of the Colebrook and Milford district courts to the speaker of the2

house of representatives, the president of the senate, the house clerk, the senate clerk, the governor,3

and the state library on or before November 1, 2009.4

63 New Paragraph; Discretionary Sentences; Release from State Prison. Amend RSA 651:25 by5

inserting after paragraph VI the following new paragraph:6

VII.(a) The commissioner of corrections may release a prisoner who is serving a7

New Hampshire state sentence to the custody and control of the United States Immigration and8

Customs Enforcement if all of the following requirements are satisfied:9

(1) The department of corrections receives an order of deportation for the prisoner10

from the United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement;11

(2) The prisoner has served at least 1/3 of the minimum sentences imposed by the12

court;13

(3) The prisoner was not convicted of a violent crime, or any crime of obstruction of14

justice, or sentenced to an extended term of imprisonment under RSA 651:6; and15

(4) The prisoner was not convicted of a sexual offense as defined in RSA 651-B:1, V.16

(b) If a prisoner who is released from his or her state sentence pursuant to this section17

returns illegally to the United States, on notification from any federal or state law enforcement18

agency that the prisoner is in custody, the commissioner of corrections shall revoke the prisoner’s 19

release and immediately file a detainer seeking the prisoner’s return to the custody of the 20

department of corrections to serve the remainder of his or her sentence.21

64 Department of Administrative Services; Suspension of Bumping Rights. The displacement of22

classified state employees by more senior classified state employees, or so-called bumping, pursuant23

to administrative rule Per 1101.02 (i) through (l) under the authority of RSA 21-I:43 by the director24

of the division of personnel is hereby suspended from the effective date of this section to June 30,25

2011. The procedure for layoffs of permanent employees pursuant to administrative rule Per26

1101.02 (d), prohibiting the layoff of permanent employees while there are temporary fill-in, part-27

time, or probationary employees serving in the same class of position within the same division of the28

agency, is hereby suspended from the effective date of this section to June 30, 2011.29

65 Rehiring of Laid Off State Employees.30

I.  For purposes of this section, “laid off” means any person who receives written notice of the 31

state’s intent to lay him or her off or who is laid off between July 1, 2009 and June 30, 2010, as a32

result of reorganization or downsizing of state government.33

II. It is the intent of the general court that any position which becomes available in a34

department or establishment, as defined in RSA 9:1, shall be filled, if possible, by a state employee35

laid off, as defined in paragraph I, if such person is not currently employed by the state of36

New Hampshire and if he or she meets the minimum qualifications for the position.37
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III. The head of each department or agency shall submit the name and classification of any1

individual laid off between July 1, 2009 and June 30, 2010, to the director of the division of personnel2

within 10 days of the layoff.3

IV. Any full-time state employee who was laid off as defined in this section, who before the4

layoff was receiving state-paid medical benefits under the provisions of RSA 21-I:26-36, who is not5

eligible to retire and receive post-retirement medical benefits under the provisions of RSA 21-I:26-366

or RSA 100-A:52-55, and who is not eligible for employer-paid medical or health care coverage under7

the plan of any other employer, or as the spouse of a person covered under the plan of any other8

employer, or under the state plan as the spouse of a state employee, shall continue to receive such9

state-paid benefits, as if continuing in active employment, for a period not to exceed 3 months after10

the date of termination of state employment. For the 3-month period, the state shall pay the full11

costs of continuing medical and health care coverage This 3-month period shall be included in the12

calculation of the entitlements required under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act13

of 1986 (COBRA) and any amendments thereto. Following the 3-month period, the state is14

authorized to make payments as necessary to comply with Title III of the American Recovery and15

Reinvestment Act of 2009 regarding COBRA continuation coverage.16

66 State Employees Group Insurance; Restrictions on Self-Insured Plans. Amend RSA 21-I:30-17

b, I(a) to read as follows:18

(a) [An amount] Five percent of estimated [to be necessary to pay] annual claims and19

administrative costs [for the assumed risk for one month] of the health plan; and20

67 Department of Administrative Services; Commissioner; Directors. Amend RSA 21-I:2, II to21

read as follows:22

II. The commissioner shall nominate for appointment by the governor, with the consent of23

the council, each division director, the assistant commissioner, the deputy commissioner, the24

internal auditor, the financial data manager and the senior operational analyst. The division25

directors, the assistant commissioner, the deputy commissioner, the internal auditor, the financial26

data manager and the senior operational analyst shall each serve for a term of 4 years.27

68 New Section; Department of Administrative Services; Deputy Commissioner. Amend28

RSA 21-I by inserting after section 3-a the following new section:29

21-I:3-b Deputy Commissioner.30

I. The commissioner of administrative services shall nominate a deputy commissioner as31

provided in RSA 21-I:2, II. The deputy commissioner shall be qualified to hold that position by32

reason of education and experience. The deputy commissioner shall perform such duties as are33

assigned by the commissioner.34

II. The salary of the deputy commissioner shall be determined after assessment and review35

of the appropriate temporary letter grade allocation in RSA 94:1-a, I(b) for the position which shall36

be conducted pursuant to RSA 94:1-d and RSA 14:14-c.37
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69 Department of Administrative Services; Salary of Deputy Commissioner. The position of1

deputy commissioner established under RSA 21-I:3-b shall be unfunded for the biennium ending2

June 30, 2011. In the event funding becomes available during the biennium, the commissioner of the3

department of administrative services may request transfer approval authority from the fiscal4

committee of the general court, and if granted, shall transfer such funds to fund the position.5

70 Compensation of Certain State Officers; Salaries Established. Amend RSA 94:1-a, I(b) as6

follows:7

Delete:8

GG Department of administrative services director of plant and property management9

Insert:10

HH Department of administrative services director of plant and property management11

71 Real Estate Commission; Renewal Notice. Amend RSA 331-A:19, I to read as follows:12

I. The commission shall mail each licensee a renewal [form] notice or, at the licensee’s 13

request, the commission may provide the renewal [form] notice by other means acceptable to the14

commission, at least 60 days before expiration of the license.15

72 Real Estate Commission; Rulemaking Notice. Amend RSA 331-A:7, VII to read as follows:16

VII. Provide notice [in a publication of the commission sent by U.S. mail] to all persons17

licensed under this chapter of any proposed rulemaking undertaken by the commission, any changes18

to administrative rules adopted by the commission, and any pertinent changes in New Hampshire19

law. [The funds necessary for the printing, postage, and mailing of such notice shall be expended20

from funds of the commission not otherwise appropriated.]21

73 New Section; Department of Transportation; Director of Policy and Administration. Amend22

RSA 21-L by inserting after section 5-a the following new section:23

21-L:5-b Director of Policy and Administration.24

I. There is established within the department a position of an unclassified director of policy25

and administration. The commissioner of transportation shall nominate a director of policy and26

administration for appointment by the governor, with consent of the council. The director shall serve27

a term of 4 years. The director shall be qualified to hold that position by reason of education and28

experience.29

II. The director shall perform such duties as are assigned by the commissioner or deputy30

commissioner and, in accordance with applicable laws, shall administer the following:31

(a) Bureau of human resources.32

(b) Office of stewardship and compliance.33

(c) Office of federal compliance.34

(d) Office of hearings and legislation.35

(e) Office of public information.36

(f) Executive office administrative support.37
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III. The position of the director of policy and administration shall be unclassified. The salary1

of the director shall be determined after assessment and review of the appropriate temporary letter2

grade allocation for the position for inclusion in RSA 94:1-a, I(b), which shall be conducted pursuant3

to RSA 94:1-d and RSA 14:14-c.4

74 Eastern New Hampshire Turnpike; Authority Granted. Amend the introductory paragraph5

of RSA 237:17 to read as follows:6

237:17 Authority Granted. The commissioner of transportation, with the approval of the7

governor and council, shall locate and construct a continuous highway from a point on the8

Massachusetts-New Hampshire boundary in the town of Seabrook to a point on the9

New Hampshire-Maine boundary in the city of Portsmouth, and from [said point] the10

Portsmouth traffic circle in the city of Portsmouth to a point in the vicinity of the [city of11

Rochester] town of Milton, and shall operate and maintain said highway as a toll road as12

hereinafter provided.13

75 Highways Named. Amend RSA 237:18 to read as follows:14

237:18 Highways Named. The portion of the toll road from the Massachusetts-15

New Hampshire boundary in the town of Seabrook [connecting with route 1 in Maine] to a point16

on the New Hampshire-Maine boundary in the city of Portsmouth shall be designated as the17

Blue Star memorial highway as provided in chapter 115, Laws of 1949, and shall be located on the18

road as now constructed. That part of the said toll road from [a point] the Portsmouth traffic19

circle in the city of Portsmouth to a point in the vicinity of the [city of Rochester] town of Milton,20

shall be designated and named Spaulding turnpike.21

76 New Section; Department of Transportation; Expansion of the Turnpike System. Amend22

RSA 237 by inserting after section 49-a the following new section:23

237:50 Acquisition; Authority Granted.24

I. The department of transportation, acting by and on behalf of the state, is hereby25

authorized to convey to the bureau of turnpikes, and the bureau of turnpikes is authorized to acquire26

from the state, a portion of Interstate Route 95 in the city of Portsmouth for the sum of $120,000,00027

and on such other terms and provisions as the commissioner of transportation and the bureau of28

turnpikes determine are reasonable or necessary to complete the acquisition. The bureau of29

turnpikes is authorized to acquire, expand, and make improvements to the eastern New Hampshire30

turnpike from the northerly expansion joint of the Interstate Route 95 bridge over the Spaulding31

turnpike, U.S. Route 4, and N.H. Route 16 (bridge No. 197/122) north to a point on the New32

Hampshire-Maine boundary in the city of Portsmouth, such improvements to include the installation33

of open road tolling for the toll on Interstate Route 95 in Hampton.34

II. The bureau of turnpikes shall operate and maintain this section of highway, which shall35

become part of the eastern New Hampshire turnpike under RSA 237:17 and the Blue Star turnpike36

under RSA 237:18.37
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III. Acquisition and expansion of the eastern New Hampshire turnpike system for1

$120,000,000 plus interest shall be at the state borrowing rate to be paid over a maximum 20-year2

term to the highway fund from the New Hampshire turnpike system reserve account as follows:3

$30,000,000 in fiscal year 2010, $20,000,000 in fiscal year 2011, and the balance to be paid under4

terms and conditions to be determined by the commissioner of transportation and the state5

treasurer.6

IV. The high level bridge on Interstate Route 95 over the Piscataqua River is eligible for7

federal funds and state highway funds. In the event of emergency repairs or repair to damage from8

a catastrophic event, the department of transportation, rather than the bureau of turnpikes, shall9

remain liable for such repairs to the high level bridge.10

77 Issuance of Revenue Bonds. Amend RSA 237-A:2 to read as follows:11

237-A:2 Issuance of Revenue Bonds. The state may issue bonds under this chapter to be known12

as “turnpike system revenue bonds.”The bonds may be issued from time to time for the purpose of13

financing the project costs of construction of any turnpike or of paying or refunding any bonds issued14

pursuant to RSA 237 or interest thereon. Any such bonds issued to pay or refund bonds issued15

pursuant to RSA 237 or interest thereon may be issued in sufficient amount to cover items described16

in RSA 237-A:7. Bonds issued hereunder shall be special obligations of the state and the principal17

of, premium, if any, and interest on all bonds shall be payable solely from the particular funds18

provided therefor under this chapter. The bonds shall be issued by the treasurer in such amounts as19

the governor and council shall determine, not exceeding in the aggregate [$586,050,000]20

$766,050,000. Bonds of each issue shall be dated, shall bear interest at such rate or rates, including21

rates variable from time to time as determined by such index, banker’s loan rate or other method as22

may be determined by the treasurer, and shall mature at such time or times as may be determined23

by the treasurer, except that no bond shall mature more than 40 years from the date of its issue.24

Bonds may be made redeemable before maturity either at the option of the state or at the option of25

the holder, or on the occurrence of specified events, at such price or prices and under such terms and26

conditions as may be fixed by the treasurer prior to the issue of bonds. The treasurer shall27

determine the form and details of bonds. Subject to RSA 93-A, the bonds shall be signed by the28

treasurer and countersigned by the governor. The bonds may be sold in such manner, either at29

public or private sale, for such price, at such rate or rates of interest, or at such discount in lieu of30

interest, as the treasurer may determine.31

78 Department of Transportation; Turnpike System Funds. Amend RSA 237:7, I(a) to read as32

follows:33

(a) Improvements to the Blue Star memorial highway.34

RSA 237:2, I, IX. [55,800,000] 70,000,00035

79 Department of Transportation; Turnpike System Funds. Amend RSA 237:7, I(k) to read as36

follows:37
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(k) Toll collection equipment. RSA 237:2, VIII, IX. [39,000,000] 119,000,0001

80 Department of Transportation; Turnpike System Funds. Amend RSA 237:7, I(m) to read as2

follows:3

(m) Construction of a second barrel from exits 12 to 164

on the Spaulding Turnpike with related interchange5

improvements from exits 11 to 16. RSA 237:2, IX. [138,200,000] 160,000,0006

81 New Subparagraphs; Department of Transportation; Turnpike System Funds. Amend7

RSA 237:7, I by inserting after subparagraph (o) the following new subparagraphs:8

(p) Acquisition of a 1.6 mile section of I-95. 120,000,0009

(q) Repairs and improvements to the bridge on N.H. 107 over I-95 in Seabrook. 2,000,00010

(r) Construction of the Newington-Dover Little Bay Bridge project. 275,000,00011

(s) Construction of noise barriers along I-95 in Portsmouth. 1,000,00012

82 New Paragraph; Turnpike System; Authority. Amend RSA 237:2 by inserting after13

paragraph IX the following new paragraph:14

X. Acquire, expand, and make improvements to the eastern New Hampshire turnpike from15

the northerly expansion joint of the Interstate Route 95 bridge over the Spaulding turnpike, U.S.16

Route 4 and N.H. Route 16 (bridge No. 197/122) north to a point on the New Hampshire-Maine17

border in the city of Portsmouth, said improvements to include the installation of open road tolling18

for the toll currently on Interstate Route 95 in the town of Hampton.19

83 New Paragraph; E-Z Pass Operations Interagency Agreement. Amend RSA 237:16-c by20

inserting after paragraph III the following new paragraph:21

IV. The commissioner may enter into discussions with other state jurisdictions to create22

reciprocal agreements for the enforcement and collection of tolls and administrative fees due under23

the E-Z Pass system. The departments of transportation and safety may release driver’s and owner’s24

information to other jurisdictions relative to enforcement or collection of tolls and may take such25

other action as is necessary to effectuate the reciprocal enforcement agreements.26

84 Department of Transportation; Welcome Centers. In order to better serve the public while27

utilizing revenue-generating opportunities, the general court supports the idea of commercializing28

the rest areas, welcome centers, and state liquor store sites along the highways and turnpikes. The29

commissioner of the department of transportation is authorized to issue requests for proposals30

relative to the sale, lease, or concession of these areas, including the use of public/private31

partnerships to develop and reconstruct the rest areas, welcome areas, and state liquor store sites32

along the turnpikes and highways as may be necessary to provide full service centers with food,33

liquor sales, gas, and other retail goods and services for the traveling public. Any proposal accepted34

by the commissioner under this section shall be submitted for approval in accordance with laws35

governing the disposition of state-owned real estate.36

85 Fish and Game Department; Game Management Account. Notwithstanding RSA 206:34-b or37
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any other provision of law, for the biennium ending June 30, 2011, all moneys collected from the sale1

of moose, bear, turkey, and waterfowl stamps, licenses, applications, and permits shall be deposited2

in the fish and game fund and shall be used for the purposes specified in RSA 206:34-a.3

86 State Government Waste Reduction, Recycling, and Recycled Products Purchase; Plan for4

State Recycling Program. Amend 2008, 359:1 to read as follows:5

359:1 Plan for State Recycling Program. This act is a plan for the state recycling program and6

shall not mandate the expenditure of funds during the 2008-2009 [biennium] and 2010-20117

bienniums.8

87 Boards, Commissions, and Councils; Expiration Date.9

I.(a) Except as provided in subparagraph (b), all non-regulatory boards, commissions,10

councils, advisory committees, and task forces in state government created by statute or11

administrative rule shall expire on June 30, 2011, unless reinstated by the general court. The office12

of legislative services shall provide a list of all such boards, commissions, councils, advisory13

committees, and task forces in state government created by statute or administrative rule to the14

speaker of the house of representatives, the senate president, and the governor on or before15

September 30, 2009.16

(b) The McAuliffe-Shepard discovery center commission and the Connecticut River17

Valley resource commission shall be exempt from the provisions of subparagraph (a).18

(c) All non-regulatory boards, commissions, councils, advisory committees, and task19

forces created by executive order, or by a department, agency, or administratively-attached agency in20

the executive branch, shall expire on June 30, 2011, unless reinstated by the governor. Each21

commissioner or agency head shall provide a list of all such boards, commissions, councils, advisory22

committees, and task forces created by the department, agency, or administratively attached agency23

to the governor on or before September 30, 2009. For each advisory committee listed that was not24

created by statute, the commissioner or agency head shall identify whether the advisory committee25

was established in accordance with RSA 21-G:11.26

(d) The supreme court shall conduct a review of all boards, commissions, councils,27

advisory committees, and task forces created by the judicial branch or by court order and shall28

eliminate non-essential boards, commissions, councils, advisory committees, and task forces on or29

before June 30, 2011.30

II.(a) There is established a committee to study the list of non-regulatory boards,31

commissions, councils, advisory committees, and task forces under paragraph I.32

(b) The members of the committee shall be as follows:33

(1) Two members of the senate, appointed by the president of the senate.34

(2) Three members of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the35

house of representatives.36

(c) Members of the committee shall receive mileage at the legislative rate when37
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attending to the duties of the committee.1

(d) The committee shall study the list of non-regulatory boards, commissions, councils,2

advisory committees, and task forces under paragraph I and shall make recommendations relative to3

which such entities shall be eliminated.4

(e) The members of the study committee shall elect a chairperson from among the5

members. The first meeting of the committee shall be called by the first-named senate member. The6

first meeting of the committee shall be held within 45 days of the effective date of this section. Three7

members of the committee shall constitute a quorum.8

(f) The committee shall report its findings and any recommendations for proposed9

legislation to the president of the senate, the speaker of the house of representatives, the senate10

clerk, the house clerk, the governor, and the state library on or before November 1, 2010.11

88 Committee on Consolidation of Boards, Commissions, and Councils Established.12

I. There is established a committee to study the consolidation of administrative and13

adjudicative functions of boards, commissions, and councils regulating occupations and licensing14

professionals to provide for increased efficiency and cost savings.15

II. The members of the committee shall be as follows:16

(a) Six members of the house of representatives, 3 of whom shall be members of the17

finance committee and 3 of whom shall be members of the executive departments and administration18

committee, appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives.19

(b) Two members of the senate, one of whom shall be a member of the finance committee20

and one of whom shall be a member of the executive departments and administration committee,21

appointed by the president of the senate.22

III. Members of the committee shall receive mileage at the legislative rate when attending to23

the duties of the committee.24

IV. The committee shall study how to enhance the administrative efficiency of occupational25

licensing boards. In conducting the study, the committee shall consider how greater efficiency can be26

achieved in the following areas:27

(a) The relationship between the boards and the agencies to which the boards are28

attached;29

(b) The relationship between the administrative prosecutions unit, department of30

justice, and the boards and the development of uniform access to investigative assistance and legal31

assistance with prosecutions;32

(c) The relationship between the civil bureau, department of justice, and the boards and33

the development of uniform access to legal assistance with board procedural issues;34

(d) The relationship between the rules and procedures unit, department of35

administrative services, and the boards;36

(e) Consolidation of or uniformity in the administrative functions of the boards,37



Committee of Conference Report on HB 2-FN-A-LOCAL
- Page 33 -

including but not limited to, purchasing, personnel management, database design, and website1

design;2

(f) Physically grouping some boards together with shared staff and office and meeting3

space;4

(g) Creating a new department of professional regulation that includes all occupational5

licensing boards; and6

(h) Any other areas deemed necessary by the committee.7

V. The members of the study committee shall elect a chairperson from among the members.8

The first meeting of the committee shall be called by the first-named house member. The first9

meeting of the committee shall be held within 45 days of the effective date of this section. Five10

members of the committee shall constitute a quorum.11

VI. The committee shall report its findings and any recommendations for proposed12

legislation to the speaker of the house of representatives, the president of the senate, the house13

clerk, the senate clerk, the governor, and the state library on or before November 1, 2009.14

89 New Section; Department of Resources and Economic Development; Workforce Development.15

Amend RSA 12-A by inserting after section 2-i the following new section:16

12-A:2-j Workforce Development. The commissioner of the department of resources and17

economic development shall plan, develop, and administer workforce investment activities,18

programs, and grants under the federal Workforce Investment Act of 1998, 29 U.S.C. section 2801 et19

seq., as such may be amended, reauthorized, and in effect from time to time, and shall discharge the20

day-to-day operational responsibilities and obligations of the New Hampshire Workforce21

Opportunity Council established under RSA 12-A:60. The commissioner shall coordinate with the22

New Hampshire Workforce Opportunity Council to promote state and local investment systems that23

increase the employment, retention, and earnings of participants, and increase occupational skill24

attainment by participants, and, as a result, improve the quality of the workforce, reduce welfare25

dependency, and enhance the productivity and competitiveness of the nation.26

90 New Paragraph; Powers of the Director of Economic Development. Amend RSA 12-A:22 by27

inserting after subparagraph IX the following new paragraph:28

X. Plan, develop, and administer programs to assist in the implementation of the Workforce29

Investment Act of 1998, 29 U.S.C. section 2801 et seq., as such may be amended, reauthorized, and30

in effect from time to time, implement the state plan established by the governor and the Workforce31

Opportunity Council, and perform the following additional functions:32

(a) Through the Youth Council, select youth providers of training services in the local33

areas.34

(b) Identify eligible providers of training services in the local area.35

(c) Identify eligible providers of intensive services, if not otherwise provided by the One-36

Stop operator.37



Committee of Conference Report on HB 2-FN-A-LOCAL
- Page 34 -

(d) Develop a budget for carrying out the duties of the Workforce Opportunity Council,1

subject to the approval of the commissioner.2

(e) Oversee local programs of youth activities, local employment, and training service.3

(f) Establish, in conjunction with the commissioner, local performance measures.4

(g) Assist the commissioner in developing statewide employment statistics systems5

described in the Wagner-Peyser Act.6

(h) Coordinate workforce investment activities authorized and implemented within the7

state with economic development strategies, and develop the employer linkages with such activities.8

(i) Make available to the public, on a regular basis through open meetings, information9

regarding Workforce Opportunity Council activities including information regarding the state plan10

prior to its submission, and information regarding membership, the designation and certification of11

One-Stop operators and the award of grants or contracts to eligible providers of youth activities and,12

as requested, minutes of formal meetings of the Workforce Opportunity Council.13

(j) Review the operation of programs and the availability, responsiveness, and adequacy14

of state services, and make recommendations to the governor, appropriate chief elected officials,15

service providers, the legislature, and general public with respect to steps to improve the16

effectiveness of these services and programs.17

(k) Review plans of all state agencies providing employment training, and related18

services, and provide comments and recommendations to the governor, the legislature, the state19

agencies and appropriate federal agencies on the relevancy and effectiveness of employment and20

training and related services delivery system in the state.21

91 New Subdivision; Department of Resources and Economic Development; New Hampshire22

Workforce Opportunity Council; Workforce Opportunity Fund. Amend RSA 12-A by inserting after23

section 59 the following new subdivision:24

New Hampshire Workforce Opportunity Council25

12-A:60 New Hampshire Workforce Opportunity Council.26

I. There is established a New Hampshire Workforce Opportunity Council.27

II. Membership of the council shall be as set forth in section 111(b) of the Workforce28

Investment Act of 1998, Public Law 105-220, codified at 29 U.S.C. section 2801 et seq., as such may29

be amended, reauthorized, and in effect from time to time. Members of the council shall be30

appointed by the governor and shall serve at the pleasure of the governor. The governor shall select31

a chairperson for the council from among the members of the council, in accordance with 29 U.S.C.32

section 2821(c).33

III. The council shall meet no less frequently than semi-annually, shall have the powers and34

responsibilities of the state workforce investment board under the Workforce Investment Act of35

1998, and shall assist the governor in:36

(a) Development of the state plan required under section 112 of the Workforce37
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Investment Act of 1998.1

(b) Development and continuous improvement of a statewide system of activities that2

are funded under this subdivision or carried out through a One-Stop delivery system described in3

section 134c of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998, that receives funds under that act, including:4

(1) Development of linkages in order to assure coordination and non-duplication5

among the programs and activities described in section 121(b) of the Workforce Investment Act of6

1998; and7

(2) Review of local plans under the Workforce Investment Act of 1998, if any.8

(c) Commenting at least once annually on the measures taken pursuant to the Carl D.9

Perkins Vocational and Applied Technology Education Act, 20 U.S.C. section 2323(b)(3).10

(d) Designation of local areas as required in section 116 of the Workforce Investment Act11

of 1998.12

(e) Development of the allocation formulas for the distribution of funds for adult13

employment and training activities and youth activities to local areas as permitted under sections14

128(b)(3)(B) and 133(b)(3)(B) of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998.15

(f) Development and continuous improvement of comprehensive state performance16

measures including state adjusted levels of performance, to assess the effectiveness of the workforce17

investment activities in the state as required under section 136(b) of the Workforce Investment Act18

of 1998.19

(g) Preparation of the annual report to the United States Secretary of Labor described in20

section 136(d) of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998.21

(h) Development of the statewide employment statistics system described in section22

15(e) of the Wagner-Peyser Act.23

(i) Development of an application for an incentive grant under 20 U.S.C. section 9273.24

12-A:61 New Hampshire Workforce Opportunity Fund.25

I. There is hereby established the New Hampshire workforce opportunity fund which shall26

be nonlapsing, continually appropriated to, and administered by the commissioner of the department27

of resources and economic development. Said fund shall be for the purpose of receiving financial28

assistance under the Workforce Investment Act of 1998 and providing funds for grants and other29

workforce development initiatives.30

II. The fund shall be distributed or expended by the commissioner after consultation with31

the New Hampshire Workforce Opportunity Council established in RSA 12-A:60 and the approval of32

the governor and council for any of the following purposes:33

(a) Workforce Investment Act Adult and Dislocated Worker programs.34

(b) Workforce Investment Act Youth programs.35

(c) Workforce Investment Act Senior Community Service Employment programs.36

(d) Workforce Investment Act Disability programs.37
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(e) Workforce Investment Act Regional Innovation and National Emergency grant1

programs.2

(f) Other projects, programs or grants recognized as being beneficial to workforce3

development initiatives and consistent with the goals of the Workforce Investment Act.4

III.(a) The department may accept gifts, grants, donations, or other moneys for the purposes5

of this section. Said moneys shall be deposited into the New Hampshire workforce opportunity fund.6

(b) The commissioner may enter into contracts and agreements and may take other7

actions that may be necessary or desirable to effect the transfer to it of operations currently8

conducted by The Workforce Opportunity Council, Inc. or the New Hampshire Workforce9

Opportunity Council under the Workforce Investment Act, and to effect the transfer of assets utilized10

by them in doing so; and, the commissioner may assume, bear, and agree to perform those contracts11

of the Workforce Opportunity Council, Inc. or the New Hampshire Workforce Opportunity Council12

that may be necessary or desirable for carrying out the purposes of this section.13

IV. The commissioner of the department of resources and economic development shall have14

the authority to enter into such agreements for leasing real property, acquiring goods, and engaging15

services to perform Rapid Response activities in accordance with this subdivision. The commissioner16

shall provide the governor and council an information item not less frequently than semi-annually17

describing all such agreements and amounts expended pursuant thereto. Such agreements shall be18

made pursuant to forms of agreement that shall be approved by governor and council which forms of19

agreement have been reviewed by the attorney general and the commissioner of the department of20

administrative services.21

V. In accordance with RSA 12-A:51-58, the commissioner of resources and economic22

development shall have the authority to make grants to New Hampshire employers for the purpose23

of training employees in accordance with this chapter, such grants not to exceed the amounts24

specified in RSA 282-A:87, IV(a)(2), and not to exceed to any single employer in any grant year the25

sum of $70,000, unless first approved by governor and council. The commissioner shall provide the26

governor and council an information item not less frequently than semi-annually describing all such27

grants expended pursuant thereto. Such grants shall be made pursuant to a form of agreement that28

shall be approved by governor and council after review by the attorney general and the commissioner29

of the department of administrative services.30

92 New Subparagraph; Application of Receipts; Workforce Opportunity Fund. Amend RSA 6:12,31

I(b) by inserting after subparagraph (276) the following new subparagraph:32

(277) Moneys deposited into the New Hampshire workforce opportunity fund33

established in RSA 12-A:61.34

93 Training Fund. Amend RSA 282-A:138-a to read as follows:35

282-A:138-a Training Fund.36

I. There is hereby created in the state treasury a special fund to be known as the training37
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fund. Commencing January 1, 2002, the moneys in this fund may be used, solely as determined by1

the commissioner of [employment security] resources and economic development in accordance2

with rules and guidelines adopted by the commissioner of resources and economic development,3

for funding training under the job training program for economic growth, established under RSA 12-4

A:51-58. Rulemaking authority relative to administration of the grant award process shall [remain]5

be with the commissioner of resources and economic development pursuant to RSA 12-A:54, II(a).6

II. The commissioner of [employment security] resources and economic development7

shall act as the fiscal agent for moneys deposited in the training fund. All costs incurred by the8

commissioner acting as fiscal agent of the training fund shall be paid from such fund.9

III. Any interest earned on the moneys in this fund shall [be deposited in the fund10

established by RSA 282-A:140 and shall be expended only as provided by that section, and not for11

any other purpose] remain in the fund and shall be expended as provided in paragraph I .12

IV. Any moneys paid into the training fund during a calendar year, which are either not13

obligated by June 30 of the following year or spent by June 30 of the year thereafter, shall be14

continually appropriated and shall not lapse [and be deposited into the fund established by15

RSA 282-A:140 and shall be expended only as provided by that section and not for any other16

purpose].17

94 Repeal. 2000, 317:2, relative to membership on the workforce investment board, is repealed.18

95 Department of Insurance; New Hampshire Citizens Health Initiative. The New Hampshire19

insurance department is hereby authorized and directed to seek governor and council approval to20

enter into a cooperative project agreement with the university system of New Hampshire, acting21

through the university of New Hampshire, whereby the New Hampshire Institute for Health Policy22

and Practice will support the efforts of the New Hampshire Citizens Health Initiative (CHI). This23

agreement shall provide for operational support of the CHI, as well as technical assistance and24

consultant services to support CHI Pillar Projects relating to health care provider reimbursement,25

medical home, health information technology and exchange, and health care finance and structure26

transparency. Funding for this agreement provided by the insurance department shall not exceed27

$380,000 through June 30, 2011.28

96 New Section; Real Estate Commission; Fees Collected Electronically; Handling Charge.29

Amend RSA 331-A by inserting after section 24-a the following new section:30

331-A:24-b Handling Charge. If the real estate commission collects a fee electronically for any31

license, any document, or any other purpose under this chapter, the commission shall collect a32

handling charge for each fee paid electronically, including by Internet or facsimile, by adding 233

percent to the total collected.34

97 Horse and Dog Racing; Employees. Amend RSA 284:3 to read as follows:35

284:3 Employees. At least [85] 70 percent of the persons employed by a person, association, or36

corporation conducting a racing plant or simulcasting under the provisions hereof shall have37
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resided in this state for a period of not less than one year. The provisions of this section shall not1

apply to the construction of a racing plant or its equipment.2

98 Horse and Dog Racing; Racing and Charitable Gaming Commission; Rulemaking. Amend3

RSA 284:12, III to read as follows:4

III. The operation of race tracks on which running or harness horse or dog races or meets or5

simulcastings are held.6

99 Horse and Dog Racing; License Required; Investigation Fees. Amend RSA 284:12-a to read7

as follows:8

284:12-a License Required; Investigation Fees.9

I. No person, association, corporation, or any other type of entity shall hold or simulcast10

any running or harness horse or dog race or meet at or for which pari-mutuel pools are sold without11

a license from the commission.12

II. Investigation fees shall be collected by the commission and shall be continually13

appropriated to the commission and used by the commission to offset the costs of conducting14

background checks and monitoring of license applicants and licensees as required under this section,15

RSA 284:16, RSA 284:16-a, RSA 284:18-a, RSA 284:19, RSA 284:20, [and] RSA 284:20-b,16

RSA 284:22, and RSA 284:22-a. Funds received hereunder and not expended for such17

investigations shall lapse to the general fund 2 years after receipt of such funds.18

100 License; Live Running or Harness Horse Racing. Amend the introductory paragraph of19

RSA 284:15, I to read as follows:20

I. Any person, association, or corporation desiring to hold or simulcast a running or21

harness horse race or meet for public exhibition, at or for which pari-mutuel pools are to be sold,22

shall apply to said commission for a license to do so. The application shall be signed and sworn to by23

the person or executive officer of the association or corporation and shall contain the following24

information:25

101 Requirements; Simulcast Dog Racing. Amend RSA 284:15-a to read as follows:26

284:15-a Requirements. Any person, association, or corporation desiring to hold or simulcast a27

dog race for public exhibition at or for which pari-mutuel pools are to be sold, shall apply to said28

commission for a license to do so. The application shall be signed and sworn to by the person or29

executive officer of the association or corporation and shall contain the information set forth in30

RSA 284:15. Any New Hampshire agricultural fair association certified as such, by the31

commissioner of agriculture, markets, and food, shall be entitled to one special 6-day racing license32

annually.33

102 Issuance of Licenses; Simulcast Racing. Amend RSA 284:16 to read as follows:34

284:16 Issuance of Licenses. If the commission is satisfied that all the provisions hereof and the35

rules and regulations prescribed have been and will be complied with by the applicant and that the36

financial backing upon which said application is predicated is sound and is committed in support of37
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said application, it may issue a license which shall expire on the thirty-first day of December. The1

license shall set forth the name of the licensee, the place where the races or race meets or2

simulcastings are to be held, and the time and number of days during which racing or3

simulcasting may be conducted by said licensee. Any license issued shall not be transferable nor4

assignable. Said commission shall have power to revoke any license for good cause upon reasonable5

notice and hearing. The commission may at any time for cause require the removal of any employee6

or official employed by any licensee hereunder. The license of any corporation shall automatically7

cease upon the change in ownership, legal or equitable, of 50 percent or more of the voting stock of8

the corporation and the corporation shall not hold a running or harness horse race or meet for public9

exhibition without a new license.10

103 Issuance of Licenses; Simulcasting Races. Amend RSA 284:16-a to read as follows:11

284:16-a Issuance of Licenses. If the greyhound racing commission is satisfied that all the12

provisions hereof and the rules and regulations prescribed have been and will be complied with by13

the applicant and that the financial backing upon which said application is predicated is sound and14

is committed in support of said application, it may issue a license which shall expire on the thirty-15

first day of December. The license shall set forth the name of the licensee, the place where the races16

or race meets or simulcastings are to be held, and the time and number of days during which17

racing or simulcasting may be conducted by said licensee. Any license issued shall not be18

transferable nor assignable. Said commission shall have power to revoke any license for good cause19

upon reasonable notice and hearing. The commission may at any time for cause require the removal20

of any employee or official employed by any licensee hereunder. The license of any corporation shall21

automatically cease upon the change in ownership, legal or equitable, of 50 percent or more of the22

voting stock of the corporation and the corporation shall not hold a dog race or meet for public23

exhibition without a new license. Any New Hampshire agricultural fair association certified as such,24

by the commissioner of agriculture, markets, and food, shall be entitled to one special 6-day license25

annually to hold a dog race meet.26

104 Pari-Mutuel Pools on Simulcast Racing; Live Running and Harness Horse Racing. Amend27

RSA 284:22-a, I(c) to read as follows:28

(c)  “Licensee” means any individual, association, partnership, joint venture, corporation,29

or other organization or other entity which holds a license under RSA 284 to conduct a race meet, or30

if the election is made pursuant to RSA 284:22-a, II(c), “licensee”means any individual,31

association, partnership, joint venture, corporation, or other organization or entity which32

holds a license under RSA 284 to conduct simulcasting at a facility at which live running33

or harness horse racing or live dog racing was conducted in 2008.34

105 New Subparagraph; Pari-Mutuel Pools on Simulcast Racing; Live Running and Harness35

Horse Racing. Amend RSA 284:22-a, II by inserting after subparagraph (b) the following new36

subparagraph:37
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(c) Notwithstanding subparagraph II(a), an individual, association, partnership, joint1

venture, corporation, or other organization or entity may be issued a license to conduct simulcasting2

without conducting live racing provided such person or entity makes such election with the approval3

of the commission and such person or entity either held a license on January 1, 2009 under this4

chapter to conduct a race meet or seeks to conduct simulcasting without conducting live racing at a5

facility at which live racing was authorized to be conducted in 2009.6

106 Department of Revenue Administration; Position of Field Audit Team Leader.7

I. There is established the unclassified position of field audit team leader for the department8

of revenue administration. The salary for the position shall be as set forth in RSA 94:1-a.9

II. The commissioner shall appoint a qualified person, who shall serve at the pleasure of the10

commissioner, to the position established in paragraph I.11

107 Unclassified Officers; Field Audit Team Leader Added. Amend RSA 94:1-a, I(a) as follows:12

Insert:13

DD Department of revenue administration field audit team leader14

108 New Section; Supreme Court; Judicial Branch Information Technology Fund. Amend RSA15

490 by inserting after section 26-g the following new section:16

490:26-h Judicial Branch Information Technology Fund.17

I. Except as provided in paragraph IV:18

(a) Fourteen percent of each entry fee collected in the judicial branch family division and19

in the supreme, district, superior, and probate courts and 16.67 percent of the penalty assessment20

collected pursuant to RSA 188-F:31 shall be deposited in the judicial branch information technology21

fund.22

(b) Moneys in the fund shall be nonlapsing and continually appropriated to the supreme23

court for maintenance and infrastructure renewal of judicial branch information technology,24

including both hardware and software, as recommended by the director of the administrative office25

of the courts and approved by the supreme court.26

II. The state treasurer shall establish procedures for deposits to and expenditures from the27

judicial branch information technology fund. The fund shall be a dedicated fund for the28

improvement of judicial branch information technology.29

III. The funds on deposit in the judicial branch information technology fund shall be30

invested by the state treasurer in obligations of the United States government, in government31

agency obligations, in obligations which are legal investments for savings banks and trust32

companies, and in all types of savings accounts or certificates of deposit of both state or federally33

chartered institutions.34

IV. On or before September 1 of each year, the judicial branch shall submit a written report35

of the income and expenditures of the judicial branch information technology fund to the fiscal36

committee of the general court and the state treasurer. If such report is not submitted, any balance37
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in the fund shall lapse to the general fund and the percentage of each entry fee which is designated1

for the judicial branch information technology fund under paragraph I shall be deposited in the2

general fund.3

109 Penalty Assessment. Amend RSA 188-F:31, I to read as follows:4

I. Every court shall levy a penalty assessment of $2 or [20] 24 percent, whichever is greater,5

on each fine or penalty imposed by the court for a criminal offense, including any fine or penalty for a6

violation of RSA title XXI or any municipal ordinance, except for a violation of a municipal ordinance7

relating to motor vehicles unlawfully left or parked.8

110 Penalty Assessment. Amend RSA 188-F:31, IV to read as follows:9

IV. The clerk of each court shall collect all penalty assessments and shall transmit the10

amount collected under paragraphs I-III to the state treasurer for deposit in the following funds.11

The state treasurer shall deposit [65] 54.17 percent of the amount collected in the police standards12

and training council training fund, [20] 16.67 percent of the amount collected in the victims’13

assistance fund, 16.67 percent of the amount collected in the judicial branch information14

technology fund, and the remainder in the general fund.15

111 Supreme Court; Entry Fees. Amend RSA 490:24, I to read as follows:16

I. For the benefit of the state, there shall be paid to the clerk for the entry of every reserved17

case, bill of exceptions, petition, appeal, or other action, for the filing of every motion or other18

document supplementary to the entered case, and for any service rendered by the clerk, such fees as19

shall from time to time be established by the court. The clerk shall set aside 7 percent of each entry20

fee paid into the court for deposit into a special escrow account established under RSA 490:26-c and21

14 percent of each entry fee paid into the court for deposit into the judicial branch22

information technology fund established under RSA 490:26-h. The proceeds of fees for motions23

to appear in court pro hac vice shall be paid into the law library revolving fund established in24

RSA 490:25, III.25

112 Judicial Branch Family Division; Entry Fees. Amend RSA 490-D:12, II to read as follows:26

II. Fees as established by the supreme court under RSA 490:26-a shall be paid to the clerk of27

the judicial branch family division for the benefit of the state. The clerk shall set aside 7 percent of28

each entry fee paid into the court for deposit into a special escrow account established under29

RSA 490:26-c and 14 percent of each entry fee paid into the court for deposit into the30

judicial branch information technology fund established under RSA 490:26-h.31

113 Superior Court; Entry Fees. Amend RSA 499:18, II to read as follows:32

II. The clerk shall set aside 7 percent of each entry fee paid into the court for deposit into a33

special escrow account established under RSA 490:26-c and 14 percent of each entry fee paid34

into the court for deposit into the judicial branch information technology fund established35

under RSA 490:26-h.36

114 District Court Entry Fees. Amend RSA 502-A:28, II to read as follows:37
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II. The clerk shall set aside 7 percent of each entry fee paid into the court for deposit into a1

special escrow account established under RSA 490:26-c and 14 percent of each entry fee paid2

into the court for deposit into the judicial branch information technology fund established3

under RSA 490:26-h.4

115 Probate Court Entry Fees. Amend RSA 548:23-a, II to read as follows:5

II. The register shall set aside 7 percent of each entry fee paid into the court for deposit into6

a special escrow account established under RSA 490:26-c and 14 percent of each entry fee paid7

into the court for deposit into the judicial branch information technology fund established8

under RSA 490:26-h.9

116 New Subparagraph; Application of Receipts; Judicial Branch Information Technology Fund.10

Amend RSA 6:12, I(b) by inserting after subparagraph (276) the following new subparagraph:11

(277) Moneys deposited in the judicial branch information technology fund12

established under RSA 490:26-h.13

117 Uniform Fines; Judicial Branch Information Technology Fund; Credit Cards. Amend14

RSA 262:44, I to read as follows:15

I. Such defendant shall receive, in addition to the summons, a uniform fine schedule entitled16

“Notice of Fine, Division of Motor Vehicles” which shall contain the normal fines for violations of the 17

provisions of title XXI on vehicles for which a plea may be entered by mail. The defendant shall be18

given a notice of fine indicating the amount of the fine plus penalty assessment at the time the19

summons is issued; except if, for cause, the summoning authority wishes the defendant to appear20

personally. Defendants summoned to appear personally shall do so on the arraignment date21

specified in the summons, unless otherwise ordered by the court. Defendants who are issued a22

summons and notice of fine and who wish to plead guilty or nolo contendere shall enter their plea on23

the summons and return it with payment of the fine plus penalty assessment to the director of the24

division of motor vehicles within 30 days of the date of the summons. The director of the division25

of motor vehicles may accept payment of the fine by credit card in lieu of cash payment.26

Any transaction costs assessed by the issuer of the credit card shall be paid out of the27

portion of the fine amount which is credited as agency income and not out of the penalty28

assessment charged by the district court. The director of the division of motor vehicles shall29

remit the penalty assessments collected to the police standards and training council for deposit in30

the police standards and training council training fund and to the state treasurer to be credited and31

continually appropriated to the victims’ assistance fund and the judicial branch information32

technology fund in the percentages and manner prescribed in RSA 188-F:31. Fines shall be paid33

over to the [treasurer for deposit in the highway fund, or to such department or agency of the state34

as the law provides,] state treasurer, and shall be credited as agency income by the35

department of safety within 14 days of their receipt.36

118 Beverage. Amend RSA 175:1, VIII to read as follows:37
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VIII.  “Beverage” means any beer, wine, similar fermented malt or vinous liquors and fruit1

juices and any other liquid intended for human consumption as a beverage having an alcoholic2

content of not less than 1/2 of one percent by volume and not more than 6 percent alcohol by volume3

at 60 degrees Fahrenheit and specialty beer as defined in RSA 175:1, LXIV-a. The commission4

may approve any cider greater than 6 percent.5

119 New Subparagraph; General Revenue Exceptions. Amend RSA 6:12, I(b) by inserting after6

subparagraph (276) the following new subparagraph:7

(277) Moneys deposited in the liquor commission fund established in RSA 176:16.8

120 Purchase of Supplies; Exemptions; Liquor Commission. RSA 21-I:18, I(b) is repealed and9

reenacted to read as follows:10

(b) The liquor commission is completely exempted from the provisions of this chapter,11

provided that the liquor commission uses competitive bidding when acquiring consumable supplies,12

materials, goods, and services that are necessary for, incidental to, or related to the operation of the13

liquor commission.14

121 Divisions and Directors. RSA 176:8 is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:15

176:8 Divisions and Directors. The commission shall have 3 divisions under the direction of16

unclassified division directors. The directors shall be appointed by the commission and serve at the17

pleasure of the commission based on good behavior and competence. There shall be a division of18

marketing, merchandising, and warehousing, a division of administration, and a division of19

enforcement and licensing.20

122 Liquor Commission Funds. Amend RSA 176:16 to read as follows:21

176:16 Funds.22

I. Except as provided in paragraph II, the state treasurer shall credit all gross revenue23

derived by the commission from the sale of liquor, or from license fees, [shall be deposited into the24

general funds of the state. The expenses of administration and all other expenditures provided for in25

this title shall be paid by the state treasurer on warrants of the governor with the advice and consent26

of council.] and interest received on such moneys, to a special fund, to be known as the27

liquor commission fund, from which the treasurer shall pay all expenses of the commission28

incident to the administration of this title. Any balance left in such fund after such29

expenses are paid shall be deposited in the general fund on a daily basis.30

II. Notwithstanding any provision of law, or the designation of the funds allocated31

by the state to the liquor commission as the liquor commission fund, the general court32

shall retain budgeting authority and control over the liquor commission.33

III. Fifty percent of the amount by which the current year gross profits exceed fiscal year34

2001 actual gross profit, but not more than 5 percent of the current year gross profits derived by the35

commission from the sale of liquor and other revenues, shall be deposited into the alcohol abuse36

prevention and treatment fund established by RSA 176-A:1.37
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IV. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if the expenditure of additional1

funds over budget estimates is necessary for the proper funding of retirement and health2

benefits for commission employees, the commission may request, with prior approval of the3

fiscal committee of the general court, that the governor and council authorize the transfer4

of funds from the liquor commission fund.5

V. The commission may transfer funds totaling up to 5 percent of the operating6

budget in any fiscal year for any specific purposes to funds for other purposes within and7

among the appropriations for the operation of the commission. The commission shall8

report on a semi-annual basis to the fiscal committee of the general court all transfers9

accomplished under the provisions of this section. The provisions of this section shall not10

be subject to RSA 9:16-a, RSA 9:17-a, and RSA 9:17-c.11

123 Liquor Commission; State Stores. RSA 177:1 is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:12

177:1 State Stores. The commission may lease, purchase, and equip, in the name of the state,13

such stores, warehouses, supplies, materials, equipment, products, and other marketing and14

merchandising requirements for the sale or promotion of liquor and related products as are15

necessary to carry out the provisions of this chapter. The commission may lease, in the name of the16

state, space in state stores for the purpose of installing automated teller machines. No newly17

established state store shall be operated within 200 feet of any public or private school, church,18

chapel, or parish house.19

124 Closing of State Liquor Stores. RSA 177:2, I is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:20

I. The commission may close any state liquor store to improve profitability and efficiency. In21

determining net operating profit or loss, the commission shall adhere to generally accepted22

accounting principles for both revenues and expenses and shall include an allocation for indirect23

costs. All information regarding a decision to close any state liquor store shall be made available, by24

the commission, to the public upon request. The commission shall provide public notice 30 days25

prior to closing any state liquor store. The commission shall submit a quarterly report of state liquor26

store closings to the fiscal committee of the general court.27

125 References Changed. Amend RSA 178:11, V to read as follows:28

V. Liquor/wine/beverage warehousers shall submit a monthly report both to the liquor29

commission enforcement and licensing division and the [warehouse and transportation]30

marketing, merchandising, and warehousing division of the commission by the tenth day of the31

following month indicating the quantity, type, size, and brands of all product received, stored, or32

shipped on their premises.33

126 New Section; Combination Conditional License. Amend RSA 178 by inserting after section34

17 the following new section:35

178:17-a Combination Conditional License.36

I. At its discretion, the commission may combine license types and issue a combination37
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conditional license to a licensee that holds or is seeking more than one license for a single1

establishment. In issuing a combination conditional license, the commission may suspend or modify2

any existing licensing requirement established under title XIII and may impose additional3

conditions. The commission may deny, in its discretion, any license under this section that4

constitutes a risk to public health, safety, or welfare of any community.5

II. The commission shall issue a combination conditional license in accordance with6

RSA 541-A:39.7

III. This section shall not be interpreted to create a license category that does not exist in8

statute.9

127 Location of Agency Liquor Stores. Amend RSA 177:11 to read as follows:10

177:11 Location of Agency Liquor Stores.11

I. The commission may license an agency liquor store only when the following requirements12

are met:13

(a) The proposed agency liquor store is located in a municipality which has voted in favor14

of the operation of state liquor stores under RSA 175:7.15

(b) The proposed agency liquor store is located in a municipality where there is no state16

liquor store.17

(c) [Neither] The proposed agency liquor store [nor any state liquor store is] shall not be18

within [5] 10 road miles of an existing state liquor store or an existing agency liquor store.19

II. The commission may not replace a state liquor store which closes with an agency liquor20

store, unless the state liquor store was closed under the provisions of RSA 177:2.21

III. In the event that a proposed agency liquor store will replace a state liquor store, the22

commission shall make reasonable efforts to provide state employees other positions, if available.23

III-a. In determining the location of a proposed agency store, the commission shall24

consider its effect on the economy, availability of liquor, and customers within the25

surrounding relevant market. For the purposes of this section, “surrounding relevant 26

market” means the geographic area that is reasonably intended to be served by the agency 27

store.28

IV. The commission shall issue a license for an agency liquor store within a municipality by29

the following procedure:30

(a) The commission shall, in accordance with RSA 541-A, give public notice that agency31

liquor stores may be established in a particular municipality to serve persons located in that32

municipality and in the surrounding relevant market. The public notice shall identify the33

surrounding relevant market that the agency store is intended to serve and all34

municipalities, or portions thereof, included therein. A copy of the public notice shall at35

the same time be forwarded by certified mail by the commission to the governing body of36

the municipality in which the agency store may be established and to the governing bodies37
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of any additional municipalities located, in whole or in part, in the surrounding relevant1

market that the agency store is intended to serve. The commission shall request all parties in2

the municipality, interested in establishing an agency liquor store there, to apply to the commission.3

(b) The commission shall provide all applicants with the necessary information for the4

establishment of agency liquor stores.5

(c) Upon receipt of all applications for agency liquor stores licenses in a municipality, the6

commission shall notify the [municipal officers] governing body of that municipality and the7

governing bodies of any additional municipalities located, in whole or in part, in the8

surrounding relevant market of the proposed location of each applicant [at least 15 days before9

the final selection of an applicant or applicants by the commission] and shall suspend all action10

on such applications for 30 days in order to allow the affected municipalities and any11

other interested person to submit written comments to the commission on the proposed12

location of a new agency store in a municipality.13

(d) [The commission shall issue a license to all persons qualifying under the14

commission's rules.] Upon the written request of the governing body of the municipality in15

which the proposed agency store may be located, or of the governing body of any16

municipality located in the surrounding relevant market as identified by the commission,17

that is received by the commission within 14 days of the date of the public notice forwarded18

to such a municipality under subparagraph (a), the commission shall in accordance with19

RSA 541-A publish notice and schedule a hearing on the proposed location of an agency20

store in such municipality. Any public hearing shall be held within 45 days of the close of21

the public comment period in the municipality in which the agency store may be located.22

(e) The commission shall [notify] provide written notice by certified mail to all23

applicants, to the governing body of the municipality in which the agency store is to be24

located, and to the governing body of any other municipality located in the surrounding25

relevant market of the final selection of an applicant or applicants, and shall provide any26

applicant denied a license written notification of the reasons for the denial by certified mail to the27

mailing address given by the applicant in [his] the application for an agency liquor store license.28

(f) The commission shall issue a license to all persons qualifying under the29

commission’s rules.30

V. Any applicant aggrieved by a decision made by the commission may appeal the decision31

in accordance with RSA 541. For purposes of rehearing and appeal, the date of the written32

notice of final selection of an applicant or applicants shall constitute the decision of the33

commission.34

128 Licensing of Agency Liquor Stores. During the period beginning July 1, 2009 and ending35

June 30, 2011:36

I. The liquor commission may only issue new agency liquor store licenses for stores in the37
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same market area in which the commission has closed state liquor stores during the biennium, but1

no more than one new agency liquor store may be licensed in any single market area.2

II. The commission shall issue no more than 8 new agency liquor store licenses.3

129 Department of Health and Human Services and Department of Safety Agreement Relative4

to Fee for State Criminal Record Check. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, the5

commissioner of the department of safety and the commissioner of the department of health and6

human services shall negotiate a reduced fee for performing a state criminal record check of7

department of health and human services employees, service providers, and licensed and license-8

exempt child day care providers.9

130 New Subparagraph; Rulemaking Exemption; Fee for Criminal Record Check. Amend10

RSA 541-A:21, I by inserting after subparagraph (bb) the following new subparagraph:11

(cc) RSA 106-B:14, I-a, relative to the fee for criminal record checks of department of12

health and human services employees, service providers, and licensed and license-exempt child day13

care providers.14

131 Annulment of Criminal Records. Amend RSA 651:5, IX to read as follows:15

IX. When a petition for annulment is timely brought, the court shall require the department16

of corrections to report to the court concerning any state or federal convictions, arrests or17

prosecutions of the petitioner and any other information which the court believes may aid in making18

a determination on the petition. The department shall charge the petitioner a fee of $100 to cover19

the cost of such investigation unless the petitioner demonstrates that he or she is indigent, or [he]20

has been found not guilty, or [his] the case has been dismissed or not prosecuted in accordance with21

paragraph II. The department of safety shall charge the successful petitioner a fee of $10022

for researching and correcting the criminal history record accordingly, unless the23

petitioner demonstrates that he or she is indigent, or has been found not guilty, or the case24

has been dismissed or not prosecuted in accordance with paragraph II. The court shall25

provide a copy of the petition to the prosecutor of the underlying offense and permit them to be heard26

regarding the interest of justice in regard to the petition.27

132 Great Bay; Reference to Saltwater License. Amend RSA 211:17-b to read as follows:28

211:17-b Operation of Motor Vehicles, Snowmobiles, or OHRVs on Ice on Great Bay. No person29

shall drive a motor vehicle, snowmobile, or OHRV on the ice on Great Bay, except that any person30

who holds a New Hampshire [fishing] recreational saltwater license under RSA 214:9, XVI may31

do so, provided that he or she does not drive or park his or her vehicle any closer than 300 feet to32

any occupied so-called bob-house, fishing shanty, or fishing hole other than the one [he] the person33

occupies. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any person engaged in emergency rescue34

operations or public service of any description. No person driving a motor vehicle, snowmobile, or35

OHRV on the ice on Great Bay shall operate said vehicle at a speed greater than 10 miles per hour.36

Whoever violates any provision of this section shall be guilty of a violation.37
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133 New Paragraph; Licenses; Application; Recreational Saltwater License. Amend RSA 214:91

by inserting after paragraph XV the following new paragraph:2

XVI.(a) If the applicant is 16 years of age or older and wishes to take, possess, or transport3

finfish from coastal and estuarine waters under the restrictions of this title, the applicant shall pay4

the fee according to the schedule in subparagraph (e), and the agent shall thereupon issue a5

recreational saltwater license which shall entitle the licensee to take, possess, or transport finfish6

from coastal and estuarine waters, under the restrictions of this title, provided that any person7

participating in a recreational saltwater fishing opportunity on a for-hire vessel, which is licensed8

under subparagraph (b), shall be exempt from the license requirement of this subparagraph.9

(b) A resident or nonresident owner or operator of a for-hire vessel who wishes to provide10

recreational saltwater fishing opportunities for persons taking finfish from coastal and estuarine11

waters, shall pay a fee for each charter boat and each party boat according to the schedule in12

subparagraph (e), which shall entitle the owner or operator of the licensed for-hire vessel to take,13

possess, or transport finfish from coastal and estuarine waters, under the restrictions of this title.14

(c) A nonresident holding a valid recreational saltwater license or a for-hire charter or15

party boat saltwater license from Maine or Massachusetts, shall be allowed to take, possess, or16

transport finfish from New Hampshire coastal and estuarine waters, provided that the state in17

which such person purchased a recreational saltwater license or in which the for-hire vessel is18

registered allows an angler with a New Hampshire recreational saltwater license or a saltwater for-19

hire vessel with a for-hire license from New Hampshire to recreationally take, possess, or transport20

finfish in that state’s coastal and estuarine waters. 21

(d) In this paragraph:22

(1)  “Coastal and estuarine waters” means all waters within the rise and fall of the 23

tide, and water below any fishway or dam which is normally the dividing line between tide water24

and fresh water, or below any tidal bound which has been legally established in streams flowing into25

the sea under the jurisdiction of the state.26

(2)  “For-hire vessel” means a party boat, charter boat, dive boat, head boat, or other 27

boat hired by persons to engage in recreational saltwater fishing opportunities.28

(3)  “Recreational saltwater fishing” means taking of any marine finfish, by any 29

means for personal use only and which are not sold.30

(4)  “Charter boat” means a vessel less than 100 gross tons (90.8 metric tons) that 31

meets the requirements of the U.S. Coast Guard to carry 6 or fewer passengers for hire.32

(5) “Party boat” or “head boat” means a vessel that holds a valid Certificate of 33

Inspection issued by the U.S. Coast Guard to carry passengers for hire.34

(e) The following fees shall apply:35

(1) $15 for resident and nonresident individuals.36

(2) $75 for charter boats and other for-hire vessels, except party boats.37
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(3) $150 for party boats.1

(f) The executive director shall adopt rules under RSA 541-A on the further definitions,2

criteria, and requirements for obtaining the licenses under this paragraph.3

134 License Required; Marine Species Added. Amend RSA 214:1 to read as follows:4

214:1 License Required. No person, except as hereinafter provided, shall at any time fish, hunt,5

trap, shoot, pursue, take or kill freshwater fish, marine and estuarine finfish species, saltwater6

smelt, saltwater shad, saltwater salmonoids, wild birds, or wild animals in this state, without first7

procuring a proper and valid license to do so, and then only in accordance with the terms of such8

license and subject to all the provisions of this title. The licensee shall carry such license on his or9

her person when so engaged, and the license shall be subject to inspection on demand of any person.10

135 Licenses for Aged Persons. Amend RSA 214:6 to read as follows:11

214:6 Licenses for Aged Persons. Any resident of this state who is over 65 years of age and who12

is receiving public aid may, upon presentation of proof of such aid, make application to the executive13

director of fish and game for a special license to [fish] take, and to transport fish [and saltwater14

smelt], under the restrictions of this title. Such license shall be marked in such manner as the15

executive director may designate and there shall be no fee for such license.16

136 Fishing License; Saltwater Species Removed. Amend RSA 214:9, II to read as follows:17

II. If the applicant is a resident of this state and wishes to fish, $33, and the agent shall18

thereupon issue a resident fishing license, which shall entitle the licensee to kill, take and transport19

all species of freshwater fish, [saltwater smelt, saltwater shad, and saltwater salmonoids] under the20

restrictions of this title.21

137 One-Day Fishing License; Saltwater Species Removed. Amend RSA 214:9, II-b to read as22

follows:23

II-b. If the applicant is a resident of this state and wishes to fish for one day, $8, and the24

agent shall thereupon issue a one-day resident fishing license, which shall entitle the licensee to kill,25

take, and transport all species of freshwater fish[, saltwater smelt, saltwater shad, and saltwater26

salmonoids], for said time only, under the restrictions of this title.27

138 Hunting and Fishing License; Saltwater Species Removed. Amend RSA 214:9, III to read as28

follows:29

III. If the applicant is a resident of this state and wishes to hunt and fish, $44, and the agent30

shall thereupon issue a resident hunting and fishing license, which shall entitle the licensee to hunt,31

shoot, kill or take, except by use of traps, and to transport wild birds, wild animals, and all species32

of freshwater fish[, saltwater smelt, saltwater shad, and saltwater salmonoids] under the restrictions33

of this title.34

139 Hunting and Fishing License; Saltwater Species Removed. Amend RSA 214:9, VI-a to read35

as follows:36

VI-a. If the applicant is a nonresident and wishes to hunt and fish, $139, and the agent shall37
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thereupon issue a nonresident hunting and fishing license, which shall entitle the licensee to hunt,1

shoot, kill, or take, except by use of traps, and to transport wild birds, wild animals, and all species2

of freshwater fish[, saltwater smelt, saltwater shad, and saltwater salmonids] under the restrictions3

of this title.4

140 Nonresident Fishing License; Saltwater Species Removed. Amend the introductory5

paragraph of RSA 214:9, VIII to read as follows:6

VIII. If the applicant is a nonresident, 16 years of age or older, and wishes to take any7

species of freshwater fish[, saltwater smelt, saltwater shad, or saltwater salmonoids], $51, and the8

agent shall thereupon issue a nonresident fishing license which shall entitle the licensee to kill, take9

and transport all species of freshwater fish[, saltwater smelt, saltwater shad, and saltwater10

salmonoids,] under the restrictions of this title, provided that:11

141 References Changed; Special License for Persons Over 68 Years of Age. Amend RSA 214:7-a12

to read as follows:13

214:7-a Persons Over 68 Years of Age. Any resident of this state who is 68 years of age or over14

may make application, to any authorized agent of the state for the sale of freshwater fishing,15

hunting or trapping licenses, for a special license to fish[,] in freshwaters and hunt or trap, under16

the restrictions of this title. Such license may permit the use of a muzzle-loading firearm and bow17

and arrow. The license shall be marked in such manner as the executive director may designate,18

and there shall be no fee, including the agent’s fee, for such license.  The license shall be effective for 19

the resident during the remainder of the resident’s life, as long as the applicant remains a resident of 20

the state, unless sooner suspended or revoked by the executive director. The minimum residency21

requirements of RSA 214:7-b are applicable.22

142 Lifetime Licenses. Amend RSA 214:9-c, I(a) to read as follows:23

I.(a) The executive director, at the department of fish and game headquarters only, shall24

issue lifetime hunting, freshwater fishing, or combination hunting and freshwater fishing licenses25

similar to that issued on an annual basis under RSA 214:9, III to any resident applicant upon26

payment of the proper fee, which shall be established by the executive director in accordance with27

the provisions of paragraph II.28

143 Repeal. The following are repealed:29

I. RSA 211:47, relative to an exception for fishing from the Piscataqua river.30

II. RSA 214:1-a, relative to ice fishing on Great Bay.31

144 Registration Fees. Amend RSA 270-E:5, I to read as follows:32

I. The registration fees for commercial, private, and pleasure vessels, including rentals and33

airboats shall be as follows:34

(a) Up to and including 16 feet [$12] $2435

(b) 16.1 feet to 21 feet [$17] $3436

(c) 21.1 feet to 30 feet [$26] $5237
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(d) 30.1 feet to 45 feet [$36] $721

(e) 45.1 feet and over [$46] $922

145 Lake Restoration and Preservation Fee. Amend RSA 270-E:5, II(a) to read as follows:3

(a) [$5] $7.50 for each registration specified in paragraph I. The fees collected under this4

subparagraph shall be paid into the lake restoration and preservation fund established under5

RSA 487:25.6

146 Agent Fee. Amend RSA 270-E:5, II(c) to read as follows:7

(c) [$1.50] $5 for each registration processed by an authorized agent of the department8

who is not an employee of the department. The fees collected under this subparagraph shall be9

collected and retained by the authorized agent as compensation for processing the registration.10

147 Transfer Fee. Amend RSA 270-E:10 to read as follows:11

270-E:10 Notice of Transfer; Destruction or Abandonment. The owner shall furnish the12

department written notice of the transfer of all or any part of his or her interest, other than the13

creation of a security interest, in a vessel registered in this state pursuant to this chapter or the14

destruction or abandonment of such vessel within 15 days of its transfer, destruction, or15

abandonment. Such transfer, destruction, or abandonment shall terminate the certificate of16

numbers for such vessel, except that in the case of a transfer of a part interest which does not affect17

the owner’s rights to operate such vessel, the transfer shall not terminate the certificate of numbers.18

If a vessel is transferred, the original number shall be retained by the new owner. A person who19

transfers the ownership of a vessel, upon filing a new application, may have another boat registered20

in his or her name for the remainder of the period for which the vessel is registered for [$3] $5.21

148 Commercial Vessels; Penalty and License Fees. Amend RSA 270-E:22 and RSA 270-E:23 to22

read as follows:23

270-E:22 Commercial Vessels; Penalty.24

I. Any person who shall use any commercial vessel or commercial outboard motor on any25

public waters in this state without a certificate of inspection, or shall act as captain, master, pilot,26

engineer or operator on any such boat or launch without having passed an examination27

administered by the department and having been [examined and] certified by the department28

in that capacity, or shall so act when his or her certificate has been revoked or suspended, or who29

shall violate any rule adopted by the department with reference to the inspection, equipment, or30

operation of such vessels or launches, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor if a natural person, or guilty31

of a felony if any other person.32

II. The commissioner, after hearing, may revoke or suspend the certificate of any captain,33

master, pilot, or engineer of any commercial vessel for violation of RSA 270 or the rules and34

regulations prescribed thereunder.35

III. All licenses to operate a commercial vessel shall expire [the second December 3136

following] 5 years from the date of issuance.37
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IV. A person who possesses a valid license issued by the federal government shall be deemed1

to comply with this section.2

270-E:23 License Fees. There shall be paid to the commissioner for every [general] certificate of3

captain, master, pilot, or engineer, [$4] $15[; and for every limited certificate of captain, master,4

pilot, or engineer, $2]. A [general] certificate shall entitle the holder thereof to act in the capacity5

named on any vessel of the class described in the certificate[; a limited certificate shall entitle the6

holder to act in such capacity only on a particular vessel named in the certificate]. Only one7

certificate shall be required to entitle the holder thereof to act in any or all of the above capacities on8

any motorized vessel permitted to carry a maximum of 25 persons. If a person fails the9

examination required by RSA 270-E:22, I, the person may retake the examination for a fee10

of $10 paid to the commissioner. The fees paid for re-examinations and for certificates issued11

under this section shall be deposited in the navigation safety fund established under RSA 270-E:6-a.12

149 Addition to Boat Fee. Amend RSA 487:25, I to read as follows:13

I. The fee of [$5] $7.50 collected under the provisions of RSA 270-E:5, II(a) shall be paid to14

the director of the division of motor vehicles. The director of the division of motor vehicles shall pay15

over said fee to the state treasurer who shall keep the fee in a special fund to be expended by the16

department of environmental services. The department shall use $.50 of the fee for lake restoration17

and preservation measures, exclusive of exotic aquatic weed control, [$1.50] $3 of the fee for the18

control of exotic aquatic weeds, and [$3] $4 of the fee for the milfoil and other exotic aquatic plants19

prevention program. The department shall deposit the [$3] $4 into a special account within the lake20

restoration and preservation fund which shall be used to administer the milfoil and other exotic21

aquatic plants prevention program. The special fund shall be nonlapsing. All funds received under22

this section are continually appropriated to the department for the purposes of this subdivision.23

150 Registration Fees. RSA 270-E:5, I is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:24

I. The registration fees for commercial, private, and pleasure vessels, including rentals and25

airboats shall be as follows:26

(a) Up to and including 16 feet $1227

(b) 16.1 feet to 21 feet $1728

(c) 21.1 feet to 30 feet $2629

(d) 30.1 feet to 45 feet $3630

(e) 45.1 feet and over $4631

151 Department of Safety; Bureau of Marine Patrol; Report. The commissioner of the32

department of safety shall report on the fee revenues and operating costs for fiscal years 2013 and33

2014, and the anticipated capital costs for the next decade, of the bureau of marine patrol, division of34

safety services, to the chairpersons of the house and senate ways and means committees on or before35

September 1, 2015.36

152 New Section; Outdoor Advertising; Liquor Stores. Amend RSA 236 by inserting after37
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section 73-a the following new section:1

236:73-b Liquor Stores. The department of transportation shall design, locate, and erect along2

state highways suitable signs to advertise nearby state liquor stores.3

153 Chartered Public Schools. No new chartered public schools shall be approved by the state4

board of education under the provisions of RSA 194-B:3-a between July 1, 2009 and June 30, 2011.5

154 Task Force Established. There is established a task force on state funding for the Virtual6

Learning Academy Charter School.7

155 Membership and Compensation.8

I. The members of the task force shall be as follows:9

(a) Three members of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the10

house of representatives.11

(b) Two members of the senate, appointed by the president of the senate.12

(c) The commissioner of the department of education, or designee.13

(d) The chief executive officer of the Virtual Learning Academy Charter School.14

(e) The executive director of the New Hampshire School Boards Association, or designee.15

(f) The executive director of the New Hampshire School Administrators Association, or16

designee.17

II. Legislative members of the task force shall receive mileage at the legislative rate when18

attending to the duties of the task force.19

156 Duties. The task force shall study the state funding for the Virtual Learning Academy20

Charter School. In its study, the task force shall examine the following questions:21

I. What is the cost to the state for students who are dual-enrolled at their local school and22

with the Virtual Learning Academy Charter School?23

II. What are the savings to the state and the sending district for students who are dual-24

enrolled at their local school and with the Virtual Learning Academy Charter School?25

III. What are the steps necessary to provide continued support to the Virtual Learning26

Academy Charter School in a manner that eliminates dual payment by the state and is fair and27

equitable to school districts?28

IV. What are the Virtual Learning Academy Charter School’s costs per student in providing29

courses and how, if at all, do those costs change based on the number of students enrolled in each30

course?31

157  Chairperson; Quorum.  The commissioner of education, or the commissioner’s designee, 32

shall serve as chairperson of the task force. The first meeting of the task force shall be called by the33

chairperson. The first meeting of the task force shall be held within 45 days of the effective date of34

this section. Five members of the task force shall constitute a quorum.35

158 Report. The task force shall report its findings, the results of its study, and any36

recommendations for state funding of the Virtual Learning Academy Charter School, to the speaker37
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of the house of representatives, the president of the senate, the house clerk, the senate clerk, the1

chairpersons of the house and senate finance committees and the house and senate education2

committees, the joint legislative oversight committee established in RSA 194-B:21, the governor, and3

the state library on or before December 15, 2009.4

159 Department of Health and Human Services; Division of Family Assistance; Employment5

Support Program; Transportation. The department of health and human services, division of family6

assistance, shall withdraw its request for proposals for transportation for the employment support7

program for the biennium ending June 30, 2011 issued prior to the effective date of this section. The8

division shall issue a new request for proposals for transportation for the employment support9

program for the biennium ending June 30, 2011 after evaluating the feasibility of an ownership10

option that involves providing down payments for purchases of new motor vehicles.11

160 Department of Health and Human Services; Catastrophic Aid Program. The department of12

health and human services shall submit to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services a13

Medicaid state plan amendment for the purpose of defining the criteria by which catastrophic claims14

payments will be made to reflect only those claims with diagnostic related group (DRG) weights15

greater than 4.0 and lengths of stay greater than 30 days to support the most medically16

complex/high acuity cases. Funds are to be used to provide for additional inpatient payments17

outside of the DRG system where the DRG payment plus any other insurance is below 25 percent of18

hospital charge. The total funds available for catastrophic claims shall equal 3.3 percent of the19

projected annual inpatient expenditure. Reimbursement shall be limited to 65 percent of charges,20

reduced by prior payments, DRG allowed amounts, and third party insurance. The state shall21

expend half of the catastrophic fund no later than December 31 of each year and the second half no22

later than June 30 of each year. Claims shall be submitted to the New Hampshire Medicaid23

program by December 15 and June 15 for the respective 6-month periods in order to be considered24

for catastrophic payment. Claims shall be paid based upon date of service until catastrophic funds25

for that 6-month period are exhausted. No claims or portions of claims shall be carried over into the26

subsequent 6-month period, nor shall excess funds be carried over into the subsequent 6-month27

period.28

161 Bureau of Elderly and Adult Services; Nursing Services. For the fiscal year ending June 30,29

2009, the appropriations contained in 2007, 262:1 in PAU 05-01-08-04-01, class 90 nursing services30

and class 87 home health services shall be nonlapsing, and any balance remaining at the end of the31

fiscal year shall be paid to nursing homes and home health services providers as additional rates.32

The additional rates shall be based on the rate-setting methodology in effect on the effective date of33

this section. The commissioner shall file a report with the fiscal committee of the general court by34

October 1, 2009 which details the balance carried forward from fiscal year 2009 and the amounts to35

be paid as additional rates.36

162 Committee to Study the Organizational Structure of the Liquor Commission.37
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I. There is established a committee to study the organizational structure of the liquor1

commission.2

II.(a) The members of the committee shall be as follows:3

(1) Two members of the senate, appointed by the president of the senate.4

(2) Three members of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the5

house of representatives.6

(b) Members of the committee shall receive mileage at the legislative rate when7

attending to the duties of the committee.8

III. The committee shall study the organizational structure of the liquor commission,9

including but not limited to having an executive director and the appropriate placement of liquor10

licensing and enforcement functions.11

IV. The members of the study committee shall elect a chairperson from among the members.12

The first meeting of the committee shall be called by the first-named senate member. The first13

meeting of the committee shall be held within 45 days of the effective date of this section. Three14

members of the committee shall constitute a quorum.15

V. The committee shall report its findings and any recommendations for proposed legislation16

to the president of the senate, the speaker of the house of representatives, the senate clerk, the17

house clerk, the governor, and the state library on or before December 1, 2009.18

163 Divisions and Directors. Amend RSA 176:8 to read as follows:19

176:8 Divisions and Directors. The commission shall have 3 divisions under the direction of20

unclassified division directors. The directors shall be appointed by the commission and serve at the21

pleasure of the commission based on good behavior and competence. There shall be a division of22

marketing, merchandising, and warehousing, a division of administration, and a division of23

[enforcement and] licensing.24

164 References Changed. Amend RSA 178:11, V to read as follows:25

V. Liquor/wine/beverage warehousers shall submit a monthly report both to the liquor26

commission [enforcement and] licensing division and the marketing, merchandising, and27

warehousing division of the commission by the tenth day of the following month indicating the28

quantity, type, size, and brands of all product received, stored, or shipped on their premises.29

165 Closing of State Stores. Amend RSA 177:2, II to read as follows:30

II. In order to properly reflect the operating expenses of each state store, the commission31

shall prepare annually an indirect cost allocation plan for all indirect operating expenses of the32

commission. All such expenses of the commission, with the exception of the [enforcement and]33

licensing division operating expenses, shall be included in the plan and allocated to all state stores34

on a consistent, rational basis. The indirect cost allocation plan for each fiscal year shall be35

submitted to the fiscal committee and the governor and council for approval, no later than 3 months36

before the start of each fiscal year.37
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166 Reference Changed. Amend RSA 178:22, V(h)(12) to read as follows:1

(12) Violations of subparagraph (11) of this subparagraph shall be investigated by2

the [enforcement division of the liquor commission] department of safety and directed to the3

department of justice for examination of issues unrelated to this title.4

167 Reference Deleted. Amend RSA 178:22, V(l)(4) to read as follows:5

(4) No license shall be issued under subparagraph (l)(1) for premises holding other6

licenses issued by the commission except rental facilities on licensed club premises approved by the7

commission. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the commission [or its investigators] may8

suspend without warning any license issued under subparagraph (l)(1) if, in their opinion, such sale9

of liquor and beverages is contrary to the public interest.10

168 Reference Deleted. Amend RSA 178:30, IX to read as follows:11

IX. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the commission [or its investigators] may12

suspend, without warning, any license issued under paragraph I, if in their opinion, such continued13

sale or service of alcoholic beverages is contrary to the public interest.14

169 Limited Credits. Amend RSA 179:13, V to read as follows:15

V. Each wholesale distributor, brew pub licensee, or beverage manufacturer shall notify any16

retailer reported to the commission pursuant to RSA 179:13, I who is delinquent in making payment17

of accounts. Notification shall be delivered in writing to the licensee by a representative of the18

wholesaler, brew pub licensee, or beverage manufacturer. Proof of notification shall be forwarded to19

the commission, [whose enforcement division] who shall issue an administrative notice for a20

violation of the provisions of RSA 179:13, I [and shall forward a report of violation for administrative21

action]. Any license issued to any business violating the provisions of RSA 179:13, I may be22

suspended by the commission for nonpayment of accounts which are delinquent more than 15 days23

from the date of the wholesale distributor's, brew pub licensee's, or beverage manufacturer's24

notification, providing the requirements of this section have been met.25

170 Reference Changed. Amend RSA 179:15 to read as follows:26

179:15 Transportation of Beverages and Wine. A person may transport or deliver beverages and27

wines in this state without a license, provided such beverages and wines were obtained as authorized28

by this title and provided such beverages and wines are for consumption only and not for resale29

purposes. Licensees may transport and deliver to their place of business beverages and wines30

purchased as authorized under this title, and, except on-premises licensees, may transport and31

deliver anywhere in the state such beverages and wines ordered from and sold by them in vehicles32

operated under the control of themselves or of their employees or agents, provided that the owner of33

such vehicles shall carry a copy of the license issued by the commission in the vehicle driven on34

behalf of the licensee for whom they are transporting such beverages and wines. Every person35

operating such a vehicle, when engaged in such transportation or delivery, shall carry a copy of the36

license in the vehicle so operated, and shall carry such evidence as the commission by rule may37
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prescribe showing the origin and destination of the beverages and wines being transported or1

delivered. Upon demand of any law enforcement officer, investigator, or employee of the2

[commission] department of safety, the person operating such vehicle shall produce for inspection a3

copy of the license and the evidence required by this section. Failure to produce such license or4

evidence shall constitute prima facie evidence of unlawful transportation. Except as otherwise5

provided, beverages and wines may be transported within the state only by a railroad or steamboat6

corporation or by a person regularly and lawfully conducting a general express or trucking business,7

and in each case holding a valid carrier's license issued by the commission. Nothing in this section8

shall prohibit individual retail licensees from arranging for the delivery of wine products to a9

location central for the parties involved.10

171 Reference Deleted. Amend RSA 179:35 to read as follows:11

179:35 Retention of Invoices and Sale and Delivery Slips. All invoices, sales slips, and delivery12

slips, current and covering a period of 60 days prior to the current date pertaining to purchases of13

beverages and liquor shall be retained by the licensee on the premises or be readily available for14

examination by the [commission or its liquor investigators] department of safety.15

172 References Deleted. Amend the section heading of RSA 179:56 and RSA 179:56, I to read as16

follows:17

179:56 Hearings; [Investigations;] False Statement; Enforcement Policy.18

I. The commission shall adopt and publish rules pursuant to RSA 541-A, to govern its19

proceedings and to regulate the mode and manner of all [investigations and] hearings before it. All20

hearings before the commission shall be in accordance with RSA 541-A:31-36. In any such21

[investigation or] hearing the commission shall not be bound by the technical rules of evidence. The22

commission, or any member, may subpoena witnesses and administer oaths in any proceeding or23

examination instituted before or conducted by it, and may compel, by subpoena, the production of24

any accounts, books, contracts, records, documents, memoranda, and papers of any kind whatever.25

Witnesses summoned before the superior court, and such summons issued by any justice of the peace26

shall have the same effect as though issued for appearance before such court.27

173 Prosecutions. Amend RSA 179:59 to read as follows:28

179:59 Prosecutions. [The commission shall appoint liquor investigators whose primary29

function shall be the proper prosecution of this title. The liquor investigators shall have all the30

powers of the sheriff in any county, with reference to enforcement of all laws either in cooperation31

with, or independently of, the officers of any county or town.] The [commission] department of32

safety shall have the primary responsibility for the enforcement of all liquor and beverage laws upon33

premises where liquor and beverages are lawfully sold, stored, distributed, or manufactured. Any34

person violating the provisions of any law may be prosecuted by the [commission or any of its35

investigators as provided in this section] department of safety, or by county or city attorneys, or by36

sheriffs or their deputies, or by police officials of towns.37



Committee of Conference Report on HB 2-FN-A-LOCAL
- Page 58 -

174 Repeal. The following are repealed:1

I. RSA 176:9, relative to liquor investigators.2

II. RSA 179:60, relative to interference with liquor investigators.3

175 Transfer of Functions, Positions, Equipment, Records, and Accounts; Rules Continued.4

I. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, all of the functions, positions,5

powers, duties, responsibilities, and funding of the liquor commission used for enforcement of6

alcoholic beverage laws shall be transferred to the department of safety on July 1, 2010. The7

transfer provided in this section shall include all of the equipment, books, papers, and records of the8

liquor commission related to enforcement functions.9

II. All existing rules, statutory responsibilities, regulations, and procedures relating to10

enforcement in effect, in operation, or adopted in or by the liquor commission are transferred to the11

department of safety, and are declared in effect and shall continue in effect until rescinded, revised,12

or amended in accordance with applicable law.13

III. If the committee to study the organizational structure of the liquor commission14

established under section 162 of this act determines that the transfer of liquor enforcement functions15

to the department of safety from the liquor commission requires the creation of any additional16

enforcement or licensing positions or results in the need for any new appropriations in excess of the17

amounts appropriated for fiscal year 2011, then the committee shall recommend that legislation be18

introduced to transfer the liquor enforcement functions back to the liquor commission.19

176 New Paragraphs; Certification of Reduced Ignition Propensity Cigarettes. Amend RSA 339-20

F:6 by inserting after paragraph III the following new paragraphs:21

IV. If a manufacturer has certified a cigarette pursuant to paragraph II, and thereafter22

makes any change to the cigarette that is likely to alter its compliance with the reduced cigarette23

ignition propensity standard under RSA 339-F:3, such cigarette shall not be sold or offered for sale in24

this state until the manufacturer retests the cigarette in accordance with the testing standards in25

RSA 339-F:3 and maintains records of the retesting as required by RSA 339:F-5. Any altered26

cigarette that does not meet the performance standard in RSA 339-F:4 shall not be sold in this state.27

V. For each cigarette listed for certification a manufacturer shall pay a fee of $250 to the28

department of safety for deposit in the fire standards and training and emergency medical services29

fund established in RSA 21-P:12-d for the purpose of providing fire safety education pursuant to30

RSA 153:10-c.31

VI. For each cigarette re-certified under this chapter a manufacturer shall pay a fee of $25032

to the department of safety for deposit in the fire standards and training and emergency medical33

services fund established in RSA 21-P:12-d for the purpose of providing fire safety education34

pursuant to RSA 153:10-c.35

177 Tobacco Tax; Definition of Tobacco Products. Amend RSA 78:1, XIV to read as follows:36

XIV.“Tobacco products”means cigarettes, loose tobacco, [and] smokeless tobacco, snuff, and37
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cigars, but shall not include premium cigars.1

178 New Paragraph; Definition of Premium Cigars. Amend RSA 78:1 by inserting after2

paragraph XX the following new paragraph:3

XXI.  “Premium cigars” means cigars which are made entirely by hand of all natural tobacco4

leaf, hand constructed and hand wrapped, wholesaling for $2 or more, and weighing more than5

3 pounds per 1000 cigars. These cigars shall be kept in a humidor at the proper humidity.6

179 Tobacco Tax Imposed on Tobacco Products Other Than Cigarettes. Amend RSA 78:7-c to7

read as follows:8

78:7-c Tax Imposed on Tobacco Products Other Than Cigarettes. A tax upon the retail consumer9

is hereby imposed on tobacco products other than cigarettes at a rate of [19] 48.59 percent of the10

wholesale sales price. The tax under this section may be rounded to the nearest cent if the11

commissioner determines that the amount of tax would not thereby be made materially12

disproportionate. No such tax is imposed on any transactions, the taxation of which by this state is13

prohibited by the Constitution of the United States. No such tax shall be imposed on premium14

cigars.15

180 Transfers Authorized to Fund Information Technology Related Projects. Notwithstanding16

any provision of law to the contrary, departments, agencies, and branches may transfer moneys from17

any class line, except from personnel and benefit class lines, within their approved budgets to class18

line 027 to fund information technology related projects which would not otherwise be funded.19

181 Department of Information Technology; Transfers Among Accounts. Notwithstanding the20

provisions of RSA 9:17-a or any other provision of law to the contrary, the department of information21

technology may, subject to the approval of the fiscal committee of the general court, transfer funds22

within and among all accounting units within said department as necessary for the efficient23

management of the department.24

182 Representation of Defendants. Amend RSA 604-A:1 to read as follows:25

604-A:1 Representation of Defendants. The purpose of this chapter is to provide adequate26

representation for indigent defendants in criminal cases, as a precondition of imprisonment, and27

indigent juveniles charged with being delinquent in any court of this state. Representation of28

juveniles shall include all court ordered representation and shall be paid from funds29

appropriated for indigent defense pursuant to this chapter. Representation shall include30

counsel and investigative, expert and other services and expenses, including process to compel the31

attendance of witnesses, as may be necessary for an adequate defense before the courts of this state.32

183 Neglected or Abused Children. Amend RSA 604-A:1-a to read as follows:33

604-A:1-a Neglected or Abused Children. In cases involving a neglected or abused child, when a34

guardian ad litem is appointed for the child as provided in RSA 169-C:10, the cost of such35

appointment shall be paid from funds appropriated for indigent defense pursuant to this chapter. In36

cases involving a neglected or abused child, when an attorney is appointed to represent a37
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parent determined to be indigent pursuant to RSA 169-C:10, II, the cost of such1

appointment shall be paid from funds appropriated for indigent defense pursuant to this2

chapter.3

184 New Paragraph; Department of Corrections; Internal Organizational Units. Amend4

RSA 21-H:4 by inserting after paragraph VI the following new paragraph:5

VII. The division of community corrections, under the supervision of a director of community6

corrections, who shall:7

(a) Direct and oversee departmental services for inmates preparing for release from8

institutional settings into the community.9

(b) Direct and oversee departmental services for individuals under probation or parole10

supervision in order to achieve stability within the community and reduce recidivism.11

(c) Operate and administer all transitional work and housing units where inmates are12

assigned for minimum security and work release.13

(d) Serve as the primary liaison between the department and community-based service14

providers, state courts, and municipal, county, and state entities with common issues and15

responsibilities, including substance abuse and mental health issues.16

(e) Work with the department of justice and other state and federal agencies to identify,17

secure, and manage grant funds to supplement services available to offenders under departmental18

supervision, including but not limited to housing and employment assistance, substance abuse19

treatment, mental health treatment, and medical and prescription services.20

185 New Paragraph; Commissioner and Other Department Officials; Appointment. Amend21

RSA 21-H:6 by inserting after paragraph IV the following new paragraph:22

IV-a. The commissioner shall nominate for appointment by the governor, with the consent of23

the council, a director of community corrections who shall serve at the pleasure of the commissioner.24

186 Department of Corrections; Qualifications and Compensation of Certain Officials. Amend25

RSA 21-H:7, I to read as follows:26

I. The commissioner, assistant commissioner, professional standards director, director of27

security and training, director of community corrections, and the division directors of the28

department shall be qualified to hold such positions by reason of education and experience.29

187 Department of Corrections; Qualifications and Compensation of Certain Officials. Amend30

RSA 21-H:7, III to read as follows:31

III. The salaries of the commissioner, assistant commissioner, professional standards32

director, director of security and training, director of community corrections, and the division33

directors of the department shall be as specified in RSA 94:1-a.34

188 Department of Corrections; Status in Retirement System. Amend RSA 21-H:8-a to read as35

follows:36

21-H:8-a [Assistant Commissioner;] Status in Retirement System. For purposes of classification37
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under RSA 100-A, the assistant commissioner, professional standards director, director of1

community corrections, and director of security and training of the department of corrections shall2

be considered permanent policemen if such individuals were permanent police members of group II3

for at least 10 years prior to appointment in their respective positions, and continue to be certified as4

police officers under RSA 188-F:26 and 188-F:27.5

189 Compensation of Certain State Officers; Salaries Established. Amend RSA 94:1-a, I(b) as6

follows:7

Delete:8

HH Department of corrections warden, Lakes Region facility9

190 Salary for Director of Community Corrections. The salary for the unclassified position of10

director of community corrections established in this act shall be determined in accordance with11

RSA 14:14-c.12

191 Department of Corrections; Director of Community Corrections. The commissioner of the13

department of corrections shall make a report detailing statistical information related to the14

implementation of the division of community corrections to the president of the senate, the speaker15

of the house of representatives, and the chairpersons of the house and senate finance committees on16

or before November 1, 2010. The report shall include, but not be limited to statistical information17

detailing the impact on inmate population, recidivism, and savings attributable to the18

implementation of the division of community corrections.19

192 New Paragraph; Court Fees. Amend RSA 490:26-a by inserting after paragraph II the20

following new paragraph:21

II-a. The supreme court may establish by rule an equitable fee of not less than $25 to be22

added to a fine whenever a court extends the time for the payment of the fine. An equitable fee23

assessed by a court under this paragraph shall be paid prior to or simultaneously with the payment24

of the fine.25

193 Department of Safety and Department of Health and Human Services; Transfer of Federally26

Funded Employees. Upon the request of the commissioner of the department of health and human27

services, the commissioner of the department of safety is authorized, with approval of the fiscal28

committee of the general court and governor and council, to transfer to the department of health and29

human services any or all employees currently employed at the department of safety, division of30

homeland security and emergency management, funded by federal funds and engaged in duties31

related to bioterrorism and public health emergency planning along with their associated32

appropriations, supplies, and equipment as the commissioners mutually agree would enhance the33

efficiency and effectiveness of the program.34

194 Pistols and Revolvers; License to Carry. Amend RSA 159:6, I to read as follows:35

I. The selectmen of a town or the mayor or chief of police of a city or some full-time police36

officer designated by them respectively, upon application of any resident of such town or city, or the37
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director of state police, or some person designated by such director, upon application of a1

nonresident, shall issue a license to such applicant authorizing the applicant to carry a loaded pistol2

or revolver in this state for not less than 4 years from the date of issue, if it appears that the3

applicant has good reason to fear injury to the applicant’s person or property or has any proper4

purpose, and that the applicant is a suitable person to be licensed. Hunting, target shooting, or self-5

defense shall be considered a proper purpose. The license shall be valid for all allowable purposes6

regardless of the purpose for which it was originally issued. The license shall be in duplicate and7

shall bear the name, address, description, and signature of the licensee. The original shall be8

delivered to the licensee and the duplicate shall be preserved by the people issuing the same for 49

years. When required, license renewal shall take place within the month of the fourth anniversary10

of the license holder’s date of birth following the date of issuance. The license shall be issued within11

14 days after application, and, if such application is denied, the reason for such denial shall be stated12

in writing, the original of which such writing shall be delivered to the applicant, and a copy kept in13

the office of the person to whom the application was made. The fee for licenses issued to residents of14

the state shall be $10, which fee shall be for the use of the law enforcement department of the town15

or city granting said licenses; the fee for licenses granted to out-of-state residents shall be [$20]16

$100, which fee shall be for the use of the state. The director of state police is hereby authorized and17

directed to prepare forms for the licenses required under this chapter and forms for the application18

for such licenses and to supply the same to officials of the cities and towns authorized to issue the19

licenses. No other forms shall be used by officials of cities and towns. The cost of the forms shall be20

paid out of the fees received from nonresident licenses.21

195 Vanity Number Plates. Amend RSA 261:89 to read as follows:22

261:89 Vanity Number Plates. The director is hereby authorized to design and to issue, under23

such rules as [he shall deem] the director deems appropriate, vanity number plates to be used on24

motor vehicles in lieu of other number plates. Such number plates shall be of such design and shall25

bear such letters or letters and numbers as the director shall prescribe, but there shall be no26

duplication of identification. Such number plates or a changeable designation of the effective period27

thereof, as the director shall determine, shall be issued only upon application therefor and upon28

payment of a special vanity plate service fee of [$25] $40, said special fee to be in addition to the29

regular motor vehicle registration fee and any other number plate manufacturing fee otherwise30

required by law for the particular vehicle. Plates shall be renewed on an annual basis for $4031

per set. All special fees collected under this section shall be paid to the state treasurer and32

distributed as provided by RSA 263:52.33

196 New Subparagraph; Registration Fees; Vanity Number Plates. Amend RSA 261:141, III by34

inserting after subparagraph (bb) the following new subparagraph:35

(cc) For each vanity number plate set—$40.36

197 Fees to be Collected. Amend RSA 261:141, VII(d) to read as follows:37
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(d) For vanity plate service fee—[$25] $40.1

198 Driver Training Fund. Amend RSA 263:52, I-II to read as follows:2

I. The proceeds from original license fees as provided in RSA 263:42 and [$5 from every3

special] the vanity plate service fee [for vanity number plates] collected in accordance with4

RSA 261:89, plus [such additional portion of] the [$25 special] fee for [vanity number plates or] the5

renewal of the use of such plates [as is needed to fully fund the driver training program for each6

fiscal year as determined by the general court pursuant to paragraph II], after costs of such plates or7

designation of effective periods thereof and issuance of same have been appropriated and deducted,8

shall be expended solely for courses of instruction and training in safe motor vehicle driving9

conducted in or under the supervision of secondary schools. After all costs of administration of the10

program each year of the biennium have been reserved, the balance which is appropriated to the11

driver training program shall be paid to the state treasurer by June 30 of each year. Such balance12

shall be kept in a separate fund which shall be paid out on or before September 15 of each year to13

participating schools prorated on a per-pupil basis for those who have completed the driver education14

program. Subject to final approval by the governor and council, the commissioner of safety jointly15

with the commissioner of education shall adopt pursuant to RSA 541-A and publish rules governing16

the courses of instruction and training and determining eligibility of secondary schools to receive17

moneys from the fund established by this section.18

II. [Of] The [$25 special] $40 vanity plate service fee [for] and the fee for renewal of19

vanity number plates[, $5] shall automatically be credited to the driver training fund[. The20

remaining part of the fee shall be deposited and accumulate in the vanity plate fund] until all fees in21

such fund equal the amount of money estimated by the general court as available for expenditure for22

the driver training program from that fund for that fiscal year, which shall include $150 for each23

pupil who has completed the driver education program. Once the legislative estimates have been24

matched for the current fiscal year, the balance of all such fees shall be transferred to the general25

fund and shall be available as unrestricted revenue.26

199 Repeal. RSA 263:52, III, relative to transfers from the vanity plate fund, is repealed.27

200 School Building Authority; State Guarantee. Amend RSA 195-C:2 to read as follows:28

195-C:2 State Guarantee. Upon the receipt of a report from the authority containing a29

recommendation that bonds or notes of a school district should be guaranteed by the state, the30

governor with the advice and consent of the council may award an unconditional state guarantee31

with respect to such bonds or notes in accordance with the authority's recommendation or in some32

lesser amount or percentage, or on the alternative basis of guarantee, as the best interests of the33

state may require. The full faith and credit of the state are and shall be pledged for any such34

guarantees, and the total outstanding amount of the principal of and interest on such bonds and35

notes which has been guaranteed by the state under this section shall at no time exceed36

[$30,000,000] $95,000,000. The governor, with the advice and consent of the council, is authorized37



Committee of Conference Report on HB 2-FN-A-LOCAL
- Page 64 -

to draw a warrant for such a sum out of any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated, for1

the purpose of honoring any guarantee awarded under this section. In the event that any state2

funds shall be so used, the state may recover the amount thereof as provided in RSA 530.3

201 New Section; State Bonds; Build America Bonds; Refundable Credit Payments. Amend RSA4

6-A by inserting after section 13 the following new section:5

6-A:14 Build America Bonds; Refundable Credit Payments. If the state treasurer issues any6

bonds of the state under this chapter or under RSA 237-A as “Build America Bonds,” as defined in 7

section 54AA of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, and elects to receive on behalf of the state the8

credit provided in section 6431 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, the state treasurer shall9

allocate such credit, when received, to the appropriate accounts pertaining to said bonds of the state,10

as determined by the state treasurer.11

202 Duties of Clerks; Disposition of Fines. RSA 502-A:8 is repealed and reenacted to read as12

follows:13

502-A:8 Duties of Clerks; Disposition of Fines. The clerk shall receive all fines and forfeitures14

paid into the district court from any source. The clerk of any district court may accept payment of15

the fine by credit card in lieu of cash payment. Any transaction costs assessed by the issuer of the16

credit card shall be paid out of the portion of the fine amount which is deposited with the treasurer17

and not out of the penalty assessment charged by a district court. The clerk shall forward fines18

collected for violations of title XXI to the treasurer for deposit in the highway fund and fines19

collected for violations of title LXII and all other statutes to the treasurer for deposit in the general20

fund within 14 days. The clerk shall separately indicate which fines were for violations of title XXI.21

Fines and forfeitures collected by the clerk for violations of municipal ordinances, codes, or22

regulations, except those adopted pursuant to RSA 31:39, I(g); RSA 41:11; RSA 47:17, IV, VI, VII, or23

VIII; and RSA 105:6 through RSA 105:7, shall be remitted monthly to the treasurer of the24

municipality prosecuting said violations, for the use of the municipality. All expenses related to the25

processing of parking violations and the administrative collection of parking fines shall be the26

responsibility of the local unit of government, and all fines collected shall be retained in their27

entirety by the local unit of government.28

203 Department of Health and Human Services; Manufacture and Sale of Beverages;29

Rulemaking. Amend 143:6, II(a) to read as follows:30

(a) Licenses, license classes, and fees under RSA 143:11 and RSA 143:12.31

204 Manufacture and Sale of Beverages. Amend RSA 143:12 to read as follows:32

143:12 Registration by Nonresident Vendors. No beverage or beverage concentrate, for retail33

sale, manufactured out of the state, shall be sold or offered for sale within the state unless the same34

has first been registered by its manufacturer or by the manufacturer's agent with the department of35

health and human services. Such registration shall be in form similar to that provided in36

RSA 143:11 and shall be issued subject to suspension, revocation, and cancellation as elsewhere37
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specified in this subdivision for licenses. An annual registration fee [of $140] established by rule1

under RSA 143:6, II(a), to defray the cost of inspection and analysis of all the products of the same2

manufacturing plant, shall be paid to the department of health and human services by the3

manufacturer, importer, agent, or vendor.4

205 Department of Health and Human Services; Homestead Food License. Amend RSA 143-5

A:12, II to read as follows:6

II. There is hereby established a 2-level homestead license. [For a level one license, a one-7

time fee of $25 shall be paid to the department of health and human services. The level 2 homestead8

license shall be based on gross sales.] Fees for each level shall be established by rule under9

RSA 143-A:13, V and shall not exceed the cost of license processing. It shall be unlawful for a10

processor or a manufacturer to operate a homestead without a homestead license as required under11

this subdivision. The commissioner and the commissioner of the department of agriculture, markets,12

and food shall administer the homestead licensure required under this subdivision.13

206 Department of Health and Human Services. Homestead Food License; Rulemaking.14

Amend RSA 143-A:13, V to read as follows:15

V. Fees for [a] level 1 and 2 [license] licenses, including application fees and fees for16

renewal.17

207 Food Protection Programs. The commissioner of the department of health and human18

services shall provide a list of fees imposed, total fees collected, and operating costs for state fiscal19

year 2010 for food protection programs established in RSA 143 and RSA 143-A to the house and20

senate ways and means committees no later than September 1, 2010.21

208 Heath Facilities; Licensure; Fees. RSA 151:5 is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:22

151:5 Licenses. Licenses issued hereunder shall expire one year after the date of issuance.23

Licenses shall be issued only for the premises and persons named in the application, and shall not be24

transferable or assignable. Licenses shall be posted in a conspicuous place on the licensed premises.25

Fees for an annual license shall be as follows:26

I. Hospitals; $25 per licensed bed.27

II. Specialty hospital-psychiatric; $25 per licensed bed.28

III. Specialty hospital-rehabilitation; $25 per licensed bed.29

IV. Nursing homes; $25 per licensed bed.30

V. Acute psychiatric residential treatment programs; $25 per licensed bed.31

VI. Residential treatment and rehabilitation facilities; $25 per licensed bed.32

VII. Hospice houses; $25 per licensed bed.33

VIII. Adult family care homes; $25 per licensed bed.34

IX. Residential and supported residential care; $15 per licensed bed.35

X. Home health hospice providers; $250.36

XI. Home health care providers; $250.37
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XII. Personal care providers:1

(a) Less than 10 clients; $100.2

(b) Ten (10) or more clients; $250.3

XIII. Outpatient clinics; $500.4

XIV. End stage renal dialysis centers; $500.5

XV. Ambulatory surgical centers; $500.6

XVI. Educational health centers; $500.7

XVII. Freestanding emergency rooms; $500.8

XVIII. Health promotion clinics; $500.9

XIX. Collecting stations; $250.10

XX. Adult day care centers; $200.11

XXI. Birthing centers; $150.12

XXII. Case management agencies; $150.13

XXIII. Laboratories; $150 per year for each category of testing licensed.14

209 Department of Health and Human Services; Prior Authorization of Wheelchair Van, Non-15

Emergency Ambulance, Occupational Therapy Services, and Methadone Clinic Services. The16

commissioner of health and human services shall submit Title XIX Medicaid state plan amendments17

to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to implement prior authorization of18

wheelchair van services, non-emergency ambulance services, occupational therapy services, and19

methadone clinic services effective July 1, 2009. Upon approval of said state plan amendments, and20

as of the effective date of the state plan amendments, all claims for wheelchair van services, non-21

emergency ambulance services, occupational therapy services, and methadone clinic service shall22

have an approved prior authorization prior to being paid with Medicaid funds. The commissioner23

shall adopt rules pursuant to RSA 541-A consistent with this section.24

210 Department of Health and Human Services; Contract for Medical Supplies and Equipment.25

The department of health and human services shall explore and implement opportunities to procure26

medical equipment and/or medical supplies in a manner that is cost efficient and maintains27

adequate access under the Medicaid state plan. This may include competitive procurement of28

certain items, redesigning the reimbursement structure to reflect commonly accepted methodologies,29

and other opportunities as identified.30

211 Community Mental Health Centers; Administrative Requirements Suspended. The31

commissioner of the department of health and human services shall submit a report to the oversight32

committee on health and human services established in RSA 126-A:13 by September 30, 2009,33

detailing administrative and reporting requirements for community mental health centers which34

may be suspended for the biennium ending June 30, 2011, without jeopardizing the public's health35

and safety. The oversight committee on health and human services shall review and approve the36

report prior to the implementation of any of the report’s recommendations.  The oversight committee 37
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may require revisions to the report as deemed necessary. The commissioner shall provide copies of1

the approved report to the chairpersons of the house and senate finance committees. Said report2

shall include, but not be limited to, the statutory or regulatory basis for each requirement, an3

assessment of the continued need, if any, for the requirement, an assessment of any potential impact4

on the clients served, and proposals for alternative ways to accomplish the original intent without5

further burdening the community mental health centers.6

212 Uncompensated Care Fund. RSA 167:64 and 167:65 are repealed and reenacted to read as7

follows:8

167:64 Uncompensated Care Fund.9

I. There is hereby established in the state treasury an uncompensated care fund which shall10

consist of the moneys collected pursuant to RSA 84-A. Investment earnings of the fund shall be11

credited to the fund. Moneys paid into the fund shall be exempt from any state budget reductions,12

and the commissioner is authorized to expend these funds, together with matching federal funds, as13

follows:14

(a) No less than 50 percent of the moneys paid into the fund shall be utilized to support15

uncompensated care in hospitals in accordance with rules adopted by the commissioner, pursuant to16

RSA 541-A.17

(b) The commissioner is hereby authorized and directed to develop and implement a18

schedule of payments for reimbursement of the uncompensated care costs of those hospitals that are19

subject to the tax liability imposed under RSA 84-A and that participate in the state Medicaid20

program. The schedule of payments to hospitals shall take effect on January 1, 2011, subject to the21

prior review and approval of the fiscal committee of the general court and the federal Centers for22

Medicare and Medicaid Services, and shall be structured in a manner that: (i) reduces to the23

greatest extent practicable the disproportionate impact among hospitals of uncompensated care24

costs; (ii) permits maximum available federal financial participation for these payments in25

accordance with Title XIX of the Social Security Act; and (iii) is consistent with all federal laws and26

regulations governing Title XIX disproportionate share hospital payment adjustments and27

permissible sources of state financial participation as provided for under 42 C.F.R. part 433.28

(c) For purposes of this section, uncompensated care costs shall include: charity care29

costs, any portion of Medicaid patient care costs that are unreimbursed by Medicaid payments, and30

any portion of bad debt costs that the commissioner determines would meet the criteria under 4231

U.S.C. section 1396r-4(g) governing hospital-specific limits on disproportionate share hospital32

payments under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.33

(d) The commissioner may provide reimbursement for uncompensated care costs in34

accordance with the approved schedule of payments through either Medicaid fee for service rate35

adjustments or disproportionate share hospital payment adjustments, or a combination thereof.36

Funds available under this section shall be first allocated to ensure that critical access hospitals and37
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rehabilitation hospitals receive reimbursement for reported uncompensated care costs at the rate of1

100 percent of the individual hospital limit for disproportionate share payments as determined by2

the commissioner consistent with the provisions of 42 U.S.C. section 1396r-4(g). Non-critical access3

hospitals shall receive reimbursement at the highest uniform percentage of each hospital limit as the4

funds made available under this section permit. The commissioner may create additional categories5

of need and make further reasonable distinctions among hospitals when determining the6

methodology for payments under this section, as necessary, to ensure that no hospital is unduly7

burdened by the fiscal effect of uncompensated care costs.8

(e) One percent of the payments made from the class lines in the budget of the office of9

the commissioner, department of health and human services, entitled “hospital disproportionate10

share,” “New Hampshire hospital disproportionate share,” and “hospital uncompensated care pool”11

shall be placed in a separate class line reserved for the expenses of the department in administering12

this subdivision.13

II. Moneys in the uncompensated care fund shall be continually appropriated to the14

department for the purposes of this subdivision.15

III. The balance of the moneys remaining in the fund at the end of each fiscal year shall16

lapse into the general fund.17

167:65 Duties of Commissioner. The commissioner shall:18

I. Develop the uncompensated care payment system in a manner that is consistent with the19

requirements of RSA 167:64 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act as amended and describe the20

system in an amendment to the state Medicaid plan.21

II. Seek input from the chairman of the senate health and human services committee, the22

chairman of the house health, human services and elderly affairs committee, the chairmen of the23

house and senate finance committees, the insurance department, and representatives of hospitals24

currently participating in the uncompensated care program in developing the uncompensated care25

payment system required under paragraph I, and present a report detailing all the options and26

making recommendations to the oversight committee on health and human services, established27

under RSA 126-A:13, not later than January 1, 2010.28

III. Submit the Medicaid state plan amendment and an estimate of the fiscal impact of such29

plan amendment to the fiscal committee of the general court for its review and approval prior to30

submission of the plan amendment to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and31

implementation of the plan.32

IV. Adopt rules pursuant to RSA 541-A, as necessary, to implement this system.33

213 Motor Fuel and Petroleum Products Transporter. Amend RSA 260:42, I to read as follows:34

I. Every person not registered as a distributor who transports motor fuel or products subject35

to the fees stipulated in RSA 146-A, to a point or points outside the state from a point or points36

within the state, to a point or points within the state from a point or points outside the state, or to37
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a point or points within the state from a point or points within the state, every common1

carrier or contract carrier who transports motor fuel or petroleum products, and every licensed2

distributor who transports motor fuel or petroleum products exclusive of the carrier’s own product3

shall be licensed with the commissioner as a motor fuel and petroleum products transporter.4

214 Motor Fuel and Petroleum Products Transporter. Amend RSA 260:42, V to read as follows:5

V. The transporter shall report to the commissioner on forms prescribed by the6

commissioner, not later than the twentieth of the succeeding calendar month, subject to prosecution7

for unsworn falsification, all deliveries of motor fuel and petroleum products made to or from points8

within the state during the previous calendar month. Such reports shall contain sufficient9

information to identify the quantities delivered, the consignor, the consignee and such additional10

information as the commissioner may require. A report shall be filed for any month in which no11

activity occurs. Information required pursuant to this paragraph which has been deemed12

confidential or as to which a request for confidential treatment is pending shall not be shown to or13

reviewed by any person other than the employees of the department who have a legitimate need to14

know the information for the purposes of enforcement of this subdivision, or fuel tax officials of15

another state as required by RSA 260:56, I, in which case the officials shall be required by the16

commissioner to agree to a similar limitation on disclosure before such information is furnished.17

215 Continuation of Executive Orders. Executive Order 2008-1, directing a freeze of executive18

branch hiring, equipment purchases, and out-of-state travel and Executive Order 2008-8, directing a19

freeze of executive branch purchases, shall remain in effect until June 30, 2011, unless earlier20

terminated by order of the governor.21

216 Department of Transportation; Agreements to Lease-Purchase Vehicles and Equipment22

Authorized. For the biennium ending June 30, 2011, the commissioner of the department of23

transportation is authorized to enter into agreements to lease-purchase vehicles and equipment.24

217 Department of Transportation; Federal Assistance Grant; Appropriation. Any sum received25

in the fiscal years ending June 30, 2010 or June 30, 2011 from the Federal Emergency Management26

Agency or Federal Highway Administration’s Emergency Relief Program or any other federal27

program providing emergency assistance to the department of transportation to reimburse costs28

incurred for emergency response, including, but not limited to, equipment rental, snow plowing,29

sanding, salting, flood damage response, and personnel overtime during any emergency declared30

shall be collected by the appropriate agency and appropriated to the department of transportation.31

218 Election Fund. Amend RSA 5:6-d, II and III to read as follows:32

II. The treasurer shall deposit in the election fund all monies received by the state pursuant33

to the Help America Vote Act of 2002, Public Law 107-252 [and all civil or administrative fines or34

penalties or filing fees collected by the secretary of state pursuant RSA 655; RSA 659; and RSA 664].35

The treasurer shall also deposit in the election fund such other funds received under state or federal36

law, or donated to the state by private parties, for the purposes of conducting elections, voter and37
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election official education, election law enforcement, and related information technology projects and1

improvements, and shall credit any interest or income earned on monies on deposit to the fund.2

III. The secretary of state is authorized to accept, budget, and, subject to the limitations of3

this paragraph, expend monies in the election fund received from any party for the purposes of4

conducting elections, voter and election official education, the purchase or lease of voting equipment5

which complies with Help America Vote Act of 2002, Public Law 107-252, election law enforcement,6

and improvements to related information technology. [The secretary of state shall not expend any7

monies in the election fund unless the balance in the fund following such expenditures shall be at8

least 20 times the estimated annual cost of maintaining the programs established to comply with the9

Help America Vote Act of 2002, Public Law 107-252.]10

219 Availability of Checklist and Voter Information. Amend RSA 654:31, V to read as follows:11

V. Except for fees collected on behalf of a city or town, fees collected by the secretary of state12

under this section shall be deposited in the [election fund established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d]13

general fund. Fees collected by a town or city or by the secretary of state on behalf of a city or town14

under this section shall be for the use of the town or city.15

220 Filing Fees. Amend RSA 655:19, II to read as follows:16

II. The fees paid to a town or city clerk by candidates for state representative shall be17

forwarded to the treasurer of the town or city and shall be for the use of the town or city. The fees18

paid to the secretary of state shall be deposited by the secretary of state in the [election fund19

established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d] general fund.20

221 Administrative Assessment; Primary Petitions; Nomination Papers. Amend RSA 655:19-c,21

II to read as follows:22

II. The administrative assessment paid to a town or city clerk by candidates for state23

representative shall be forwarded to the treasurer of the town or city and shall be for the use of the24

town or city. The administrative assessment paid to the secretary of state shall be deposited by the25

secretary of state into the [election fund established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d] general fund.26

222 Wrongful Voting; Penalties for Voter Fraud. Amend RSA 659:34, III(b) to read as follows:27

(b) The written notice shall be served in hand or sent by registered or certified mail to28

the last known address of such person. The person shall have 30 days to pay any civil penalty29

assessed under this section to the secretary of state for deposit into the [election fund established30

pursuant to RSA 5:6-d] general fund.31

223 Distributing Campaign Materials at Polling Place. Amend RSA 659:43, IV to read as32

follows:33

IV.(a) Whoever violates any of the provisions of this section shall be subject to a civil penalty34

not to exceed $1,000.35

(b) The court, upon petition of the attorney general, may levy upon any person who36

violates the provisions of RSA 659:43 a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed $1,000 per violation.37
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All penalties assessed under this paragraph shall be paid to the secretary of state for deposit into the1

[election fund established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d] general fund.2

(c) The attorney general shall have authority to notify suspected violators of this section3

of the state's intention to seek a civil penalty, to negotiate, and to settle with such suspected4

violators without court action, provided any civil penalty paid as settlement shall be paid to the5

secretary of state for deposit into the [election fund established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d] general6

fund.7

224 Election Procedures; Prohibited Acts; General Provisions. Amend RSA 659:45 to read as8

follows:9

659:45 General Provisions. It shall be the responsibility of the moderator to report any violation10

occurring under RSA 659:34 through RSA 659:44 to the attorney general. All fines imposed under11

RSA 659:35 through RSA 659:44 shall be paid to the county in which the offense was committed. All12

penalties assessed under RSA 659:34 shall be paid to the secretary of state for deposit into the13

[election fund established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d] general fund.14

225 Registration of Political Committees. Amend RSA 664:3, I to read as follows:15

I. Any political committee, except the political committee of a political party, shall register16

with the secretary of state as provided in this section. The committee shall register with the17

secretary of state not later than 24 hours after receiving any contribution in excess of $500 or before18

making any expenditure in excess of $500, but in no event later than 14 days after the formation of19

the committee. The registration shall be accompanied by a fee of $50, which shall be deposited by20

the secretary of state into the [election fund established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d] general fund;21

provided, however, that the political committee of a candidate which registers under this section22

shall not be required to pay the $50 fee. Each political committee shall designate a treasurer or23

agent who is a citizen of this state and who is authorized to receive all process and other legal24

documents on behalf of the political committee, and through whom may be obtained access to all25

books and records of the political committee. The political committee shall file with the secretary of26

state a statement of the purpose of the committee and shall indicate whether the committee will be27

making independent expenditures in support of or in opposition to any candidate including a28

statement of the name, address, occupation, and principal place of business of its chairperson and29

treasurer or agent, and the names and addresses of other officers. The committee shall file an30

amendment to its registration within 14 days of any change in the officers or purpose of the31

committee.32

226 Political Expenditures and Contributions; Enforcement; Penalty. Amend RSA 664:21, II to33

read as follows:34

II. Any fine assessed under the provision of this section shall be paid to the secretary of state35

for deposit into the [election fund established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d] general fund.36

227 Political Expenditures and Contributions; Enforcement; Penalty. Amend RSA 664:21, VI(b)-37
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(c) to read as follows:1

(b) The court, upon petition of the attorney general, may levy upon any person who2

violates the provisions of RSA 664:16-a or the provisions of RSA 664:17 relative to removing,3

defacing, or destroying political advertising on private property a civil penalty in an amount not to4

exceed $1,000 per violation. All penalties assessed under this paragraph shall be paid to the5

secretary of state for deposit into the [election fund established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d] general6

fund.7

(c) The attorney general shall have authority to notify suspected violators of RSA 664:16-8

a or the provisions of RSA 664:17 relative to removing, defacing, or destroying political advertising9

on private property of the state's intention to seek a civil penalty, to negotiate, and to settle with10

such suspected violators without court action, provided any civil penalty paid as settlement shall be11

paid to the secretary of state for deposit into the [election fund established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d]12

general fund.13

228 Impersonation of Candidates. Amend RSA 666:7-a, II(b)-(c) to read as follows:14

(b) The court, upon petition of the attorney general, may levy upon any person who15

violates the provisions of RSA 666:7-a a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed $1,000 per violation.16

All penalties assessed under this paragraph shall be paid to the secretary of state for deposit into the17

[election fund established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d] general fund.18

(c) The attorney general shall have authority to notify suspected violators of this section19

of the state's intention to seek a civil penalty, to negotiate, and to settle with such suspected20

violators without court action, provided any civil penalty paid as settlement shall be paid to the21

secretary of state for deposit into the [election fund established pursuant to RSA 5:6-d] general22

fund.23

229 Board of Tax and Land Appeals; Requirements for Caseload and Efficiencies Analysis24

Report. The board of tax and land appeals shall prepare a report analyzing the mission of the board,25

matters handled by the board, staffing of the board, changing caseloads, and proposals to achieve26

efficiencies in board operations and costs. The board of tax and land appeals shall submit its report27

on caseloads and efficiencies to the speaker of the house of representatives and the president of the28

senate by December 15, 2009.29

230 Operating Budget; Transfer of Dedicated Funds. Notwithstanding RSA 6:12 and any other30

law to the contrary, the department of administrative services shall transfer from the workers’ 31

compensation fraud fund and workers’ compensation safety inspection fund a total of $500,000 to the 32

general fund on July 1, 2009.33

231 Department of Revenue Administration. Additional Revenues from Existing State Taxes.34

The commissioner of the department of revenue administration shall identify additional revenues35

that may be realized from the modification to the applicability of existing state taxes or the36

elimination of exemptions from existing state taxes, including, but not limited to, the interest and37
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dividends tax, the real estate transfer tax, the meals and rooms tax, and the business profits tax, for1

implementation by the legislature.2

232 Recording Surcharge. Notwithstanding the provisions of RSA 478:17-g, II(c), for the fiscal3

year ending June 30, 2011, 50 percent of the funds received by the treasurer for the recording4

surcharge assessed by registers of deeds under RSA 478:17-g, II(a) shall be deposited in the trust5

fund for the land and community heritage investment program under RSA 227-M:7 and 50 percent of6

funds received for such surcharge shall be deposited in the general fund. The funds collected under7

this section shall remain in the custody of the land and community heritage investment program8

during the fiscal year ending June 30, 2011 and shall be transferred to the general fund at the end of9

such fiscal year.10

233 New Section; Pease Development Authority; Payments for Centralized Business Services.11

Amend RSA 12-G by inserting after section 7 the following new section:12

12-G:7-a Payments for Centralized Business Services. For the fiscal year ending June 30, 201013

and for each fiscal year thereafter, the authority shall pay the department of administrative services14

its portion of indirect costs for centralized business services, as determined by the statewide indirect15

cost allocation plan for the authority, including the division of ports and harbors.16

234 Committee Established. There is established a committee to study the use of Glencliff17

Home and county and private nursing facilities for medically paroled inmates.18

235 Membership and Compensation.19

I. The members of the committee shall be as follows:20

(a) Three members of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the21

house of representatives.22

(b) Two members of the senate, appointed by the president of the senate.23

II. Members of the committee shall receive mileage at the legislative rate when attending to24

the duties of the committee.25

236 Duties. The committee shall study the use of Glencliff Home and county and private26

nursing facilities for medically paroled inmates, the medical parole process, and cost savings related27

to medical parole.28

237 Chairperson; Quorum. The members of the study committee shall elect a chairperson from29

among the members. The first meeting of the committee shall be called by the first-named house30

member. The first meeting of the committee shall be held within 45 days of the effective date of this31

section. Three members of the committee shall constitute a quorum.32

238 Report. The committee shall report its findings and any recommendations for proposed33

legislation to the speaker of the house of representatives, the president of the senate, the house34

clerk, the senate clerk, the governor, and the state library on or before November 1, 2009. The35

report shall include, but not be limited to a review of the medical parole process, bed availability at36

Glencliff Home and county and private nursing facilities, and cost savings related to medical parole.37
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239 Condominium Act; Application Fees. Amend RSA 356-B:51, VII to read as follows:1

VII. Each application shall be accompanied by a fee in an amount equal to [$30] $50 per2

unit, except that the initial application fee shall be not less than [$300] $600 nor more than [$2,000]3

$5,000, and the fee for any application for registration of additional units shall be not less than4

[$200] $400 nor more than [$2,000] $5,000.5

240 Land Sales Full Disclosure; Application Fees. Amend RSA 356-A:5, VII to read as follows:6

VII. Every application shall be accompanied by a fee in an amount equal to [$30] $60 per lot,7

parcel, unit or interest, except that the initial application fee shall not be less than [$300] $600 nor8

more than [$2,000] $5,000, and the fee for any application for registration of additional lots, parcels,9

units or interests shall not be less than [$200] $400 nor more than [$2,000] $5,000.10

241 Department of Justice; Authority to Hire; Appropriation.11

I. In order to facilitate the state’s review and analysis of increasingly complex filings under 12

RSA 356-A and RSA 356-B with the department of justice, consumer protection and antitrust13

bureau, the department of justice is authorized to hire a part-time paralegal at labor grade 19.14

II. The sum of $30,043 is hereby appropriated for the biennium ending June 30, 2011 to fund15

the position authorized by paragraph I. The governor is authorized to draw a warrant for said sum16

out of any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated.17

242 Supplemental Allowance; One-Year Extension. Amend the introductory paragraph of RSA18

100-A:41-a to read as follows:19

100-A:41-a Supplemental Allowances. The following supplemental allowances shall apply only20

to the state fiscal year beginning July 1, 2008 and the state fiscal year beginning July 1, 2009:21

243 Additional Temporary Supplemental Allowances; One-Year Extension. Amend RSA 100-22

A:41-d, I and II to read as follows:23

I. The additional supplemental allowance in this paragraph shall apply only for the fiscal24

year beginning July 1, 2008 and the state fiscal year beginning July 1, 2009. Any retired25

member of the New Hampshire retirement system or any of its predecessor systems who has been26

retired for at least 12 months and whose annual retirement allowance is based on at least 15 years of27

service and is $20,000 or less, or any beneficiary of such member who is receiving an allowance, shall28

be entitled to receive an additional supplemental allowance, in addition to the provisions of RSA 100-29

A:41-a, on the retired member's latest anniversary date. The amount of the additional temporary30

supplemental allowance under this paragraph shall be $1,000, paid from the respective component of31

the special account.32

II. The supplemental allowance in this paragraph shall apply only for the fiscal year33

beginning July 1, 2008 and the state fiscal year beginning July 1, 2009. Any retired member of34

the New Hampshire retirement system or any of its predecessor systems who retired prior to35

January 1, 1993, or any beneficiary of such member who is receiving an allowance, shall be entitled36

to receive an additional supplemental allowance, in addition to the provisions of RSA 100-A:41-a and37
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paragraph I, on the retired member's latest anniversary date. The amount of the additional1

temporary supplemental allowance under this paragraph shall be $500, paid from the respective2

component of the special account.3

244 Department of Safety; Motor Vehicle Registration Fees Increased. Amend RSA 261:141,4

III(g)-(o) to read as follows:5

(g)(1) For all motor vehicles other than those in RSA 261:141, I:6

0-3000 lbs. $31.20 ($2.60 per month) (plus a $30 surcharge)7

3001-5000 lbs. $43.20 ($3.60 per month) (plus a $30 surcharge)8

5001-8000 lbs. $55.20 ($4.60 per month) (plus a $45 surcharge)9

8001-[73,280] 10,000 lbs. $.96 per hundred lbs. gross weight (plus a $45 surcharge)10

10,001-26,000 lbs. $.96 per hundred lbs. gross weight (plus a $55 surcharge)11

26,001-73,280 lbs. $.96 per hundred lbs. gross weight (plus a $75 surcharge).12

(2) Any surcharge under subparagraph (1) shall be prorated accordingly in13

the case of registrations issued for more or less than a 12-month period.14

(h) Truck-tractors to be used in conjunction with a semi-trailer, gross weight shall15

include the weight of such tractors, the weight of the heaviest semi-trailer to be used therewith, and16

the weight of the maximum load to be carried thereby: up to 73,280 pounds $.96 per 100 pounds17

gross weight plus a $75 surcharge, over 73,280 pounds--$1.44 shall be charged for each 100 pounds18

gross weight or portion thereof in excess of 73,280 pounds. Any surcharge shall be prorated19

accordingly in the case of registrations issued for more or less than a 12-month period.20

(i) Each additional semi-trailer used in conjunction with such truck-tractor--$24.00.21

(j) For semi-trailers or automobile utility trailers (the weight of the trailer shall include22

the maximum load to be carried thereby):23

0-1000 lbs. $[3.00] 8.0024

1001-1500 lbs. [6.00] 11.0025

1501-3000 lbs. [12.00] 17.0026

3001-5000 lbs. [24.00] 34.0027

5001-8000 lbs. [36.00] 46.0028

8001-up [.60] .90 per hundred lbs. gross weight.29

(k) For each semi-trailer not registered in connection with a truck-tractor, the gross30

weight shall include the weight of such trailer and the weight of the maximum load to be carried31

thereby. The registration fee shall be $[.60] .90 per hundred lbs. gross weight and such trailer shall32

not be registered for less than 10,000 lbs.33

(l) For equipment mounted on trucks of which the equipment is an integral part of the34

unit and the truck is not capable of carrying freight or merchandise, the registration fee shall be 1/335

of the regular fee charged as determined by the corresponding weight chart specified in36

subparagraph (i).37
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(m) For each farm truck or combination of motor type tractor and semi-trailer used only1

for transportation of agricultural products produced on and meant to be used in connection with the2

operation of a farm or farms owned, operated, or occupied by the registrant, for the first 16,0003

pounds--$24, for any additional weight above 16,000 pounds--$.74 per hundred weight.4

(n) For each additional or extra semi-trailer used in connection with a motor type tractor5

registered for farm purposes--$24. (In the event that a farm truck registered under the $24 fee as6

provided in this subparagraph and thereafter registered for general use during the same registration7

year, such fee shall be applied toward the fee for such general registration.)8

(o) For each motorcycle—[$15] $25.9

245 Fee for Transfer of Motor Vehicle Registration. Amend RSA 261:151, VII(b) to read as10

follows:11

(b) For the transfer of the registration of any motor vehicle, trailer, semi-trailer or12

tractor for that of another motor vehicle, trailer, semi-trailer or tractor previously registered13

pursuant to this chapter—[$10] $25.14

246 Highway and Bridge Betterment Account. From the motor vehicle registration fees and15

surcharges collected under RSA 261:141 and RSA 261:151 as amended by this act, the department of16

safety shall dedicate $2,000,000 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2010 and $15,000,000 for the17

fiscal year ending June 30, 2011 to the highway and bridge betterment account established in18

RSA 235:23-a.19

247 Department of Safety Motor Vehicle Registration Fees. RSA 261:141, III(g)-(o) is repealed20

and reenacted to read as follows:21

(g) For all motor vehicles other than those in RSA 261:141, I:22

0-3000 lbs. $31.20 ($2.60 per month)23

3001-5000 lbs. $43.20 ($3.60 per month)24

5001-8000 lbs. $55.20 ($4.60 per month)25

8001-73,280 lbs. $ .96 per hundred lbs. gross weight.26

(h) Truck-tractors to be used in conjunction with a semi-trailer, gross weight shall27

include the weight of such tractors, the weight of the heaviest semi-trailer to be used therewith, and28

the weight of the maximum load to be carried thereby: up to 73,280 pounds $.96 per 100 pounds29

gross weight, over 73,280 pounds--$1.44 shall be charged for each 100 pounds gross weight or portion30

thereof in excess of 73,280 pounds.31

(i) Each additional semi-trailer used in conjunction with such truck-tractor--$24.00.32

(j) For semi-trailers or automobile utility trailers (the weight of the trailer shall include33

the maximum load to be carried thereby):34

0-1000 lbs. $ 3.0035

1001-1500 lbs. 6.0036

1501-3000 lbs. 12.0037
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3001-5000 lbs. 24.001

5001-8000 lbs. 36.002

8001-up .60 per hundred lbs. gross weight.3

(k) For each semi-trailer not registered in connection with a truck-tractor, the gross4

weight shall include the weight of such trailer and the weight of the maximum load to be carried5

thereby. The registration fee shall be $.60 per hundred lbs. gross weight and such trailer shall not6

be registered for less than 10,000 lbs.7

(l) For equipment mounted on trucks of which the equipment is an integral part of the8

unit and the truck is not capable of carrying freight or merchandise, the registration fee shall be 1/39

of the regular fee charged as determined by the corresponding weight chart specified in10

subparagraph (i).11

(m) For each farm truck or combination of motor type tractor and semi-trailer used only12

for transportation of agricultural products produced on and meant to be used in connection with the13

operation of a farm or farms owned, operated, or occupied by the registrant, for the first 16,00014

pounds--$24, for any additional weight above 16,000 pounds--$.74 per hundred weight.15

(n) For each additional or extra semi-trailer used in connection with a motor type tractor16

registered for farm purposes--$24. (In the event that a farm truck registered under the $24 fee as17

provided in this subparagraph and thereafter registered for general use during the same registration18

year, such fee shall be applied toward the fee for such general registration.)19

(o) For each motorcycle--$15.20

248 Fee for Transfer of Motor Vehicle Registration. RSA 261:151, VII(b) is repealed and21

reenacted to read as follows:22

(b) For the transfer of the registration of any motor vehicle, trailer, semi-trailer or23

tractor for that of another motor vehicle, trailer, semi-trailer or tractor previously registered24

pursuant to this chapter--$10.25

249 New Subdivision; Taxation of Gambling Winnings. Amend RSA 77 by inserting after26

section 37 the following new subdivision:27

Taxation of Gambling Winnings28

77:38 Definitions. In this subdivision:29

I.  “Commissioner” means the commissioner of revenue administration.30

II.  “Department” means the department of revenue administration.31

III.  “Gambling winnings” means winnings from lotteries and games of chance including, but 32

not limited to bingo, slot machines, keno, poker tournaments, and any other gambling winnings33

subject to federal income tax withholding.34

IV.  “New Hampshire entities” means establishments the purpose of which is to engage in35

any gaming regulated by the racing and charitable gaming commission and the sale of lottery tickets36

as permitted by the lottery commission.37
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77:39 Imposition of Tax.1

I. A tax of 10 percent is imposed on:2

(a) Gambling winnings of New Hampshire residents from anywhere derived.3

(b) Gambling winnings of nonresidents of New Hampshire derived from New Hampshire4

entities.5

II. The lottery commission and the charitable gaming and racing commission shall withhold6

all tax due and payable to the state from any payout of gambling winnings.7

77:40 Who Taxable; What Taxable.8

I. Taxable income is income that is received from gambling winnings during the calendar9

year.10

II. A tax is imposed on all winnings as evidenced by federal tax withholding form W-2G.11

77:41 Non-Taxable Income. No tax shall be levied directly or indirectly under this subdivision12

upon any income otherwise taxable hereunder, which is received and used by any educational,13

religious, charitable, or temperance organization incorporated or organized in this state, for the14

purposes for which it is established.15

77:42 Returns and Payment.16

I. Returns of gambling winnings shall be made to the commissioner on or before the fifteenth17

day of the fourth month following the expiration of the tax year. The commissioner shall adopt rules,18

pursuant to RSA 541-A, relative to the prescribed form for filing returns under this section.19

II. The taxes collected by the lottery commission and the racing and charitable gaming20

commission shall be paid over to the state treasurer on or before the fifteenth day of the month21

following collection of said tax.22

77:43 Extension of Time for Returns. For good cause, the commissioner may extend the time23

within which a taxpayer is required to file a return, and, if such return is filed during the period of24

extension, no penalty may be imposed for failure to file the return at the time required by this25

subdivision, but the taxpayer shall be liable for interest and late payment charges as prescribed in26

RSA 21-J:28 or RSA 21-J:33. Failure to file the return within the period of extension shall void the27

extension.28

77:44 Interest. Any taxpayer who fails to make payment with a return when due shall be29

subject to interest computed as prescribed in RSA 21-J:28.30

77:45 Inspection. Returns shall not be open to the inspection of any person except the31

commissioner and his or her deputies, assistants, and clerks when acting under his or her authority;32

provided that a properly authorized representative of the federal Internal Revenue Bureau may33

inspect such returns if reciprocal inspection of New Hampshire returns in that bureau is permitted34

to the commissioner or the commissioner’s representatives.35

77:46 Warrants, Collection. The commissioner may issue a warrant for the collection of any36

overdue tax to the tax collector of any town or city, which shall have the same remedies and the37
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same fees for the collection of such taxes as are provided by law for his or her collection of taxes on1

personal estate.2

77:47 Reassessment by Department of Revenue Administration. The department shall reassess3

the amount of the tax in every case in which it appears in the examination of the returns that the4

amount paid is either higher or lower than the actual tax due. The department shall notify the5

taxpayer of any corrections made. If the department determines a deficiency, the amount of said6

deficiency and interest as prescribed in RSA 21-J:28 shall be forwarded by the taxpayer to the7

department within 15 days from the date of the required notice. If the reassessment results in a8

determination of overpayment, the amount of the excess shall be repaid to the taxpayer in the9

manner provided by RSA 21-J:28-a. All assessments made under this section shall be subject to the10

same right of appeal as provided in RSA 21-J:28-b, and nothing contained in this section shall be11

construed to limit the power of the commissioner to make a later assessment under RSA 21-J:29 and12

to seek penalties for fraudulent returns as provided by RSA 77:30.13

77:48 Penalty; Fraudulent or Incorrect Return. For purposes of the application of RSA 21-J:3114

to this subdivision, if a return is not filed when due and the failure to file a return when due is not a15

violation of any provision of RSA 21-J:39, then neither the $10 nor the $50 alternate penalties of16

RSA 21-J:31 shall apply to the return.17

77:49 Taxpayer Records.18

I. Every taxpayer shall:19

(a) Keep such records as may be necessary to determine the amount of its liability under20

this chapter.21

(b) Preserve such records for the period of 3 years or until any litigation or prosecution22

under this chapter is finally determined.23

(c) Make such records available for inspection by the commissioner or authorized agents,24

upon demand, at reasonable times.25

II. Whoever violates the provisions of this section shall be subject to the penalties imposed26

under RSA 21-J:39.27

77:50 Disposal of Papers. The commissioner may destroy any tax returns on file in the28

department for more than 4 years, which, in his or her opinion, are no longer of any value to the29

state.30

250 New Paragraph; Rulemaking. Amend RSA 21-J:13 by inserting after paragraph XII the31

following new paragraph:32

XIII. The collection of taxes on gambling winnings administered by the department under33

RSA 77:38 through RSA 77:50, including required forms, information, documentation, and fees.34

251 Repeal. RSA 284:21-r, relative to the tax exempt status of lottery and sweepstakes35

winnings, is repealed.36
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252 Positions Established; Department of Revenue Administration. For the purposes of1

implementing the tax on gambling winnings under RSA 77:38 through 77:50, one labor grade 122

position and one labor grade 14 position are established within the department of revenue3

administration.4

253 Appropriation; Department of Revenue Administration. The sum of $190,000 for the fiscal5

year ending June 30, 2010 and the sum of $90,000 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2011 are6

hereby appropriated to the department of revenue administration for the purpose of funding the7

positions established under section 252 of this act and for programming, development and testing,8

equipment costs, and related administrative costs of implementing the tax on gambling winnings9

under RSA 77:38 through 77:50. The governor is authorized to draw a warrant for said sum out of10

any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated.11

254 Repeal. 2008, 296:31 and 32, relative to eligibility for certain wine discounts, are repealed.12

255 Child Care Providers; Criminal Records Check. Amend RSA 170-E:7, I and II(a) and (b) to13

read as follows:14

I. Child day care providers who are required to be licensed or registered according to the15

provisions of this chapter shall, no later than an individual's first day of employment, which16

individual is responsible for the care of, or having regular contact with children, and upon adding17

new household members or other individuals who will have regular contact with children, submit to18

the department, the names, birth names, birth dates, and addresses of such individuals and other19

information required by the department as prescribed by rules adopted by the commissioner under20

RSA 541-A. The persons described in this paragraph shall submit directly to the department of21

safety a notarized criminal history records release form, as provided by the New Hampshire division22

of state police, which authorizes the release of the person's criminal records, if any, to the23

department. The person shall submit with the release form a complete set of fingerprints taken by24

a qualified law enforcement agency or an authorized employee of the department of safety. The25

department of safety shall complete the criminal history records check and forward such26

record, if any, to the department. In the event that the first set of fingerprints is invalid due to27

insufficient pattern, a second set of fingerprints shall be necessary to complete the criminal history28

records check. If, after 2 attempts, a set of fingerprints is invalid due to insufficient pattern, the29

department may, in lieu of the criminal history records check, accept police clearances from every30

city, town, or county where the person has lived during the past 5 years.31

II.(a) The department shall, for every name submitted on an application, in the registration32

process, and for each individual for whom information is required to be submitted pursuant to33

paragraph I, review the names, birth names, birth dates, and current and previous addresses of such34

persons against the state registry of founded abuse and neglect reports.35

(b) The department of safety shall submit the criminal history records release form to36

the New Hampshire division of state police, which shall conduct a criminal history records check37
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through its records and through the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Upon completion of the1

background investigation, the division of state police shall release copies of the criminal conviction2

records to the department. The department shall maintain the confidentiality of all criminal history3

records information received pursuant to this paragraph.4

256 Processing of National Criminal Records Checks; Reports Required. For the biennium5

ending June 30, 2011, the department of safety shall provide quarterly reports to the fiscal6

committee of the general court relative to the processing of national criminal records checks for the7

department of health and human services. The reports shall include, but not be limited to, the8

number of fingerprints processed for the department of health and human services by location, staff9

time allocated for processing of fingerprints for the department of health and human services, and a10

description of funds expended and fees charged by the department of safety for this purpose.11

257 Tobacco Tax; Distribution of Funds. Amend RSA 78:32, I to read as follows:12

I. The commissioner shall determine the additional amount of revenue produced by any13

additional tax in excess of [37 cents] $1.00 for each package containing 20 cigarettes or at a rate14

proportional to such rate for packages containing more or less than 20 cigarettes, on all tobacco15

products sold at retail in this state imposed by RSA 78:7 and shall certify such amount to the state16

treasurer by October 1 of each year for deposit in the education trust fund established by17

RSA 198:39.18

258 Transfer of Funds to Police Standards and Training Council Training Fund. The sum of19

$1,500,000 is hereby transferred in fiscal year 2010 from the general fund to the police standards20

and training council training fund established in RSA 188-F:30 for the purpose of restoring funds21

transferred from the police standards and training council training fund in 2009, 1:5.22

259 Disaster Relief Payments to Local Communities; October 2005 Disaster Assistance. Amend23

2006, 42:1, as amended by 2008, 87:1, to read as follows:24

42:1 Appropriation; State Matching Funds for Federal Emergency Management Agency Disaster25

Assistance Grants. In response to October 2005 flood damage sustained by communities in26

Cheshire, Sullivan, Grafton, Merrimack, and Belknap counties, a sum not to exceed $2,911,000 is27

hereby appropriated to the department of safety, bureau of emergency management, for the fiscal28

year ending June 30, 2006, as the required state match for federal disaster assistance funds from the29

Federal Emergency Management Agency for flood damage sustained during the period from30

October 8, 2005 to October 17, 2005. With prior approval of the fiscal committee, the department of31

safety, bureau of emergency management shall distribute the funds appropriated by this act to any32

eligible municipality or state agency that completed a request for public assistance within the33

required 30-day period of the October 26, 2005 declaration date. The funds shall be distributed34

pursuant to the following funding formula: federal funds shall be used for 75 percent of eligible costs35

and state funds shall be used for the remaining costs, except that the local municipality first shall36

pay a portion of such remaining costs, not to exceed 12.5 percent of its total eligible costs or $5,000,37
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whichever is less. The governor is authorized to draw a warrant for said sum out of any money in1

the treasury not otherwise appropriated. The department of safety shall have the authority to2

transfer and expend funds appropriated under this section for the purpose of providing [state3

matching] funds for [April 2007] other disaster assistance grants. Any unexpended funds shall4

lapse to the general fund on June 30, [2010] 2011.5

260 Disaster Relief Payments to Local Communities; May 2006 Disaster Assistance. Amend6

2007, 334:1, as amended by 2008, 87:2, to read as follows:7

334:1 Appropriation; State Matching Funds for May 2006 Disaster Assistance Grants. In8

response to flood damage sustained by communities in May 2006, a sum not to exceed $2,200,000 is9

hereby appropriated to the department of safety, bureau of emergency management, for the fiscal10

year ending June 30, 2007, and an additional sum of $400,000 is hereby appropriated to the11

department for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2008, as the required state match for federal disaster12

assistance funds from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). With prior approval of13

the fiscal committee, the department of safety, bureau of emergency management shall distribute14

the funds appropriated by this act to any eligible FEMA applicant that submitted a timely request15

for such assistance based on the disaster area declaration date. The funds shall be distributed16

pursuant to the following funding formula: federal funds shall be used for 75 percent of eligible costs17

and state funds shall be used for the remaining costs, except that the local municipality first shall18

pay a portion of such remaining costs, not to exceed 12.5 percent of its total eligible costs. The19

department of safety shall have the authority to transfer and expend funds appropriated20

under this section for the purpose of providing funds for other disaster assistance grants.21

The governor is authorized to draw a warrant for said sum out of any money in the treasury not22

otherwise appropriated. Any unexpended funds shall lapse to the general fund on June 30, 2011.23

261 Disaster Relief Payments to Local Communities; April 2007 Disaster Assistance. Amend24

2008, 87:3 to read as follows:25

87:3 Appropriation; State Matching Funds for April 2007 Disaster Assistance Grants. In26

response to flood damage sustained by communities in April 2007, a sum not to exceed $1,750,000 is27

hereby appropriated to the department of safety, bureau of emergency management, for the fiscal28

year ending June 30, 2008, as the required state match for federal disaster assistance funds from29

FEMA. With prior approval of the fiscal committee, the department of safety, bureau of emergency30

management shall distribute the funds appropriated by this act for payment of claims in the order in31

which they were filed, to any eligible FEMA applicant that submitted a timely request for such32

assistance based on the disaster area declaration date. The funds shall be distributed pursuant to33

the following funding formula: federal funds shall be used for 75 percent of eligible costs and state34

funds shall be used for the remaining costs, except that the local applicant first shall pay a portion of35

such remaining costs, not to exceed 12.5 percent of its total eligible costs. The governor is authorized36

to draw a warrant for said sum out of any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated. Any37
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unexpended funds shall lapse to the general fund on June 30, 2012. The appropriation is this section1

shall be in addition to any other funds appropriated for such purpose, including the appropriation in2

2007, 334:2. The department of safety shall have the authority to transfer and expend funds3

appropriated under this section for the purpose of providing funds for other disaster4

assistance grants.5

262 Disaster Relief Payments to Local Communities; July-September 2008 Disaster Assistance.6

Amend 2008, 392:5 to read as follows:7

392:5 Appropriation; State Matching Funds for July-September 2008 Disaster Assistance8

Grants. In response to tornado and heavy wind damage sustained by communities in July 2008, and9

the heavy rains and flood damage sustained by communities between July and September 2008, a10

sum not to exceed $300,000 is hereby appropriated to the department of safety, division of homeland11

security and emergency management, as the required state match for federal disaster assistance12

funds from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The governor is authorized to13

draw a warrant for said sum out of any money in the treasury not otherwise appropriated. Any14

unexpended funds appropriated in this section shall not lapse to the general fund until15

June 30, 2011. The appropriation in this section shall be in addition to any other funds appropriated16

for such purpose. With prior approval of the fiscal committee of the general court, the department of17

safety, division of homeland security and emergency management, shall distribute the funds18

appropriated by this section for payment of claims in the order in which they were filed, to any19

eligible FEMA applicant that submitted a timely request for such assistance based on the disaster20

area declaration date. The funds shall be distributed pursuant to the following funding formula:21

federal funds shall be used for 75 percent of eligible costs and state funds shall be used for the22

remaining costs, except that the local applicant first shall pay 12.5 percent of its total eligible costs.23

The department of safety shall have the authority to transfer and expend funds24

appropriated under this section for the purpose of providing funds for other disaster25

assistance grants.26

263 Department of Health and Human Services; Medicaid to Schools. The department of health27

and human services is hereby authorized and directed to identify the state funded cost of28

administering the Medicaid to Schools program and seek appropriate federal financial participation29

for these costs.30

264 Medical Services for State Prisoners. Amend RSA 623-C:2, I and II to read as follows:31

I.(a) Except as provided in subparagraphs (b) through [(f), no hospital or emergency room32

shall charge the department of corrections or its agent more than] (d), the department of33

corrections or its agent shall pay health care facilities and hospitals 110 percent of the34

Medicare allowable rate for inpatient, outpatient, or emergency room care provided for prisoners in35

state correctional facilities. In this chapter, health care facilities mean ambulatory and36

specialty-medical services centers licensed under RSA 151, and shall include but not be37
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limited to surgical, rehabilitation, long term, oncology, and dialysis centers, but shall not1

include physician practices and community health care clinics.2

(b) Allowances provided by hospitals shall qualify as community benefits under3

RSA 7:32-d, III(b).4

(c) [Hospitals reported by the department of health and human services as having a5

negative operating margin in the most recent year for which hospital-audited financial data is6

available shall charge no more than 125 percent of the medicare rate.7

(d) ] The commissioner of the department of corrections may waive the application of8

subparagraph (a) if the commissioner determines such action is necessary to ensure prisoner access9

to medically necessary care.10

[(e)] (d) The commissioner of the department of corrections may waive the application of11

subparagraph (a) if the commissioner determines such action to be necessary for the efficient12

operations of the state correctional facility.13

[(f) Nothing in this paragraph shall require a hospital to admit any person. ]14

II. Nothing in this section shall preclude the commissioner of the department of15

corrections [shall have] from having the discretion to negotiate and execute medical service rate16

agreements with hospitals or [emergency rooms] health care facilities for the provision of medical17

services to state prisoners at the lowest rate possible, or utilizing rates in existing agreements.18

265 Department of Health and Human Services; Children’s Hospital Boston.  For the biennium 19

ending June 30, 2011, the department of health and human services shall remit reimbursement to20

Children’s Hospital Boston at a maximum rate of 80 percent of cost.21

266 Department of Education; Report Relative to Charter School Enrollment. The commissioner22

of the department of education and the director of the office of economic stimulus shall determine, in23

consultation with the appropriate federal authorities, the degree to which the state may amend24

existing state laws, regulations, and policies with regard to controlling the growth of enrollment in25

public charter schools without affecting state eligibility for federal funds under the American26

Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. On or before December 15, 2009, the commissioner and27

director shall submit a report of their findings and recommendations to the senate president, the28

speaker of the house of representatives, the house and senate education committees, the house and29

senate finance committees, the fiscal committees of the general court, the governor, and the state30

library.31

267 Liquor Commission; Concord Warehouse. The liquor commission shall evaluate the32

efficiency and cost-effectiveness of its warehousing practices and procedures and investigate33

alternative practices and procedures to maximize the efficiency and cost-effectiveness of warehouse34

operations. The commission shall consider the role of the Concord warehouse in its evaluation and35

whether to sell, lease, or enter into a concession agreement or management contract for the36

warehouse and whether to transfer warehouse operations to another location. The liquor37
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commission may implement a warehouse optimization plan based on its evaluation, provided the1

plan results in a minimum of $5,000,000 of savings transferred to the general fund during fiscal year2

2011, and provided that any plan developed pursuant to this section shall be approved by the fiscal3

committee of the general court and, if applicable, submitted for approval in accordance with RSA4

4:40. The liquor commission shall submit a report on the implementation of its plan to the fiscal5

committee of the general court on or before January 1, 2010.6

268  Tax on Transfer of Real Property; Definition of “Real Estate Holding Company” Amended.  7

Amend RSA 78-B:1-a, VI to read as follows:8

VI.  “Real estate holding company”means [a business] an organization[, as defined in9

RSA 77-A:1, I,] which is engaged principally in [the business of] owning, holding, selling, or leasing10

real estate and which owns real estate or an interest in real estate within the state.11

269 New Paragraph; Meals and Rentals; Surety Bond. Amend RSA 78-A:8-b by inserting after12

paragraph I the following new paragraph:13

I-a. Each operator shall file with the department a bond in the amount of $5,000 to secure14

the payment of any tax, interest or penalties due, or which may become due. The bond shall be15

issued by a surety company authorized by the New Hampshire insurance department to do business16

in this state. The failure to maintain a bond shall result in the suspension or revocation of the17

license under this chapter. The commissioner is authorized to determine a schedule pursuant to18

which operators will be required to submit bonds.19

270 Installment Payment Agreements. Amend RSA 21-J:43 to read as follows:20

21-J:43 Authority to Enter Into Written Installment Payment Agreements. The department21

may enter into written installment payment agreements [for a period not to exceed 6 months] if it22

determines that the agreement facilitates collection of delinquent taxes, penalties, and interest23

owed, when liens have been recorded securing the debt and the taxpayer has clearly demonstrated24

inability to pay in full. The department may modify or terminate an installment payment agreement25

if it determines that the financial condition of the taxpayer has sufficiently changed or that the26

taxpayer has not complied with the terms of the installment agreement. The department shall give27

written notice to the taxpayer at least 30 days before the action terminating or modifying the28

installment payment agreement.29

271 Meals and Rentals; Issuance and Renewal of Licenses. Amend RSA 78-A:4, I to read as30

follows:31

I. Each operator shall register with the department the name and address of each place of32

business within the state where it operates a hotel, sells taxable meals, or rents motor vehicles. The33

operator shall complete a registration, upon receipt of which the department shall issue a meals and34

rentals license for each place in such form as it determines, attesting that the registration has been35

made, provided that a license shall not be issued or renewed if the operator owes unpaid36

taxes, interest, or penalties from any tax administered by the department. A license may be37
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denied if the commissioner has reason to believe that the registration is filed by a person as1

a subterfuge for the real person in interest whose license has been previously been revoked,2

suspended, or not renewed for cause. Licenses shall expire on June 30 in each odd-numbered3

year, unless the business ceases operation, a change in ownership occurs, or the license is revoked or4

suspended by the department prior to expiration of the license. The license shall be conspicuously5

posted in a public area upon the premises to which it relates.6

272 Applicability. Section 269 of this act shall take effect January 1, 2010 with respect to all7

operators currently licensed or licensed on or after January 1, 2010.8

273 New Paragraph; Filing Threshold. Amend RSA 77-A:6 by inserting after paragraph I the9

following new paragraph:10

I-a. Every business organization realizing a gain or loss on the sale or exchange of an11

interest in the business organization shall file a return for the taxable period, regardless of whether12

or not the business organization’s gross business income is in excess of $50,000 during the taxable 13

period.14

274 Applicability. Section 273 of this act shall take effect for tax periods ending on or after July15

1, 2009.16

275 New Section; Taxation of Interest and Dividends. Definitions. Amend RSA 77 by inserting17

after section 1 the following new section:18

77:1-a Definitions. In this chapter:19

I.  “Accumulated profits” means:20

(a) In the case of a corporation, other than a subchapter S corporation, the amount21

determined to be earnings and profits for federal income tax purposes; or22

(b) In the case of all trusts represented by transferable shares, subchapter S23

corporations, limited liability companies, associations, and partnerships, the total undistributed24

revenues of the entity from whatever source derived.25

II.  “Dividends” means an amount of property distributed, with respect to their ownership 26

interest, other than in liquidation of the organization, to shareholders or interest holders of an27

organization from:28

(a) Current year profit;29

(b) Accumulated profits of such entity; or30

(c) Debt financed by the entity.31

276 Taxation of Interest and Dividends; Who Taxable. Amend RSA 77:3, I(b) to read as follows:32

(b) [Partnerships, limited liability companies, associations, and] Trusts, the beneficial33

interest in which is not represented by transferable shares, whose gross interest and dividend34

income from all sources exceeds $2,400 during the taxable year, but not including a qualified35

investment company as defined in RSA 77-A:1, XXI, or a trust comprising a part of an employee36

benefit plan, as defined in the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, section 3.37
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277 Taxation of Interest and Dividends; What Taxable. RSA 77:4, III is repealed and reenacted1

to read as follows:2

III. Dividends, other than stock dividends or changes in ownership in an entity not3

evidenced through actual distributions.4

278 Repeal. The following are repealed:5

I. RSA 77:14, relative to taxation of partnerships and limited liability companies.6

II. RSA 77:15, relative to taxation of partners and members.7

III. RSA 77:16 relative to taxation of out-of-state partnerships and limited liability8

companies.9

IV. RSA 77:17 relative to the applicability of RSA 77:14 through RSA 77:1610

279 Applicability. Sections 275 - 278 of this act shall apply for taxable periods ending on or after11

December 31, 2009.12

280 Severability; Provision for Taxation of Interest and Dividends. If any provision of sections13

275-279 of this act or the application thereof to any person or circumstance is held to be invalid, the14

invalidity shall not affect any other provision or the application of such provision to other persons or15

circumstances, and to this end the provisions of such sections are severable.16

281 New Subparagraphs; State Retiree Health Plan Commission; Duties Added. Amend RSA17

100-A:56, III by inserting after subparagraph (b) the following new subparagraphs:18

(c) Analyze premium contributions for retirees under the age of 65 receiving medical and19

surgical benefits as provided under RSA 21-I:30, which shall include, but not be limited to,20

evaluating length of service, annuity amount, and cost to provide the medical and surgical benefits.21

(d) Make recommendations for a premium contribution that is fair and equitable for22

retirees under the age of 65.23

282 Commission to Evaluate Long-Term Uses of Lakes Region Facility Established.24

I. There is established a commission to evaluate the long-term uses of the lakes region25

facility located in Laconia.26

II.(a) The members of the commission shall be as follows:27

(1) Three members of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the28

house of representatives.29

(2) Two members of the senate, appointed by the president of the senate.30

(3)  One representative from the governor’s office, appointed by the governor.31

(4) The commissioner of the department of administrative services, or designee.32

(5) The commissioner of the department of environmental services, or designee.33

(6) The commissioner of the department of resources and economic development, or34

designee.35

(7) The commissioner of the department of corrections, or designee.36

(8) The commissioner of the department of health and humans services, or designee.37
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(9) The executive director of the department of fish and game, or designee.1

(10) The commissioner of the department of cultural resources, or designee.2

(11) One member of the public, appointed by the Laconia city council.3

(12) A representative of the Lakes Region Planning Commission, appointed by the4

commission.5

(b) Legislative members of the commission shall receive mileage at the legislative rate6

when attending to the duties of the commission.7

III. The commission shall assess the long-term uses of the lakes region facility by8

determining and recommending the disposition, redevelopment, or sale of the property in part or in9

whole, whichever is in the best interest of the state.10

IV. The members of the commission shall elect a chairperson from among the members. The11

first meeting of the commission shall be called by the first-named house member. The first meeting12

of the commission shall be held within 45 days of the effective date of this section. Eight members of13

the commission shall constitute a quorum.14

V. The commission shall report its findings and any recommendations for uses of the15

property to the chairman of the long range capital planning and utilization committee, the speaker of16

the house of representatives, the president of the senate, the house clerk, the senate clerk, and the17

governor and executive councilors on or before June 30, 2010.18

283 Aid to the Permanently and Totally Disabled; Duration of Impairment. Amend RSA 167:6,19

VI to read as follows:20

VI. For the purposes hereof, a person shall be eligible for aid to the permanently and totally21

disabled who is between the ages of 18 and 64 years of age inclusive; is a resident of the state; and is22

disabled as defined in the federal Social Security Act, Titles II and XVI and the regulations adopted23

under such act, except that the minimum required duration of the impairment shall be 48 months,24

unless and until the department adopts a 12-month standard in accordance with RSA25

167:3-j. In determining disability, the standards for "substantial gainful activity'' as used in the26

Social Security Act shall apply, including all work incentive provisions including Impairment27

Related Work Expenses, Plans to Achieve Self Support, and subsidies. No person shall be eligible to28

receive such aid while receiving old age assistance, aid to the needy blind, or aid to families with29

dependent children.30

284 New Section; Aid to the Permanently and Totally Disabled; Duration of Impairment.31

Amend RSA 167 by inserting after section 3-i the following new section:32

167:3-j Aid to the Permanently and Totally Disabled; Duration of Impairment.33

I. The department of health and human services may change the minimum duration of34

impairment for aid to the permanently and totally disabled (APTD) from 48 months to 12 months35

upon approval of the fiscal committee of the general court, under the following conditions:36

(a) This change results in a net general fund cost savings.37
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(b) Eligibility for APTD shall be based on a determination of disability as defined in Title1

II, Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), and Title XVI, Supplemental Security Income (SSI),2

of the Social Security Act, as amended.3

(c) A determination of disability by the Social Security Administration or any other4

federal agency, including the Railroad Retirement Board, using the SSI and SSDI criteria, shall5

constitute a determination of disability for purposes of APTD.6

(d) Applicants for APTD cash assistance shall be recipients of SSI, if eligible therefor.7

(e) For persons applying for APTD and SSI, eligibility for both programs shall be8

determined using the medical and financial eligibility criteria of the SSI program, through a single9

disability determination process.10

(f) As of the date the department implements the 12-month standard and other11

provisions of this paragraph, all persons who have been determined by the department to be disabled12

under the 48-month durational standard and are eligible for APTD and who have not been13

determined to be disabled by the Social Security Administration or other federal agency using the14

SSI/SSDI standard, shall remain eligible for APTD if they have active and pending applications for15

or appeals of denials of SSI, SSDI, or any other federal program utilizing the SSI/ SSDI standard,16

through the level of the Social Security Appeals Council, provided they meet all other eligibility17

criteria.18

(g) Applicants shall have all appeal rights provided in state and federal law.19

II. The commissioner of health and human services is authorized to enter into agreements20

with agencies of the state or federal government to administer any or all parts of the aid to the21

permanently and totally disabled (APTD) program, including an agreement with the Social Security22

Administration in accordance with accordance with section 1634(a) of the Social Security Act, to the23

extent such agreements would allow for more cost effective or efficient administration of the24

program. The department shall implement the most cost-effective organizational and management25

structure and operational processes, with prior approval of the fiscal committee of the general court,26

which may include organizational and contractual changes including management responsibility for27

SSI and SSDI eligibility determinations.28

III. If the department of health and human services adopts a 12-month standard in29

accordance with this section, the department may apply any net savings realized from implementing30

this standard to meet required appropriation reductions for the department contained in the state’s 31

operating budget for the biennium ending June 30, 2011. The department shall estimate net savings32

based on expenditures for aid to the permanently and totally disabled grants as compared to33

amounts budgeted in fiscal year 2010 and 2011 for this purpose, net of any increases in Medicaid34

medical assistance and prescription costs resulting from this change. The department shall provide35

quarterly reports to the fiscal committee of the general court relative to any net savings realized36

from the implementation of this section.37



Committee of Conference Report on HB 2-FN-A-LOCAL
- Page 90 -

285 Tax Exemption for Commercial and Industrial Construction. Amend RSA 72:78, I to read1

as follows:2

I. On or before March 1 [following the date of notice of tax under RSA 72:1-d for any]3

preceding the tax year for which the exemption is claimed, a person qualified for an exemption4

under RSA 72:76 shall file an application with the selectmen or assessors, on an application form5

prepared by them, signed by the applicant under penalty of perjury, which contains adequate6

information to demonstrate that the applicant is qualified for the exemption.7

286 Repeal. The following are repealed:8

I. 1955, 442:12, relative to a special tax on certain properties with abutting sidewalks or9

sewer connections.10

II. 1955, 442:13, relative to liens pursuant to the special tax on certain properties with11

abutting sidewalks or sewer connections.12

287 Powers and Duties of the Town of Littleton. The town of Littleton may revise or amend the13

powers and duties set forth in 1955, 442 in accordance with the procedures established in RSA 49-B,14

and without legislative approval.15

288 Nullification. Section 1 and paragraph I of section 5 of HB 518 of the 2009 regular16

legislative session shall not take effect.17

289 Additional Layoffs or Personnel-Related Savings. For the biennium ending June 30, 2011,18

the governor shall implement a plan to reduce general fund appropriations through layoffs or19

personnel-related savings by an additional $25,000,000.20

290 Education Trust Fund; Transfer to General Fund. Notwithstanding RSA 198:39, any funds21

remaining in the education trust fund as of June 30, 2009, June 30, 2010, and June 30, 2011 shall be22

transferred to the general fund as undesignated surplus.23

291 Commission Established.24

I. There is established a commission to study future sustainable revenue sources for funding25

improvements to state and municipal highways and bridges.26

II.(a) The members of the commission shall be as follows:27

(1) Three members of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the28

house of representatives.29

(2) Three members of the senate, appointed by the president of the senate.30

(3) The governor, or designee.31

(4) The commissioner of the department of safety, or designee.32

(5) The commissioner of the department of transportation, or designee.33

(6)  The chairperson of the governor’s advisory commission on intermodal 34

transportation, or designee.35

(7) A public member, appointed by the governor.36

(b) Legislative members of the commission shall receive mileage at the legislative rate37
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when attending to the duties of the commission.1

III. The commission shall study future sustainable revenue sources for funding2

improvements to state and municipal highways and bridges.3

IV. The members of the commission shall elect a chairperson from among the members. The4

first meeting of the commission shall be called by the first-named house member. The first meeting5

of the commission shall be held within 45 days of the effective date of this section. Five members of6

the commission shall constitute a quorum.7

V. The commission shall report its findings and any recommendations for proposed8

legislation to the speaker of the house of representatives, the president of the senate, the house9

clerk, the senate clerk, the governor, and the state library on or before November 1, 2010.10

292 Department of Health and Human Services; Diversion Incentive Grants. Notwithstanding11

any provision of law or rule to the contrary, for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2010, the department12

of health and human services shall distribute funds for diversion incentive grants to the same13

providers in the same amounts as they received in fiscal year 2009. If appropriations contained in14

accounting unit 05-95-40-403010-5857 for fiscal year 2010 are less than the amount of grants15

distributed in fiscal year 2009, the department shall prorate grants so that all recipients receive the16

same proportion they received during fiscal year 2009.17

293 Effective Date.18

I. Sections 1, 6-7, 50, and 161 of this act shall take effect June 30, 2009.19

II. Section 55 of this act shall take effect June 1, 2009.20

III. Sections 89-94 of this act shall take effect October 1, 2009.21

IV. Sections 269 and 271 of this act shall take effect January 1, 2010.22

V. Sections 132-143 of this act shall take effect January 1, 2011.23

VI. Sections 118, 144-149, 192, and 264 of this act shall take effect 60 days after its passage.24

VII. Section 150 of this act shall take effect July 1, 2015.25

VIII. Sections 163-175 of this act shall take effect July 1, 2010.26

IX. Sections 247 and 248 shall take effect July 1, 2011.27

X. The remainder of this act shall take effect July 1, 2009.28

29
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2009-2333-CofC

AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill:

1. Transfers $110,000,000 from the New Hampshire Medical Malpractice Joint Underwriting
Association Post-1985 Account to the general fund.

2. Increases the tobacco tax.

3. Increases the meals and rooms tax, adds campsites to the definition of hotel, and dedicates a
portion of meals and rooms tax revenues to the division of travel and tourism development.

4. Funds meals and rooms distributions to cities and towns for each fiscal year of the biennium
ending June 30, 2011 at no more than the fiscal year 2009 level of distribution.

5. Suspends revenue sharing with cities and towns for the biennium ending June 30, 2011.

6. Authorizes the state to bond $40,000,000 of school building aid expenses in the capital budget
for the 2009 fiscal year, authorizes bonded appropriations for school building aid expenses in the
amount of $44,943,448 for the 2010 fiscal year, and $46,260,234 for the 2011 fiscal year, and
provides that the state treasurer shall bond all appropriations for school building aid under
RSA 198:15-a. The source of payment for the bonds and notes shall be the state portion of meals and
room tax revenue.

7. Increases the fees for motor vehicle records charged to insurance companies and drivers.

8. Authorizes the commissioner of safety to make certain personnel reallocations.

9. Allows the department of safety to transfer funds appropriated for the biennium ending June
30, 2011 within the budget of the division of state police.

10. Allows the commissioner of the department of health and human services to fill unfunded
positions under certain circumstances.

11. Requires the commissioner of the department of health and human services and the
commissioner of the department of revenue administrative services to renew their memorandum of
understanding for the purpose of determining and reviewing eligibility for medical assistance
pursuant to Titles XIX and XXI of the Social Security Act and Temporary Assistance to Needy
Families.

12. Requires the bureau of behavioral health, department of health and human services, to
maintain a limit on benefits for adults with low service utilization of community mental health
services.

13. Amends the law regarding total billings to counties for the purposes of persons eligible to
receive nursing home services.

14. Suspends the liquor revenues to the alcohol abuse prevention and treatment fund for the
biennium ending June 30, 2011 and requires such revenues to be deposited into the liquor
commission fund.
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15. Requires the department of health and human services to submit a Medicaid state plan
amendment for the purposes of suspending direct graduate medical education payments to hospitals
until June 30, 2011.

16. Requires the commissioner of the department of health and human services to adopt rules
under RSA 541-A to adjust premiums for the State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP).

17. Requires the department of health and human services to submit a Medicaid state plan
amendment for approval by the federal Centers of Medicare and Medicaid Services creating a
Medicaid provider classification for critical access hospitals located in Coos county.

18. Requires the department of health and human services to establish a medical home pilot
program.

19. Repeals the law relative to a Medicaid waiver to support the extension of Medicaid-
allowable HIV/AIDS services.

20. Clarifies what moneys are to be credited to the lead poisoning prevention fund.

21. Establishes 7 unclassified pharmacist positions in the department of health and human
services to replace classified pharmacist positions.

22. Changes the percentage of the amount appropriated for placement costs to be used for
certain juvenile programs under the law regarding services for children, youth and families.

23. Suspends the residential child care facilities rate setting rule.

24. Eliminates certain reimbursements for transportation and for assigned counsel for
delinquent children, children under the Child Protection Act, and children in need of services.

25. Suspends for the biennium laws relative to the funeral expenses to certain recipients of
public assistance and certain other reimbursement for care of an assisted person.

26. Limits the ability of the department of health and human services to change program
eligibility standards and rates in the biennium ending June 30, 2011.

27. Provides that, for the biennium ending June 30, 2011, the department of health and human
services may accept and expend additional revenues above budgeted amounts for provider payments
and certain other programs and services, subject to approval of the fiscal committee and governor
and council.

28. Authorizes the department of health and human services to transfer funds within and
among all PAUs within the department for certain purposes, subject to approval of the fiscal
committee and governor and council.

29. Authorizes all departments to advertise requests for proposals and recruitment of personnel
by using the Internet rather than traditional newspaper print media.

30. Increases the percentage of certain outstanding loan principal balances used to pay the costs
of administering the state water pollution control and drinking water revolving loan funds.

31. Increases the fees for department review of subsurface plans and subdivisions and sewage
and waste disposal systems.

32. Establishes the subsurface systems fund and the septage management fund.
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33. Establishes a motor vehicle air pollution abatement fund, increases the fee for motor vehicle
inspection stickers, transfers a portion of the fee to the general fund, and requires that a portion of
the increase be used by the department of environmental services to reduce air pollution in the state
from motor vehicles registered for on-road use.

34. Establishes different contribution rates for retirement members who are employees of the
state based on whether the employee was hired on or before June 30, 2009, or after June 30, 2009.

35. Changes the state share of payment of the retirement system annual employer contribution
and the provision that the state pay a share of the employer contribution for extra or special duty
work of group II members in the retirement system.

36. Requires premium contribution amounts from retired state employees for retiree health
insurance.

37. Changes the retirement system certification of the state cost of other post-employment
benefits.

38. Consolidates certain district courts.

39. Creates a committee to evaluate the physical consolidation of the Claremont and Newport
district courts and family division sites and the closing of Colebrook and Milford district courts.

40. Establishes conditions under which a prisoner may be released from his or her state
sentence and into the custody and control of the United States Immigration and Customs
Enforcement, and specifies conditions for the prisoner’s return to the custody and control of the 
department of corrections.

41. Suspends bumping rights for classified employees and suspends the procedure for layoffs of
permanent employees pursuant to administrative rule Per 1101.02 (d) until June 30, 2011.

42. Provides criteria for rehiring of laid off state employees.

43. Changes the amount of the reserve that the state is required to maintain to pay claims and
administrative costs under a self-insured group health plan.

44. Establishes the position of deputy commissioner in the department of administrative
services and provides that the position shall be unfunded for the biennium ending June 30, 2011,
provided that the commissioner of the department of administrative services, if funding becomes
available during the biennium, may request fiscal committee approval to fund the position.

45. Changes the letter grade classification for the director of plant and property management in
the department of administrative services.

46. Allows the real estate commission to determine how to provide notice of any proposed
rulemaking undertaken by the commission.

47. Creates a director of policy and administration in the department of transportation.

48. Authorizes the department of transportation to convey and the New Hampshire bureau of
turnpikes to acquire, expand, and make improvements to a portion of I-95 in Portsmouth, defines
certain highways, redefines the eastern New Hampshire turnpike, and increases the aggregate
amount of bonds the state may issue.
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49. Adds appropriations for the purpose of carrying out certain highway construction and
improvement projects.

50. Authorizes the commissioner of the department of transportation to enter into discussions
with other jurisdictions regarding reciprocal agreements to assist in the administration and
enforcement of the E-Z pass system.

51. Authorizes the commissioner of transportation to request proposals to commercialize rest
areas, welcome centers, and state liquor store sites along the highways and turnpikes.

52. Suspends the deposit of moneys collected from the sale of moose, bear, turkey, and waterfowl
stamps, licenses, applications, and permits in the game management account. Such moneys shall be
deposited in the fish and game fund and used for its general purposes.

53. Suspends any mandate for expenditure of funds during the 2010-2011 biennium for state
government waste reduction, recycling, and recycled products purchase.

54. Sunsets all non-regulatory boards, commissions, councils, advisory committees, and task
forces created by the legislature, by statute or rule, or by the executive branch, except the McAuliffe-
Shepard discovery center commission and the Connecticut River Valley resource commission. The
bill requires the supreme court to eliminate non-essential judicial branch boards, commissions,
councils, advisory committees, and task forces. The bill also establishes a committee to study the list
of non-regulatory boards, commissions, councils, advisory committees, and task forces and make
recommendations relative to which such entities shall be eliminated.

55. Establishes a committee to study the consolidation of administrative and adjudicative
functions of boards, commissions, and councils regulating occupations and licensing professionals to
provide for increased efficiency and cost savings.

56. Establishes the New Hampshire Workforce Opportunity Council within the department of
resources and economic development.

57. Requires the insurance department to seek governor and council approval for an agreement
with the university system of New Hampshire for support of the New Hampshire Citizens Health
Initiative.

58. Allows the real estate commission to collect a handling charge for fees paid electronically.

59. Allows simulcasting without conducting live horse or dog racing.

60. Establishes the position of chief multi-state auditor for the department of revenue
administration.

61. Establishes a judicial branch information technology fund to be funded by a percentage of
court entry fees and by an increase in the penalty assessment on court fines. Modifies how certain
fines received by the state are credited, and permits persons to pay certain motor vehicle fines
directly to the department of safety by credit card.

62. Modifies the definition of beverage for purposes of the alcoholic beverage laws. This bill also
exempts the liquor commission from state purchasing requirements, changes the distribution of
liquor commission revenue, makes organizational changes to the liquor commission, eliminates
certain restrictions on the closing of state liquor stores, and establishes limitations on the licensing
of new agency liquor stores.

63. Requires the department of safety and department of health and human services to negotiate
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a reduced fee for criminal record checks performed on behalf of the department of health and human
services.

64. Requires the department of safety to impose a $100 fee for researching and correcting the
criminal history record of a petitioner who is granted an annulment.

65. Establishes a recreational saltwater license issued by the fish and game department to
individuals, charter boats, and party boats for taking finfish in coastal and estuarine waters.

66. Increases boating registration and license fees.

67. Requires the department of transportation to erect signs advertising state liquor stores.

68. Provides that no new chartered public schools shall be approved by the state board of
education between July 1, 2009 and June 30, 2011.

69. Establishes a task force on state funding for the Virtual Learning Academy Charter School.

70. Requires the department of health and human services, division of family assistance, to issue
a new request for proposals for transportation for the employment support program for the biennium
ending June 30, 2011.

71. Requires the department of health and human services to submit a Medicaid state plan
amendment relative to the criteria and procedures for catastrophic claims payments under Medicaid.

72. Requires that unused appropriations for nursing services and home health services be paid
to providers.

73. Transfers the authority for enforcement of the liquor laws from the liquor commission to the
department of safety on July 1, 2010 and establishes a committee to study the organizational
structure of the liquor commission.

74. Authorizes the department of safety to charge a fee for certification of reduced ignition
propensity cigarettes and provides that the funds shall be used to support fire safety education.

75. Adds cigars, excluding premium cigars, and snuff to the definition of tobacco products and
increases the tax rate for tobacco products other than cigarettes.

76. Allows departments, agencies, and branches to transfer moneys from any class line, except
for personnel and benefit class lines, within their approved budgets to class line 027 to fund
information technology related projects which would not otherwise be funded.

77. Authorizes the department of information technology to transfer funds within and among its
accounting units, subject to the approval of the fiscal committee of the general court.

78. Specifies the source of funds for court-ordered representation in juvenile delinquency cases
and for counsel appointed to represent an indigent parent who is alleged to have neglected or abused
his or her child.

79. Establishes a division of community corrections within the department of corrections under
the supervision of a director of community corrections.

80. Authorizes the supreme court to establish a fee to be imposed when a court extends the time
for payment of a fine.
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81. Transfers federally funded positions related to bioterrorism and public health emergency
planning from the department of safety to the department of health and human services.

82. Increases the fee charged by the department of safety to nonresidents for a license to carry a
concealed pistol or revolver.

83. Increases vanity plate service fees, requires payment of a vanity plate fee upon renewal, and
eliminates references to the vanity plate fund.

84. Increases the amount of the state guarantee for school building bonds.

85. Authorizes the state treasurer to allocate subsidy payments received from the United States
Treasury relating to the issuance of Build America Bonds to appropriate funds and accounts of the
state.

86. Modifies fee requirements for certain food and beverage licenses.

87. Requires the commissioner of the department of health and human services to provide a list
of fees imposed, total fees collected, and operating costs for state fiscal year 2010 for food protection
programs to the house and senate ways and means committees no later than September 1, 2010.

88. Establishes and changes license fees under the health facility licensure law.

89. Requires the commissioner of health and human services to submit Medicaid state plan
amendments to implement prior authorization of wheelchair van services, non-emergency ambulance
services, occupational therapy services, and methadone clinic services.

90. Requires the department of health and human services to explore and implement the
procurement of medical equipment and/or medical supplies in a manner that is cost efficient and
maintains adequate access under the Medicaid state plan.

91. Requires the commissioner of the department of health and human services to submit a
report to the oversight committee on health and human services by September 30, 2009, detailing
administrative and reporting requirements for community mental health centers which may be
suspended for the biennium ending June 30, 2011, without jeopardizing the public's health and
safety.

92. Requires the commissioner of the department health and human services to establish an
uncompensated care payment system within the parameters of state and federal law, to submit an
amendment to the state Medicaid plan regarding the system, and to make a report to the oversight
committee on health and human services on or before January 1, 2010.

93. Clarifies who must be licensed as a motor fuel and petroleum products transporter.

94. Continues certain executive orders freezing hiring, purchases, and travel.

95. Authorizes the commissioner of the department of transportation to enter into agreements to
lease-purchase vehicles and equipment.

96. Declares that sums received by the department of transportation during the biennium
ending June 30, 2011 from any federal program for emergency assistance shall be collected by the
appropriate agency and appropriated to the department of transportation.

97. Requires certain administrative fines, penalties, and filing fees collected by the secretary of
state to be deposited in the general fund. Currently such fines, penalties, and filing fees are
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deposited in the election fund. The bill also eliminates a restriction on expenditures from the
election fund.

98. Requires the board of tax and land appeals to submit a report the general court regarding
the board’s mission, caseloads, and proposals for increased efficiencies in board operations and costs.

99. Requires the department of administrative services to transfer funds from the workers’ 
compensation civil penalty employer coverage fund and workers’ compensation safety inspection 
fund to the general fund.

100. Requires the commissioner of the department of revenue administration to identify
additional revenues that may be realized from modifications to the applicability of existing state
taxes or the elimination of exemptions from existing state taxes, for implementation by the
legislature.

101. Requires 50 percent of the funds received for the recording surcharge assessed by registers
of deeds to be deposited in the trust fund for the land and community heritage investment program
and 50 percent of such surcharge to be deposited in the general fund for the fiscal year ending
June 30, 2011.

102. Requires the Pease development authority to make payments to the department of
administrative services for its portion of indirect costs for centralized business services.

103. Establishes a committee to study the use of Glencliff Home and county and private nursing
facilities for medically paroled inmates.

104. Increases application fees under the condominium act and the land sales full disclosure act
and authorizes the hiring of a part-time paralegal in the department of justice, consumer protection
and antitrust bureau.

105. Extends the supplemental allowance and certain temporary supplemental allowance
provisions for retirement system beneficiaries one additional year to the fiscal year beginning July 1,
2009.

106. Increases certain motor vehicle registration fees and adds a surcharge for certain motor
vehicle registration fees for the biennium ending June 30, 2011 and directs the department of safety
to dedicate a portion of such funds to the highway and bridge betterment account in each year of the
biennium.

107. Establishes a tax on gambling winnings and makes an appropriation to the department of
revenue administration for the costs of implementing the tax.

108. Repeals a provision that eliminated an eligibility requirement for certain discounts on wine
purchased from the liquor commission.

109. Clarifies the procedures for the criminal history records check required for child day care
provider licensure.

110. Requires the department of safety to provide quarterly reports to the fiscal committee of
the general court relative to the processing of national criminal records checks for the department of
health and human services.

111. Increases the amount of tobacco tax revenue deposited in the general fund.

112. Transfers funds from the general fund to the police standards and training council training
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fund for the 2010 fiscal year.

113. Extends the lapse date for certain disaster assistance funds to June 30, 2011, and permits
the transfer of unexpended funds to other disaster assistance grants.

114. Authorizes the department of health and human services to identify the state funded cost of
administering the Medicaid to Schools program and to seek appropriate federal financial
participation.

115. Clarifies the payment by the department of corrections to health care facilities and
hospitals for medical services for state prisoners.

116. Requires the department of health and human services to remit reimbursement to
Children’s Hospital Boston.

117. Directs the commissioner of the department of education and the director of the office of
economic stimulus to make a report relative to charter school enrollment and eligibility for federal
funds under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

118. Requires the liquor commission to evaluate warehouse operations and transfer $5,000,000
in savings to the general fund.

119.  Changes the definition of “real estate holding company” to include certain federally exempt 
organizations.

120. Requires meals and rentals operators to post a $5,000 bond to secure the payment of taxes
collected. This bill allows the commissioner of revenue administration to enter payment agreements
with taxpayers for terms exceeding 6 months. This bill also allows the commissioner of revenue
administration to deny meals and rentals licenses to applicants who owe unpaid taxes or who apply
on behalf of another person who lost his or her license.

121. Requires business organizations realizing a gain or loss on the sale or exchange of an
interest in the business organization to file a business profits tax return.

122. Makes distributions from limited liability companies, partnerships, and associations
subject to the interest and dividends tax regardless of whether they have transferable shares.

123. Adds new duties to the state retiree health plan commission

124. Establishes a commission to evaluate the long-term uses of the lakes region facility located
in Laconia.

125. Authorizes the department of health and human services to reduce the minimum required
duration of impairment for purposes of eligibility for aid to the permanently and totally disabled
from 48 months to 12 months.

126. Clarifies the application process for the tax exemption for commercial and industrial
construction.

127. Repeals the power of the board of selectmen in the town of Littleton to assess a special tax
and liens pursuant to such tax, and authorizes the town to revise or amend the powers and duties
contained in 1955, 442 in accordance with the procedures established in RSA 49-B, and without
legislative approval.

128. Nullifies a section of HB 518 of the 2009 legislative session which amends RSA 263:40-a.
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I(c), relative to driver’s license application form options, and which conflicts with 2009, 75:2
(HB 211-FN).

129. Requires the governor to implement a plan for the biennium ending June 30, 2011 to
reduce general fund appropriations through layoffs or personnel-related savings.

130. Transfers funds remaining in the education trust fund at the end of the fiscal years 2009,
2010, and 2011 to the general fund.

131. Establishes a commission to study future sustainable revenue sources for funding
improvements to state and municipal highways and bridges.

132. Requires the department of health and human services to distribute funds for diversion
incentive grants to the same providers in the same amounts as they received in fiscal year 2009.


