
LBA Performance Audit Report Summary: 

Medicaid, Home Care for Children with Severe Disabilities Audit Report – April 2004  

 

This performance audit was conducted to determine whether (1) New Hampshire’s Home Care 

For Children With Severe Disabilities (HC-CSD) enrollment and eligibility requirements comply 

with federal laws and regulations; and (2) current HC-CSD administrative rules meet the 

Legislative intent of State statutes. 

The Medicaid program was amended with the enactment of section 134 of the Tax Equity and 

Fiscal Responsibility Act of 1982, also known as the Katie Beckett provision, which gives states 

the option of making Medicaid coverage available to children who qualify as disabled for 

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) under certain conditions. The Katie Beckett provision gives 

states the option to determine as eligible for Medicaid disabled children who are 18 years old and 

younger, and who live at home but would be eligible for Medicaid if living in an institution. If a 

state chooses this option, only the child’s income and resources are counted when determining 

Medicaid eligibility. The Katie Beckett provision bestows the same Medicaid services as it does 

to any other eligible Medicaid recipient. 

 In New Hampshire, RSA 167:3-c, VI directs the Department of Health and Human Services 

(DHHS) commissioner to adopt administrative rules establishing an optional state coverage 

group to provide medical assistance for children under 18 years of age who are severely disabled. 

As a result, the DHHS created the HC-CSD Medicaid eligibility optional coverage group, which 

was implemented in 1989. Our audit work determined the intent of RSA 167:3-c, VI was to 

provide medical assistance coverage to severely disabled children under the age of 18. It is clear 

from State statute and Legislative history the Legislature intended the DHHS commissioner to 

adopt administrative rules to effectuate medical assistance coverage for severely disabled 

children under the Medicaid State plan. The statute provides the commissioner broad discretion 

to adopt rules enabling the State to provide Medicaid to children with severe disabilities, but 

does not include critical definitions such as what constitutes a severely disabled child. 

Our report presents seven observations with recommendations. The first observation concerns 

the department’s inability to report the number of children enrolled in HC-CSD and their 

associated costs in a timely, accurate, and reliable format. Four observations address federal 

compliance issues, while two observations address State compliance issues.  

Observations 

 Improve Accuracy and Reliability of HC-CSD Information 

 The DHHS was unable to provide reliable reports for the HC-CSD eligibility option. Although 

DHHS provided some figures purporting the number of children found eligible through HC-CSD 

and related expenses, we were not confident the numbers were accurate. 



 Compliance With Federal Laws And Regulations 

 We found some administrative rules promulgated by the department do not comply with various 

requirements of federal statutes and regulations. State administrative rules do not comply with 

federal requirements in the areas of cost effectiveness, living arrangements, and the use of 

disability standards. We also found State law does not comply with federal requirements to 

provide Medicaid services to severely disabled children 18 years old or younger. 

 Compliance With State Laws And Regulations 

 We found most HC-CSD administrative rules expired in 2002. As a result DHHS has been 

making eligibility determinations without rules required by RSA 167:3-c, VI and RSA 541-A. 

We also found several incorrect references cited in HC-CSD administrative rules, making it 

difficult to understand the requirements a child must meet to be found Medicaid eligible through 

HC-CSD.  


