SB 240 - AS INTRODUCED

2022 SESSION

22-2890 11/04

SENATE BILL 240

AN ACT apportioning state senate districts.

SPONSORS: Sen. Gray, Dist 6; Sen. Bradley, Dist 3; Sen. Avard, Dist 12; Sen. Morse, Dist 22;

Sen. Ward, Dist 8; Sen. Carson, Dist 14; Sen. Birdsell, Dist 19; Sen. Daniels, Dist

11; Rep. W. MacDonald, Rock. 5

COMMITTEE: Election Law and Municipal Affairs

ANALYSIS

This bill establishes new state senate districts in accordance with the latest federal decennial census.

Explanation: Matter added to current law appears in **bold italics**.

Matter removed from current law appears [in brackets and struckthrough.]

Matter which is either (a) all new or (b) repealed and reenacted appears in regular type.

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

In the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand Twenty Two

AN ACT apportioning state senate districts.

Be it Enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court convened:

- 1 State Senate Districts. RSA 662:3 is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:
- 2 662:3 State Senate Districts. The state is divided into 24 districts for the choosing of state
- 3 senators, each of which may elect one senator. The districts shall be constituted as follows:
- 4 I. Senatorial district number 1 is constituted of Atkinson & Gilmanton Academy Grant,
- 5 Bath, Bean's Grant, Bean's Purchase, Benton, Berlin, Bethlehem, Cambridge, Carroll, Chandler's
- 6 Purchase, Clarksville, Colebrook, Columbia, Crawford's Purchase, Cutt's Grant, Dalton, Dix's Grant,
- 7 Dixville, Dummer, Easton, Errol, Erving's Location, Franconia, Gorham, Green's Grant, Hadley's
- 8 Purchase, Jefferson, Kilkenny, Lancaster, Landaff, Lincoln, Lisbon, Littleton, Livermore, Low and
- 9 Burbank's Grant, Lyman, Martin's Location, Milan, Millsfield, Monroe, Northumberland, Odell,
- 10 Pinkham's Grant, Pittsburg, Randolph, Sargent's Purchase, Second College Grant, Shelburne, Stark,
- 11 Stewartstown, Stratford, Success, Sugar Hill, Thornton, Thompson and Meserve's Purchase,
- 12 Wentworth's Location, Whitefield, and Woodstock.
- 13 II. Senatorial district number 2 is constituted of Alexandria, Ashland, Bridgewater, Bristol,
- 14 Campton, Center Harbor, Danbury, Dorchester, Ellsworth, Grafton, Groton, Haverhill, Hebron, Hill,
- 15 Holderness, Meredith, New Hampton, Orange, Orford, Piermont, Plymouth, Rumney, Sanbornton,
- 16 Tilton, Warren, Wentworth, and Wilmot.
- 17 III. Senatorial district number 3 is constituted of Albany, Bartlett, Brookfield, Chatham,
- 18 Conway, Eaton, Effingham, Freedom, Hale's Location, Hart's Location, Jackson, Madison,
- 19 Middleton, Milton, Moultonborough, Ossipee, Sandwich, Tamworth, Tuftonboro, Wakefield,
- 20 Waterville Valley, and Wolfeboro.
- 21 IV. Senatorial district number 4 is constituted of Barrington, Dover, Rollinsford, and
- 22 Somersworth.
- V. Senatorial district number 5 is constituted of Canaan, Charlestown, Claremont, Cornish,
- 24 Enfield, Hanover, Lebanon, Lyme, and Plainfield.
- VI. Senatorial district number 6 is constituted of Alton, Barnstead, Farmington, Gilmanton,
- 26 New Durham, and Rochester.
- VII. Senatorial district number 7 is constituted of Andover, Belmont, Boscawen, Canterbury,
- 28 Franklin, Gilford, Laconia, Northfield, Salisbury, and Webster.
- VIII. Senatorial district number 8 is constituted of Acworth, Antrim, Bennington, Bradford,
- 30 Croydon, Deering, Francestown, Goshen, Grantham, Hillsborough, Langdon, Lempster, Marlow,

SB 240 - AS INTRODUCED - Page 2 -

- 1 New London, Newbury, Newport, Springfield, Stoddard, Sunapee, Sutton, Unity, Washington,
- 2 Weare, and Windsor.
- 3 IX. Senatorial district number 9 is constituted of Bedford, Dublin, Fitzwilliam, Greenfield,
- 4 Hancock, Jaffrey, Lyndeborough, Mont Vernon, New Boston, Peterborough, Richmond, Sharon,
- 5 Temple, and Troy.
- 6 X. Senatorial district number 10 is constituted of Alstead, Chesterfield, Gilsum, Harrisville,
- 7 Hinsdale, Keene, Marlborough, Nelson, Roxbury, Sullivan, Surry, Swanzey, Walpole, Westmoreland,
- 8 and Winchester.
- 9 XI. Senatorial district number 11 is constituted of Amherst, Merrimack, Milford, and
- 10 Wilton.
- 11 XII. Senatorial district number 12 is constituted of wards 1, 2, and 5 in Nashua, and
- 12 Brookline, Greenville, Hollis, Mason, New Ipswich, and Rindge.
- 13 XIII. Senatorial district number 13 is constituted of wards 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, and 9 in Nashua.
- 14 XIV. Senatorial district number 14 is constituted of Auburn, Hudson, and Londonderry.
- 15 XV. Senatorial district number 15 is constituted of Concord, Henniker, Hopkinton, and
- 16 Warner.
- 17 XVI. Senatorial district number 16 is constituted of wards 1, 2, and 12 in Manchester, and
- 18 Bow, Candia, Dunbarton, and Hooksett.
- 19 XVII. Senatorial district number 17 is constituted of Allenstown, Chichester, Deerfield,
- 20 Epsom, Loudon, Northwood, Nottingham, Pembroke, Pittsfield, Raymond, and Strafford.
- 21 XVIII. Senatorial district number 18 is constituted of wards 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 in Manchester,
- 22 and Litchfield.
- 23 XIX. Senatorial district number 19 is constituted of Derry, Hampstead, and Windham.
- 24 XX. Senatorial district number 20 is constituted of wards 3, 4, 10, and 11 in Manchester,
- and Goffstown.
- 26 XXI. Senatorial district number 21 is constituted of Durham, Lee, Madbury, Newfields,
- 27 Newington, Newmarket, and Portsmouth.
- 28 XXII. Senatorial district number 22 is constituted of Atkinson, Pelham, Plaistow, and
- 29 Salem.
- 30 XXIII. Senatorial district number 23 is constituted of Brentwood, Chester, Danville, East
- 31 Kingston, Epping, Exeter, Fremont, Kingston, and Sandown.
- 32 XXIV. Senatorial district number 24 is constituted of Greenland, Hampton, Hampton Falls,
- 33 Kensington, New Castle, Newton, North Hampton, Rye, Seabrook, South Hampton, and Stratham.
- 34 2 Application. The changes in state senate districts established by this act shall not affect
- 35 constituencies or terms of office of senators presently in office. The state senate districts established
- 36 by this act shall be in effect for the purpose of electing senators at the 2022 state general election. If
- 37 there shall be a vacancy in a state senate district for any reason prior to the 2022 state general

SB 240 - AS INTRODUCED - Page 3 -

- election, the vacancy shall be filled by and from the same state senate district that existed for the
- 2 2020 state general election. No provision of this act shall affect in any manner any of the
- 3 proceedings of the membership of the senate of the general court that assembled for a biennial
- 4 session in January 2021.

5

3 Effective Date. This act shall take effect upon its passage.