SB 254 - AS INTRODUCED

2022 SESSION

 $\begin{array}{c} 22\text{-}3019 \\ 11/05 \end{array}$

SENATE BILL 254

AN ACT apportioning executive council districts.

SPONSORS: Sen. Soucy, Dist 18; Sen. Cavanaugh, Dist 16; Sen. Sherman, Dist 24; Sen. Rosenwald, Dist 13; Sen. Watters, Dist 4; Sen. Perkins Kwoka, Dist 21; Sen. Prentiss, Dist 5; Sen. Whitley, Dist 15; Sen. Kahn, Dist 10; Sen. D'Allesandro, Dist 20; Rep. Cote, Hills. 31; Rep. Wilhelm, Hills. 42

COMMITTEE: Election Law and Municipal Affairs

ANALYSIS

This bill establishes new councilor districts based on the latest federal decennial census.

Explanation:Matter added to current law appears in **bold italics.**
Matter removed from current law appears [in brackets and struckthrough.]
Matter which is either (a) all new or (b) repealed and reenacted appears in regular type.

SB 254 - AS INTRODUCED

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

In the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand Twenty Two

AN ACT

1

Be it Enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court convened:

1 Councilor Districts. RSA 662:2 is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:

apportioning executive council districts.

2 662:2 Councilor Districts. The state is divided into 5 districts for the choosing of councilors, 3 each of which may elect one councilor. The districts shall be constituted as follows:

I. Councilor district number 1 is constituted of the counties of Coos and Grafton, the unincorporated place of Hale's Location, the towns of Albany, Alton, Bartlett, Belmont, Center Harbor, Charlestown, Chatham, Conway, Cornish, Croydon, Eaton, Effingham, Freedom, Gilford, Grantham, Hart's Location, Jackson, Madison, Meredith, Moultonborough, New Hampton, Newport, Ossipee, Plainfield, Sanbornton, Sandwich, Springfield, Sunapee, Tamworth, Tilton, Tuftonboro, Wakefield, and Wolfeboro and the cities of Claremont and Laconia.

10 II. Councilor district number 2 is constituted of the towns of Acworth, Allenstown, Alstead, 11 Andover, Antrim, Barnstead, Bennington, Boscawen, Bow, Bradford, Brookfield, Canterbury, 12Chesterfield, Chichester, Danbury, Deerfield, Deering, Dublin, Epsom, Farmington, Francestown, 13Gilmanton, Gilsum, Goshen, Greenfield, Hancock, Harrisville, Henniker, Hill, Hillsborough, 14Hopkinton, Langdon, Lempster, Loudon, Marlborough, Marlow, Middleton, Milton, Nelson, New 15Durham, Newbury, New London, Northfield, Northwood, Pembroke, Pittsfield, Rollinsford, Roxbury, 16Salisbury, Stoddard, Strafford, Sullivan, Surry, Sutton, Unity, Walpole, Warner, Washington, 17Weare, Webster, Westmoreland, Wilmot, and Windsor and the cities of Concord, Franklin, 18Rochester, and Somersworth.

III. Councilor district number 3 is constituted of the towns of Atkinson, Barrington,
Brentwood, Chester, Danville, Durham, East Kingston, Epping, Exeter, Fremont, Greenland,
Hampstead, Hampton, Hampton Falls, Kensington, Kingston, Lee, Madbury, New Castle, Newfields,
Newington, Newmarket, Newton, North Hampton, Nottingham, Plaistow, Rye, Salem, Sandown,
Seabrook, South Hampton, Stratham, and Windham and the cities of Dover and Portsmouth.

~

IV. Councilor district number 4 is constituted of the towns of Auburn, Bedford, Candia,
Derry, Hooksett, Hudson, Litchfield, Londonderry, Pelham, and Raymond and the city of
Manchester.

V. Councilor district number 5 is constituted of the towns of Amherst, Brookline, Dunbarton,
Fitzwilliam, Goffstown, Greenville, Hinsdale, Hollis, Jaffrey, Lyndeborough, Mason, Merrimack,
Milford, Mont Vernon, New Boston, New Ipswich, Peterborough, Richmond, Rindge, Sharon,
Swanzey, Temple, Troy, Wilton, and Winchester and the cities of Keene and Nashua.

SB 254 - AS INTRODUCED - Page 2 -

1 2 Application. The changes in councilor districts established by this act shall not affect 2 constituencies or terms of office of councilors presently in office. The councilor districts established 3 by this act shall be in effect for the purpose of electing councilors at the 2022 state general election. 4 If there shall be a vacancy in a councilor district for any reason prior to the 2022 state general 5 election, the vacancy shall be filled by and from the same councilor district that existed for the 2020 6 state general election.

7 3 Effective Date. This act shall take effect upon its passage.