### CHAPTER 46 SB 241 - FINAL VERSION

03/24/2022 1188s

## 2022 SESSION

22-2891 11/08

SENATE BILL	241
AN ACT	apportioning executive council districts.
SPONSORS:	Sen. Gray, Dist 6; Sen. Bradley, Dist 3; Sen. Avard, Dist 12; Sen. Morse, Dist 22; Sen. Carson, Dist 14; Sen. Ward, Dist 8; Sen. Birdsell, Dist 19; Sen. Daniels, Dist 11; Rep. W. MacDonald, Rock. 5
COMMITTEE:	Election Law and Municipal Affairs

# ANALYSIS

This bill establishes new councilor districts based on the latest federal decennial census.

------

Explanation:Matter added to current law appears in *bold italics.*Matter removed from current law appears [in brackets and struckthrough.]Matter which is either (a) all new or (b) repealed and reenacted appears in regular type.

### CHAPTER 46 SB 241 - FINAL VERSION

22-2891 11/08

#### STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

In the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand Twenty Two

AN ACT apportioning executive council districts.

Be it Enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court convened:

1 46:1 Councilor Districts. RSA 662:2 is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:

2 662:2 Councilor Districts. The state is divided into 5 districts for the choosing of councilors, each of
 3 which may elect one councilor. The districts shall be constituted as follows:

4 I. Councilor district number 1 is constituted of the towns, cities, and unincorporated places of 5 Albany, Alexandria, Alton, Atkinson and Gilmanton Academy Grant, Bartlett, Bean's Grant, Bean's 6 Purchase, Belmont, Berlin, Bridgewater, Bristol, Brookfield, Cambridge, Center Harbor, Chandler's 7 Purchase, Chatham, Clarksville, Colebrook, Columbia, Conway, Crawford's Purchase, Cutt's Grant, 8 Dalton, Danbury, Dix's Grant, Dixville, Dover, Dummer, Durham, Eaton, Effingham, Errol, Erving's 9 Location, Farmington, Franklin, Freedom, Gilford, Gilmanton, Gorham, Green's Grant, Hadley's Purchase, 10 Hale's Location, Hart's Location, Hebron, Hill, Jackson, Jefferson, Kilkenny, Laconia, Lancaster, 11 Livermore, Low and Burbank's Grant, Madbury, Madison, Martin's Location, Meredith, Middleton, Milan, 12 Millsfield, Milton, Moultonborough, New Durham, New Hampton, Northfield, Northumberland, Odell, 13 Ossipee, Pinkham's Grant, Pittsburg, Randolph, Rochester, Rollinsford, Sanbornton, Sandwich, Sargent's 14 Purchase, Second College Grant, Shelburne, Somersworth, Stark, Stewartstown, Stratford, Success, Tamworth, Thompson & Meserve's Purchase, Tilton, Tuftonboro, Wakefield, Waterville Valley, 15 16 Wentworth's Location, Whitefield, and Wolfeboro.

17 II. Councilor district number 2 is constituted of the towns and cities of Acworth, Alstead, Andover, 18 Ashland, Bath, Benton, Bethlehem, Boscawen, Bow, Bradford, Campton, Canaan, Canterbury, Carroll, 19 Charlestown, Chesterfield, Claremont, Concord, Cornish, Croydon, Dorchester, Dublin, Easton, Ellsworth, 20 Enfield, Franconia, Gilsum, Grafton, Grantham, Groton, Hancock, Hanover, Harrisville, Haverhill, 21 Henniker, Hinsdale, Holderness, Hopkinton, Keene, Landaff, Langdon, Lebanon, Lincoln, Lisbon, 22 Littleton, Lyman, Lyme, Marlborough, Marlow, Monroe, Nelson, New London, Newbury, Newport, Orange, 23 Orford, Peterborough, Piermont, Plainfield, Plymouth, Roxbury, Rumney, Salisbury, Sharon, Springfield, 24 Sugar Hill, Sullivan, Sunapee, Surry, Sutton, Thornton, Unity, Walpole, Warner, Warren, Webster, 25 Wentworth, Westmoreland, Wilmot, Winchester, and Woodstock.

III. Councilor district number 3 is constituted of the towns and cities of Atkinson, Brentwood,
Chester, Danville, Derry, East Kingston, Epping, Exeter, Fremont, Greenland, Hampstead, Hampton,
Hampton Falls, Kensington, Kingston, New Castle, Newfields, Newington, Newmarket, Newton, North
Hampton, Pelham, Plaistow, Portsmouth, Raymond, Rye, Salem, Sandown, Seabrook, South Hampton,
Stratham, and Windham.

### CHAPTER 46 SB 241 - FINAL VERSION - Page 2 -

IV. Councilor district number 4 is constituted of the towns and cities of Allenstown, Auburn,
 Barnstead, Barrington, Bedford, Candia, Chichester, Deerfield, Epsom, Goffstown, Hooksett, Lee,
 Londonderry, Loudon, Manchester, Northwood, Nottingham, Pembroke, Pittsfield, and Strafford.

V. Councilor district number 5 is constituted of the towns and cities of Amherst, Antrim,
Bennington, Brookline, Deering, Dunbarton, Fitzwilliam, Francestown, Goshen, Greenfield, Greenville,
Hillsborough, Hollis, Hudson, Jaffrey, Lempster, Litchfield, Lyndeborough, Mason, Merrimack, Milford,
Mont Vernon, Nashua, New Boston, New Ipswich, Richmond, Rindge, Stoddard, Swanzey, Temple, Troy,
Washington, Weare, Wilton, and Windsor.

9 46:2 Application. The changes in councilor districts established by this act shall not affect 10 constituencies or terms of office of councilors presently in office. The councilor districts established by 11 this act shall be in effect for the purpose of electing councilors at the 2022 state general election. If there 12 shall be a vacancy in a councilor district for any reason prior to the 2022 state general election, the 13 vacancy shall be filled by and from the same councilor district that existed for the 2020 state general 14 election.

46:3 Effective Date. This act shall take effect upon its passage.

Approved: May 06, 2022 Effective Date: May 06, 2022