5May2022... 1702h 05/26/2022 2023CofC

2022 SESSION

22-3003 10/08

SENATE BILL	200
AN ACT	apportioning congressional districts.
SPONSORS:	Sen. Giuda, Dist 2; Rep. Ladd, Graf. 4; Rep. Binford, Graf. 15
COMMITTEE:	Election Law and Municipal Affairs

AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill establishes new United States House of Representative districts in accordance with the latest federal decennial census.

Explanation:Matter added to current law appears in *bold italics.*Matter removed from current law appears [in brackets and struckthrough.]Matter which is either (a) all new or (b) repealed and reenacted appears in regular type.

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

In the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand Twenty Two

AN ACT apportioning congressional districts.

Be it Enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court convened:

T 0.5. Representative Districts. NOA 002. This repeated and reenacted to read as follows.	1	1 U.S. Representative Districts.	RSA 662:1 is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:
---	---	----------------------------------	---

662:1 U.S. Representative Districts. The state is divided into 2 districts for the choosing of
representatives in the congress of the United States. Each district may elect one representative. The
districts shall be constituted as follows:

5	I. The first district is constituted of:
6	(a) The counties of:
7	(1) Belknap,
8	(2) Rockingham, and
9	(3) Strafford,
10	(b) In the county of Carroll, the towns of:
11	(1) Brookfield,
12	(2) Effingham,
13	(3) Moultonborough,
14	(4) Ossipee,
15	(5) Tuftonboro,
16	(6) Wakefield, and
17	(7) Wolfeboro.
18	(c) In the county of Hillsborough, the towns of:
19	(1) Bedford,
20	(2) Hudson,
21	(3) Litchfield,
22	(4) Merrimack, and
23	(5) Pelham.
24	(d) In the county of Merrimack, the towns and city of:
25	(1) Allenstown,
26	(2) Andover,
27	(3) Canterbury,
28	(4) Chichester,
29	(5) Epsom,
30	(6) Franklin,
31	(7) Hill,
32	(8) Hooksett,

SB 200 - FINAL VERSION - Page 2 -

	- Page 2 -
1	(9) Loudon,
2	(10) Northfield, and
3	(11) Pittsfield.
4	II. The second district is constituted of:
5	(a) The counties of:
6	(1) Cheshire,
7	(2) Coos,
8	(3) Grafton, and
9	(4) Sullivan.
10	(b) In the county of Carroll, the towns of:
11	(1) Albany,
12	(2) Bartlett,
13	(3) Chatham,
14	(4) Conway,
15	(5) Eaton,
16	(6) Freedom,
17	(7) Hale's Location,
18	(8) Hart's Location,
19	(9) Jackson,
20	(10) Madison,
21	(11) Sandwich, and
22	(12) Tamworth.
23	(c) In the county of Hillsborough, the towns and cities of:
24	(1) Amherst,
25	(2) Antrim,
26	(3) Bennington,
27	(4) Brookline,
28	(5) Deering,
29	(6) Francestown,
30	(7) Goffstown,
31	(8) Greenfield,
32	(9) Greenville,
33	(10) Hancock,
34	(11) Hillsborough,
35	(12) Hollis,
36	(13) Lyndeborough,
37	(14) Manchester,
38	(15) Mason,
39	(16) Milford,
40	(17) Mont Vernon,

SB 200 - FINAL VERSION - Page 3 -

	- raye 5 -
1	(18) Nashua,
2	(19) New Boston,
3	(20) New Ipswich,
4	(21) Peterborough,
5	(22) Sharon,
6	(23) Temple,
7	(24) Weare,
8	(25) Wilton, and
9	(26) Windsor.
10	(d) In the county of Merrimack, the towns and city of:
11	(1) Boscawen,
12	(2) Bow,
13	(3) Bradford,
14	(4) Concord,
15	(5) Danbury,
16	(6) Dunbarton,
17	(7) Henniker,
18	(8) Hopkinton,
19	(9) New London,
20	(10) Newbury,
21	(11) Pembroke,
22	(12) Salisbury,
23	(13) Sutton,
24	(14) Warner,
25	(15) Webster, and
26	(16) Wilmot.
27	2 Application. This act shall in no way disqualify any person from any elective office to which he or
28	she was elected prior to the effective date of this act.
29	3 Effective Date. This act shall take effect upon its passage.
30	
31	VETOED May 27, 2022
32	SUSTAINED September 15, 2022