HB 52 - FINAL VERSION

5Jan2022... 2271h

2022 SESSION

21-0636 11/06

HOUSE BILL 52

AN ACT apportioning congressional districts.

SPONSORSF Rep. B. Griffin, Hills. 6

COMMITTEE: Special Committee on Redistricting

ANALYSIS

This bill establishes new United States House of Representative districts in accordance with the latest federal decennial census.

.....

Explanation: Matter added to current law appears in *bold italics*.

Matter removed from current law appears [in brackets and struckthrough.]

Matter which is either (a) all new or (b) repealed and reenacted appears in regular type.

33

(10) Loudon,

21-0636 11/06

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

In the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand Twenty Two

AN ACT apportioning congressional districts.

Be it Enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court convened:

1	1 U.S. Representative Districts. RSA 662:1 is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:			
2	662:1 U.S. Representative Districts. The state is divided into 2 districts for the choosing of			
3	representatives in the congress of the United States. Each district may elect one representative. The			
4	districts shall be constituted as follows:			
5	I. The first district is constituted of:			
6	(a) The county of Belknap;			
7	(b) In the county of Carroll, the towns of:			
8	(1) Moultonborough,			
9	(2) Tuftonboro,			
10	(3) Wolfeboro.			
11	(c) In the county of Grafton, the town of:			
12	(1) Bridgewater.			
13	(d) In the county of Hillsborough the towns and city of:			
14	(1) Bedford,			
15	(2) Goffstown,			
16	(3) Hudson,			
17	(4) Litchfield,			
18	(5) Manchester,			
19	(6) Merrimack,			
20	(7) New Boston,			
21	(8) Pelham,			
22	(9) Weare.			
23	(e) In the county of Merrimack, the towns and city of:			
24	(1) Allenstown,			
25	(2) Canterbury,			
26	(3) Chichester,			
27	(4) Danbury,			
28	(5) Dunbarton,			
29	(6) Epsom,			
30	(7) Franklin,			
31	(8) Hill,			
32	(9) Hooksett,			

HB 52 - FINAL VERSION - Page 2 -

1	(11) Northfield,	
2	(12) Pembroke,	
3	(13) Pittsfield.	
4	(f) In the county of Rockingham, the towns and city of:	
5	(1) Atkinson,	
6	(2) Auburn,	
7	(3) Brentwood,	
8	(4) Candia,	
9	(5) Chester,	
10	(6) Danville,	
11	(7) Derry,	
12	· · ·	
13		
14	. ,	
15	(11) Exeter,	
16	(12) Fremont,	
17	(13) Greenland,	
18	(14) Hampstead,	
19	(15) Hampton,	
20	(16) Hampton Falls,	
21	(17) Kensington,	
22	(18) Kingston,	
23	(19) Londonderry,	
24	(20) Newfields,	
25	(21) Newmarket,	
26	(22) Newton,	
27	(23) North Hampton,	
28	(24) Northwood,	
29	(25) Nottingham,	
30	(26) Plaistow,	
31	(27) Raymond,	
32	(28) Rye,	
33	(29) Salem,	
34	(30) Sandown,	
35	(31) Seabrook,	
36	(32) South Hampton,	
37	(33) Stratham,	
38	(34) Windham.	
39	(g) In the county of Strafford, the towns of:	
40	(1) New Durham,	

HB 52 - FINAL VERSION - Page 3 -

1	(2) Strafford.		
2	II. The second district is constituted of:		
3	(a) The counties of:		
4	(1) Cheshire,		
5	(2) Coos,		
6	(3) Sullivan.		
7	(b) In the county of Carroll, the towns and unincorporated places of:		
8	(1) Albany,		
9	(2) Bartlett,		
10	(3) Brookfield,		
11	(4) Chatham,		
12	(5) Conway,		
13	(6) Eaton,		
14	(7) Effingham,		
15	(8) Freedom,		
16	(9) Hale's Location,		
17	(10) Hart's Location,		
18	(11) Jackson,		
19	(12) Ossipee,		
20	(13) Madison,		
21	(14) Sandwich,		
22	(15) Tamworth,		
23	(16) Wakefield.		
24	(c) In the county of Grafton, the towns, city, and unincorporated place of:		
25	(1) Alexandria,		
26	(2) Ashland,		
27	(3) Bath,		
28	(4) Benton,		
29	(5) Bethlehem,		
30	(6) Bristol,		
31	(7) Campton,		
32	(8) Canaan,		
33	(9) Dorchester,		
34	(10) Easton,		
35	(11) Ellsworth,		
36	(12) Enfield,		
37	(13) Franconia,		
38	(14) Grafton,		
39	(15) Groton,		
40	(16) Hanover,		

HB 52 - FINAL VERSION - Page 4 -

		- rage + -
1	(17)	Haverhill,
2	(18)	Hebron,
3	(19)	Holderness,
4	(20)	Landaff,
5	(21)	Lebanon,
6	(22)	Lincoln,
7	(23)	Lisbon,
8	(24)	Littleton,
9	(25)	Livermore,
10	(26)	Lyman,
11	(27)	Lyme,
12	(28)	Monroe,
13	(29)	Orange,
14	(30)	Orford,
15	(31)	Piermont,
16	(32)	Plymouth,
17	(33)	Rumney,
18	(34)	Sugar Hill,
19	(35)	Thornton,
20	(36)	Warren,
21	(37)	Waterville Valley,
22	(38)	Wentworth,
23	(39)	Woodstock.
24	(d) In the	e county of Hillsborough, the towns and city of:
25	(1) A	Amherst,
26	(2) A	Antrim,
27	(3) E	Bennington,
28	(4) E	Brookline,
29	(5) [Deering,
30	(6) F	rancestown,
31	(7) (Greenfield,
32	(8)	Greenville,
33	(9) H	łancock,
34	(10)	Hillsborough,
35	(11)	Hollis,
36	(12)	Lyndeborough,
37	(13)	Mason,
38	(14)	Milford,
39	(15)	Mont Vernon,
40	(16)	Nashua,

HB 52 - FINAL VERSION - Page 5 -

	- Fage 5 -
1	(17) New Ipswich,
2	(18) Peterborough,
3	(19) Sharon,
4	(20) Temple,
5	(21) Wilton,
6	(22) Windsor.
7	(e) In the county of Merrimack, the towns and city of:
8	(1) Andover,
9	(2) Boscawen,
10	(3) Bow,
11	(4) Bradford,
12	(5) Concord,
13	(6) Henniker,
14	(7) Hopkinton,
15	(8) Newbury,
16	(9) New London,
17	(10) Salisbury,
18	(11) Sutton,
19	(12) Warner,
20	(13) Webster,
21	(14) Wilmot.
22	(f) In the county of Rockingham, the towns and city of:
23	(1) New Castle,
24	(2) Newington,
25	(3) Portsmouth.
26	(g) In the county of Strafford, the towns of:
27	(1) Barrington,
28	(2) Dover,
29	(3) Durham,
30	(4) Farmington,
31	(5) Lee,
32	(6) Madbury,
33	(7) Middleton,
34	(8) Milton,
35	(9) Rochester,
36	(10) Rollinsford,
37	(11) Somersworth.
38	2 Application. This act shall in no way disqualify any person from any elective office to which he or
39	she was elected prior to the effective date of this act.
40	3 Effective Date. This act shall take effect upon its passage.

HB 52 - FINAL VERSION - Page 6 -

- 1 VETOED May 27, 2022
- 2 SUSTAINED September 15, 2022