HB 270 - AS INTRODUCED

2023 SESSION

23-0254 08/10

HOUSE BILL 270

AN ACT relative to the election of Strafford county commissioners.

SPONSORS: Rep. L. Turcotte, Straf. 4; Rep. Ankarberg, Straf. 7; Rep. Granger, Straf. 2; Rep.

Bailey, Straf. 2; Rep. Horgan, Straf. 1; Rep. Harrington, Straf. 18

COMMITTEE: Municipal and County Government

ANALYSIS

This bill changes how county commissioners are elected in Strafford county and sets the county commissioner districts in Strafford county.

.....

Explanation: Matter added to current law appears in **bold italics**.

Matter removed from current law appears [in brackets and struckthrough.]

Matter which is either (a) all new or (b) repealed and reenacted appears in regular type.

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

In the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand Twenty Three

AN ACT relative to the election of Strafford county commissioners.

4 Effective Date. This act shall take effect 60 days after its passage.

19

Be it Enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court convened:

1 1 Strafford County; Elected for 2-Year Term; County Commissioner Districts. Amend RSA 2 653:1, VI(c) to read as follows: 3 (c) Strafford county-[3 county commissioners by all the voters of the county] one county 4 commissioner by the voters in each county commissioner district; 2 Strafford County; County Commissioner Districts. Amend the introductory paragraph of RSA 5 6 662:4 to read as follows: 7 County Commissioner Districts. Except for Strafford county where 3 county 662:4 8 commissioners shall be elected at large, For the purposes of choosing county commissioners, the 9 counties shall be divided into districts as follows: 10 3 Strafford County; County Commissioner Districts. Amend RSA 662:4, IX to read as follows: 11 IX. Strafford: District 1, the towns of Farmington, Middleton, Milton, New Durham, wards 1, 5, and 6, of the city of Rochester, and wards 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 of the city of 12 13 Somersworth; District 2, wards 1, 2, 3, and 4 of the city of Dover, and the towns of Durham, 14Lee, and Rollinsford; District 3, Barrington, wards 5 and 6 of the city of Dover, Madbury, wards 2, 3, and 4 of the city of Rochester, and the town of Strafford. 15 X. Sullivan: District 1, the town of Cornish and the city of Claremont; District 2, the towns 16 17 of Croydon, Grantham, Newport, Plainfield, and Springfield; District 3, the towns of Acworth, 18 Charlestown, Goshen, Langdon, Lempster, Sunapee, Unity, and Washington.