5Jan2022... 2273h







AN ACT apportioning county commissioner districts.


SPONSORS: Rep. B. Griffin, Hills. 6


COMMITTEE: Special Committee on Redistricting






This bill establishes new county commissioner districts in accordance with the latest federal decennial census.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Explanation: Matter added to current law appears in bold italics.

Matter removed from current law appears [in brackets and struckthrough.]

Matter which is either (a) all new or (b) repealed and reenacted appears in regular type.

5Jan2022... 2273h 21-0632





In the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand Twenty Two


AN ACT apportioning county commissioner districts.


Be it Enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court convened:


4:1  County Commissioner Districts.  RSA 662:4 is repealed and reenacted to read as follows:

662:4  County Commissioner Districts.  Except for Strafford county where 3 county commissioners shall be elected at large, for the purposes of choosing county commissioners, the counties shall be divided into districts as follows:  

I.  Belknap:  District 1, the towns of Center Harbor and Meredith and the city of Laconia, Wards 1, 3, 4, 5, and 6; District 2, the towns of Belmont, Gilmanton, New Hampton, Sanbornton, and Tilton; District 3, the towns of Alton, Barnstead, and Gilford and the city of Laconia, Ward 2.

II.  Carroll:  District 1, the towns of Albany, Bartlett, Chatham, Conway, Hart's Location, Jackson, and Sandwich, and the unincorporated place of Hale's Location; District 2, the towns of Madison, Moultonborough, Ossipee, Tamworth, and Tuftonboro; District 3, the towns of Brookfield, Eaton, Effingham, Freedom, Wakefield, and Wolfeboro.

III.  Cheshire: District 1, the towns of Chesterfield, Fitzwilliam, Hinsdale, Richmond, Swanzey, Troy, and Winchester; District 2, the towns of Marlborough and Roxbury and the city of Keene; District 3, the towns of Alstead, Dublin, Gilsum, Harrisville, Jaffrey, Marlow, Nelson, Rindge, Stoddard, Sullivan, Surry, Walpole, and Westmoreland.

IV.  Coos:  District 1, the city of Berlin and the town of Milan; District 2, the unincorporated place of Kilkenny and the towns of Dalton, Jefferson, Lancaster, Northumberland, Randolph and Whitefield; District 3, the unincorporated places of Atkinson and Gilmanton Academy Grant, Bean's Grant, Bean's Purchase, Cambridge, Chandler's Purchase, Crawford's Purchase, Cutt's Grant, Dix's Grant, Dixville, Erving's Location, Green's Grant, Hadley's Purchase, Low and Burbank's Grant, Martin's Location, Odell, Pinkham's Grant, Sargent's Purchase, Second College Grant, Success, and Thompson and Meserve's Purchase, and the towns of Carroll, Clarksville, Colebrook, Columbia, Dummer, Errol, Gorham, Millsfield, Pittsburg, Shelburne, Stark, Stewartstown, Stratford, and Wentworth's Location.

V.  Grafton:  District 1, the towns of Enfield and Hanover and the city of Lebanon; District 2, the unincorporated place of Livermore and the towns of Bath, Benton, Bethlehem, Easton, Franconia, Haverhill, Landaff, Lincoln, Lisbon, Littleton, Lyman, Lyme, Monroe, Orford, Piermont, Sugar Hill, Thornton, Waterville Valley, and Woodstock; District 3, the towns of Alexandria, Ashland, Bridgewater, Bristol, Campton, Canaan, Dorchester, Ellsworth, Grafton, Groton, Hebron, Holderness, Orange, Plymouth, Rumney, Warren, and Wentworth.

VI.  Hillsborough:  District 1, the towns of Bedford and New Boston and the city of Manchester; District 2, the towns of Hudson, Litchfield, and Pelham and the city of Nashua; District 3, the towns of Amherst, Antrim, Bennington, Brookline, Deering, Francestown, Goffstown, Greenfield, Greenville, Hancock, Hillsborough, Hollis, Lyndeborough, Mason, Merrimack, Milford, Mont Vernon, New Ipswich, Peterborough, Sharon, Temple, Weare, Wilton, and Windsor.

VII.  Merrimack:  District 1, the town of Bow and the city of Concord; District 2 the towns of Andover, Boscawen, Bradford, Canterbury, Chichester, Danbury, Hill, Loudon, New London, Newbury, Northfield, Salisbury, Sutton, Warner, Webster, and Wilmot, and the city of Franklin; District 3, the towns of Allenstown, Dunbarton, Epsom, Henniker, Hooksett, Hopkinton, Pembroke, Pittsfield.

VIII.  Rockingham:  District 1, the towns of Epping, Exeter, Greenland, Hampton, Hampton Falls, Kensington, New Castle, Newfields, Newington, Newmarket, North Hampton, Rye, and Stratham and the city of Portsmouth; District 2, the towns of Atkinson, Derry, Newton, Plaistow, Salem, Seabrook, South Hampton, and Windham; District 3, the towns of Auburn, Brentwood, Candia, Chester, Danville, Deerfield, East Kingston, Fremont, Hampstead, Kingston, Londonderry, Northwood, Nottingham, Raymond, and Sandown.

IX.   Sullivan:  District 1, the town of Cornish and the city of Claremont; District 2, the towns of Croydon, Grantham, Newport, Plainfield, and Springfield; District 3, the towns of Acworth, Charlestown, Goshen, Langdon, Lempster, Sunapee, Unity, and Washington.

4:2  Application.  No provision of this act shall be construed as affecting the constituencies or terms of office of county commissioners presently in office.  If there shall be a vacancy in a county commissioner district for any reason prior to the 2022 state general election, the vacancy shall be filled under the terms of RSA 661:9 from the same county commissioner district that existed for the 2020 state general election.  The nomination and election of county commissioners at the 2022 state general election shall be by districts as provided in this act.

4:3  Effective Date.  This act shall take effect upon its passage.


Approved: February 24, 2022

Effective Date: February 24, 2022