Amendment to HB 75

1	Amend the title of the bill by replacing it with the following:
2	
3	AN ACT relative to the election of Strafford county commissioners.
4	
5	Amend the bill by replacing all after the enacting clause with the following:
6	
7	1 Strafford County; Elected for 2-Year Term; County Commissioner Districts. Amend RSA
8	653:1, VI(c) to read as follows:
9	(c) Strafford county-[3 county commissioners by all the voters of the county] one county
10	commissioner by the voters in each county commissioner district;
11	2 Strafford County; County Commissioner Districts. Amend the introductory paragraph of RSA
12	662:4 to read as follows:
13	662:4 County Commissioner Districts. [Except for Strafford county where 3 county
14	commissioners shall be elected at large,] For the purposes of choosing county commissioners, the
15	counties shall be divided into districts as follows:
16	3 Strafford County; County Commissioner Districts. Amend RSA 662:4, IX to read as follows:
17	IX. Strafford: District 1, the towns of Farmington, Middleton, Milton, New Durham,
18	wards 1, 5, and 6, of the city of Rochester, and wards 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 of the city of
19	Somersworth; District 2, wards 1, 2, 3, and 4 of the city of Dover, and the towns of Durham,
20	Lee, and Rollinsford; District 3, Barrington, wards 5 and 6 of the city of Dover, Madbury,
21	wards 2, 3, and 4 of the city of Rochester, and the town of Strafford.
22	X. Sullivan: District 1, the town of Cornish and the city of Claremont; District 2, the towns
23	of Croydon, Grantham, Newport, Plainfield, and Springfield; District 3, the towns of Acworth,
24	Charlestown, Goshen, Langdon, Lempster, Sunapee, Unity, and Washington.
25	4 Effective Date. This act shall take effect 60 days after its passage.

Amendment to HB 75 - Page 2 -

2023-1552s

AMENDED ANALYSIS

This bill changes how county commissioners are elected in Strafford county and sets the county commissioner districts in Strafford county.