District 18: Manchester (Wards 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9) and Litchfield

Current Committees: Commerce; Election Law and Municipal Affairs; Rules and Enrolled Bills

View Bills Senator Soucy Sponsored This Session

Contact Information:
State House, Room 120
107 North Main Street
Concord, NH 03301

Phone: 603-271-3207

Email: Donna.Soucy@leg.state.nh.us

Senator Donna M. Soucy is currently serving in her sixth term representing District 18, which is comprised of Wards 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 in the City of Manchester and the Town of Litchfield. She was elected unanimously as Senate President on December 5, 2018 and currently serves as the Democratic Leader.

Sen. Soucy has a long history of public service, having been first elected to the New Hampshire House of Representatives in 1990. While in the House she served on the Municipal and County Government, Ways and Means, and Finance Committees. In addition, the Senator served two terms as an Alderman representing Ward 6 in the City of Manchester and she most recently served the people of Ward 6 as a member of the Board of School Committee for seven years. She also has the distinction of being the first female member and chair of the Manchester Fire Commission.

A lawyer, having practiced in both the public and private sector, Soucy also served as the Senate Chief of Staff from 2006 to 2010.

Senator Soucy is a Manchester native and a graduate of Trinity High School. She earned her Bachelor of Arts in Politics from Saint Anselm College, and Juris Doctor from Franklin Pierce Law School (now UNH Law School).

Years Served in the Senate: 2013-14, 2015-16, 2017-18, 2019-20, 2021-22 (Current)

Years Served in the House: 1991-96

Profession: Attorney

Education: B.A. in Politics, Saint Anselm College, and J.D. from UNH School of Law

Recognition: New Hampshire Union Leader's Forty Under 40 (2002)
NH Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence Hall of Fame (2014)
NH Association for Justice, Civil Justice Award (2018)
NEA-NH Friend of Education (2020)
NH Association of Social Workers Legislator of the Year (2016)